Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Biology: Ecology

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Biology: Ecology by Rice University

4.8
stars
75 ratings

About the Course

Ecology is all about connections. In this course, we’ll see how interdependent every living thing is and how people are impacting the natural world. Like all sciences, ecology isn’t just a list of known facts– it’s also a process. I love telling stories, and I’ve included many stories about how we’ve come to know what we know about ecology through observations and experiments....

Top reviews

Z

Sep 1, 2023

This was a very motivating, informative, and engaging course on Ecology for me as a beginner.

CT

Nov 27, 2022

Fantastic professor!

I love your work! Will be applying to Rice because of it :)

Filter by:

1 - 23 of 23 Reviews for Introduction to Biology: Ecology

By Philip N

Dec 4, 2022

I was very glad to learn the foundations of ecology in this edifying course. Prof. Scott Solomon's lectures are lucid and very well structured. The material is easy to learn but substantive. This knowledge complements perfectly what I learned in his Intro to Evolution course. I am now on to Dr. Solomon's third course. On to Biodiversity! Thank you, Rice University! :)

By Almas N

Feb 9, 2023

it is actually a amazing course. i learnt alot from it.

By Coco T

Nov 27, 2022

Fantastic professor!

I love your work! Will be applying to Rice because of it :)

By Sofia F L

Feb 16, 2023

Loved it!!! An amazing introduction to this perspective in life! Than you!

By Ahmed M H O

Jan 11, 2023

it is amazing course . you will benefit alot

By Dr.K.P.Renukadevi

Jan 29, 2023

GOOD

By Danielle B

Feb 22, 2023

I enjoyed this course, and you can see that Professor Solomon put a lot of time and energy into it, including bringing in knowledgeable guests and doing little skits with them.

I do wish the course went more in-depth with some topics; although I know it's a beginner-level course, some of the content seemed more simplified than other courses of the same level. Additionally, my favorite part was the video lesson in the 7th module, when Professor Solomon was interacting with the elephants. I think the best online courses are those where the instructor isn't just reading a script the whole time, and I wish the instructor talked a little more naturally about the material (like he does with the elephants) to make the videos more like traditional learning. I did get a lot out of this course, though, and I plan to do the specialization.

By Kathryn W

Apr 8, 2024

I really enjoyed this subject and felt that the content was pitched at the right level for someone who hasn't studied biology since secondary school (several decades ago). I plan on studying the other two units in the specialisation because I am keen to learn more!

By Katie A

Aug 23, 2023

I thought Dr. Solomon was very likeable and I overall really enjoyed the course. The backdrops for the interviews with guest scientists were super cheesy but the content of each interview was very interesting. I plowed through this course because I liked it so much! Highly recommend. Remember that you'll get out of the course what you put into it, so I recommend taking advantage of the optional discussion boards and readings.

By Mohammadreza G

May 25, 2023

First of all, thank you for made this great and رery simple and clear language. It is a great course for the who is alike me have no deep knowledge about ecology and study other aspect of science like Geography. Now I have a deep understanding about many rules of ecology that will help me to have a better perspective about the our environments.

By Eduardo A H N

May 26, 2023

Es uno de los mejores cursos MOOC que he llevado. El hecho de que se busque constantemente la reflexión y te inviten a realizar tareas prácticas es un pilar fundamental para promover el aprendizaje.

By Anna M

Nov 19, 2023

This course is phenomenal! Really precise and on point. Easy to understand even for beginners. Thank you!

By Zhinous H G

Sep 2, 2023

This was a very motivating, informative, and engaging course on Ecology for me as a beginner.

By George A

Jul 16, 2023

it was great to have enrolled for this course it added to my knowledge!

By Muhammad A

Feb 13, 2024

amazing course to learn about evolution, ecology, and biodiversity

By 住田健

Jun 24, 2023

Humans have evolved for 7 million years to do this course.

By Garrett S

Mar 11, 2024

Amazing professor! Highly recommend.

By Kevin T

May 24, 2024

Excellent into to the subject.

By Kovzik G

Jun 5, 2024

It's a great learning course.

By Мусаханов А

May 15, 2024

👍👍👍

By Өмір О

Apr 24, 2024

👍👍

By Eukene I O

Jul 11, 2023

Easy to pursue and fun! I learned a lot of basic concepts!

By Aniket S

May 30, 2024

99% completed still certificate is not issued