Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Software Testing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Software Testing by University of Minnesota

4.0
stars
68 ratings
23 reviews

About the Course

After completing this course, you will have an understanding of the fundamental principles and processes of software testing. You will have actively created test cases and run them using an automated testing tool. You will being writing and recognizing good test cases, including input data and expected outcomes. After completing this course, you will be able to… - Describe the difference between verification and validation. - Explain the goal of testing. - Use appropriate test terminology in communication; specifically: test fixture, logical test case, concrete test case, test script, test oracle, and fault. - Describe the motivations for white and black box testing. - Compare and contrast test-first and test-last development techniques. - Measure test adequacy using statement and branch coverage. - Reason about the causes and acceptability of and poor coverage - Assess the fault-finding effectiveness of a functional test suite using mutation testing. - Critique black-box and white-box testing, describing the benefits and use of each within the greater development effort. - Distinguish among the expected-value (true), heuristic, consistency (as used in A/B regression), and probability test oracles and select the one best-suited to the testing objective. - Craft unit and integration test cases to detect defects within code and automate these tests using JUnit. To achieve this, students will employ test doubles to support their tests, including stubs (for state verification) and mocks (for behavioral verification) (https://martinfowler.com/articles/mocksArentStubs.html). This course is primarily aimed at those learners interested in any of the following roles: Software Engineer, Software Engineer in Test, Test Automation Engineer, DevOps Engineer, Software Developer, Programmer, Computer Enthusiast. We expect that you should have an understanding of the Java programming language (or any similar object-oriented language and the ability to pick up Java syntax quickly) and some knowledge of the Software Development Lifecycle....

Top reviews

AH

Aug 27, 2020

I love this course, the explanation is great, the assignments are very challenging. I learned many things from software testing. Thanks, Prof. Mike Whalen and Mr. Kevin Wendt

JH

Jul 21, 2020

Fair, well organised, good amount of material. If you are totally new to programming/testing this is not your intro course.

Filter by:

1 - 23 of 23 Reviews for Introduction to Software Testing

By correojon

Jun 22, 2020

The course starts well, but as it progresses it narrows too much on JAVA and specific tools. In my opinion it should be renamed as "Software Testing in JAVA" or similar and state on the course description that JAVA knowledge is required.

In the end I spent more time fighting with Eclipse, Java configuration, Mockito and the specific tools than I did learning about software testing.

By Garry S

Jun 28, 2020

The course is a good introduction to testing software in general, but there are many other aspects of testing not covered. If you don't need the automated testing skills and just want the Testing knowledge maybe seek out a course that provides that e.g. something like the ISTQB foundation training. The assignments are mostly Java programming assignments, and while the java coding itself is not that advanced, you need to be resilient in your troubleshooting because the automatic grader that passes/fails your assignment is very terse in its messages. It can be very frustrating to know that your code does what is needed, but the grader can't mark it for a technical reason, but the messages from the grader don't help you understand what the cause is. There is no help or assistance from the registered teachers/mentors from what I saw in the discussion forums, all the help and advice came from other students who had the same issues. If the course team could just a) improve the automatic grader to provide better feedback when it fails, and b) gather all the known issues into a course troubleshooting document or sticky-post, that would save many students many hours of wasted time trying to submit the coding assignments.

By Nathan K

Aug 18, 2020

This class is absolutely horrible compared to MIT and UCSD courses. Ironically the testing used to test your code for this course is atrocious. They have hard coded everything, and have the worst error messages possible. Quite literally the worst programming course I've taken. I give it two stars because if you bash your head enough - you will learn.

By Adilson d J M C

Jul 04, 2020

Advanced level, I think. Requires you to be experienced in software testing

By Alberto S

Aug 25, 2020

This course is a waste of time. If you are waiting for an introductory testing course, this is not the course you need. The subject matter you are supposed to learn is not the one that is later taught in the course.

It is very oriented to automation but for an introductory course it does not explain well what a test is, how to define test cases/test plans/test suites/test runs, it does not teach how to report defects... In other words, the basics of testing are not taught.

The support of the organization is null, they don't answer the messages of the forum, they censor comments...

In short, it is not worth it. Neither pay for it.

By Katherin P C

Aug 17, 2020

This is the worst course on the platform. All the projects are about try/error. Course's owner never give you a real support or answer your mails, videos have really bad quality, each course student pray for help at the forum but is impossible to help others moreover if you need help too. Some advanced peers help you with code, but it's very difficult because platform have some bugs and sometimes gave you different score for the same code. Please, don't take this course, there are similar course on Coursera with better score.

By Ahmad M S

Jun 07, 2020

A very good course, i learned how to write a good test plan and how to deal with junit,jacoco and mockito which enriched my knowledge, but the instructions of the last assignment can be more clear that that

By janiel h

Jul 21, 2020

Fair, well organised, good amount of material. If you are totally new to programming/testing this is not your intro course.

By Adderly R M H

Jul 16, 2020

Realmente un curso que me exigió muchísimo. Muchas gracias por el conocimiento.

By But W H J

Jul 11, 2020

The assignments instructions are very poor!

By Gilbert S B

Aug 01, 2020

"This is the first time taking a class with Coursera.org, so the experience was unique to me. I wasn't quite sure what to expect, but I am very pleased with this format. The instructor Mike Whalen and Kevin Wendt were very knowledgable, worked at a good pace. The assignments were very challenging. I would definitely recommend Coursera.org to others and I hope to have the opportunity to attend more training classes with Coursera.org. God Bless and keep learning..."

Gilbert Simon Baidya - Loma Linda, CA

By Arwin H

Aug 27, 2020

I love this course, the explanation is great, the assignments are very challenging. I learned many things from software testing. Thanks, Prof. Mike Whalen and Mr. Kevin Wendt

By Miguel A C S

Aug 02, 2020

Good course.

By Anuj K

Aug 11, 2020

Test assignments grading techniques can be improved and it can be more flexible and transparent.

By Subramanian V

Sep 28, 2020

Excellent course that taught the basics and fundamentals of testing. The course provided an overview of the various types of testing to be done, and especially on the Unit Testing in which we can identify more defects. An interesting topic taught by professionals in the industry who had excellent knowledge of the topic. The Forums and DIscussions were also helpful where we could exchange our ideas, seek clarification, and proceed further

By Gintaras R

Sep 05, 2020

Thank you very much for the course!

By Rahul V P

Oct 08, 2020

Goood

By saurabh w

Oct 11, 2020

Good

By Jose F G S

Sep 13, 2020

The course is great, a lot of general information and examples to work with. The test reviews are automated so little to none feedback is received to actually improve your grade.

By Shital S M

Sep 27, 2020

Software testing is very good course

By Rifat z

Sep 05, 2020

It's a very effective course.

By Juan D S N

Sep 03, 2020

Too much problem to resolve the assigments and cero help from the tutors

By Pouyan M Z

Sep 25, 2020

very bad and non structuring course. Almost no or very less technical information shared and even that was way behind the assignments specially in week4.