Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Cloud Computing

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Cloud Computing by IBM

4.6
stars
5,864 ratings

About the Course

Start your cloud computing journey with this self-paced introductory course! Whether you need general cloud computing knowledge for school or business, or you are considering a career change, this beginner-friendly course is right for you. In this course you’ll learn about essential characteristics of cloud computing and emerging technologies supported by cloud. You’ll explore cloud service models, including Infrastructure as a Service (IaaS), Platform as a Service (PaaS), Software as a Service (SaaS), and Public, Private, and Hybrid deployment models. Discover the offerings of prominent cloud service providers AWS, Google, IBM, Microsoft, and others, and review cloud computing case studies. Learn about cloud adoption, blockchain, analytics, and AI. You will learn about the many components of cloud computing architecture including datacenters, availability zones, virtual machines, containers, and bare metal servers. You will also familiarize yourself with different types of cloud storage options, such as Object Storage. You’ll gain foundational knowledge of emergent cloud trends and practices including Hybrid, Multicloud, Microservices, Serverless, DevOps, Cloud Native, Application Modernization, as well as learn about cloud security and monitoring. You’ll also explore cloud computing job roles and possible career paths and opportunities. You will complete a number of labs and quizzes throughout this course to increase your understanding of course content. At the end of the course, you will complete a final project where you will deploy an application to Cloud using a serverless architecture, a valuable addition to your portfolio. After this course, check out the related courses to help you towards your new career as a cloud engineer, full stack developer, DevOps engineer, cybersecurity analyst, and others....

Top reviews

BP

Oct 28, 2022

Great review for Cloud concepts that I needed. Probably would use it once I start studying for some AWS content since not many people use IBM but still a great way to get started in cloud computing.

SB

May 19, 2020

It was so so grateful being here , I loved it course so much , as it provided all the concepts very clearly , I would also recommend all other to have this course and gain knowledge provided by IBM.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 1,350 Reviews for Introduction to Cloud Computing

By Roland S

Feb 13, 2021

Course can only be completed with a IBM Cloud account. If you don't have access to a corporate email address and internet access with a corporate IP address, you will be probably blocked by the IBM Cloud spam filter. I constantly got the following error message:

Error Your account cannot be created at this time.

Code: 46487425-4f61-4825-b987-a9174d2febc3

I tried to open a support case with IBM, but you can only open a support case if you have a customer number.

I was only able to sign up with IBM Cloud and finish the course with my corporate email address and corporate IP address.

By Igor D

Jan 29, 2021

It is more advertisement of IBM than course. Music in background is annoying, and IBM use cases clips (poorly edited) just make you believe that you are on IBM site.

By Ryan F

Sep 22, 2020

Wasn't impressed with this format. There was too much time dedicated to the videos and not enough practical work. ie. the chance to demonstrate more understanding of the content.

By Khaled U A

Oct 10, 2020

The practical part is too litter and the course is not interactive.

By Siddhi b

May 20, 2020

It was so so grateful being here , I loved it course so much , as it provided all the concepts very clearly , I would also recommend all other to have this course and gain knowledge provided by IBM.

By Ramna V

Nov 10, 2020

Amazing course by IBM. They teach the subject with simplicity and purpose, that makes you study with zeal.

I recommend this course for all those who want a basic understanding of cloud computing.

By Jonathan V C

May 3, 2022

The only good part was the videos where someone explained on a board, everything is kind of marketing for IBM Cloud, even the final exam is on IBM Cloud, where if your trial expired they will ask for your credit card, in my case they don't accept my credit card, declined by some error, the solution create another email, the thing is that is like my 3rd course from IBM and I'm out of emails, learning should be free, and if I already paid coursera, then they should not try to charge you additional or ask for credit card on another section of the course, it's like "pay for your certificate" and also like "hopefully you forget all the things you create on IBM cloud so I can charge you later for that".

By Nate R

Feb 17, 2022

Unfortunately this mostly felt like an ad for IBM cloud computing. Uneven delivery, concepts are too vague, overreliance on jargon rather than solid concepts. Redone ADR for certain sections, yet the woman couldnt be bothered to prononce correctly for those sections. Woman can not pronounce "ing." Therefore I had to hear "computeeen" and "executeeeen" and "starteeen" repeatedly which is a huge pet peeve. Only completed as part of larger IBM devops course. useless on its own.

By Alfa N

Apr 4, 2021

This topic about cloud computing is really informative and insightful. Appreciate it! A lot of information I have gained from this course. Indeed, help me a for cloud development in my institution

By Bryan P

Oct 29, 2022

Great review for Cloud concepts that I needed. Probably would use it once I start studying for some AWS content since not many people use IBM but still a great way to get started in cloud computing.

By Cornelia M L

Apr 25, 2020

I have no knowledge of the course, but the way the lessons are presented is easy and informative enough so that I can learn about cloud computing, cloud services (IaaS, SaaS, PaaS), the deployment of models, and how to create a cloud account and create an Object Storage as the final assignment of the course. Thank you for the course!

By Vignesh R

Jul 8, 2020

Deals with details in a precise way and good starters for the beginners who are willing to learn the basics of Cloud computing/something new. There are yet lot to learn.

By Taiwo S

Aug 8, 2022

The learning materials and method are designed to be very comprehensible. I am confident with the skills and knowledge i've acquired knowing that I can build on this and be job ready in little time.

By Vadim F

Nov 18, 2021

I'm very disappointed. At first, I couldn't register an account with ibm cloud for more than a month. I contacted support, and they, in turn, asked to write an email to the department that was supposed to help me. So I did, but I didn’t get an answer. I wrote letters more than three times to no avail. Then I asked my friend from California to register an account for me. Hooray! Happened. A friend registered an account, and I activated it, but after 3 days my account is deactivated. By writing a letter to the "verify.us.ibm.com" mail, they finally answered me. But the answer was:

" Hello,

We have reviewed your account/transaction and will not be able to offer services.

No further information will be disclosed regarding this matter.

Regards,

IBM Cloud "

It is a great pity to hear this for a person who wants to study and money has been given for his specialty.

By spy84berlin r

Feb 4, 2021

Fantastic introduction to Cloud computing. Learned alot and was made really easy by the excellent videos.

Only issue is with the download of Transcript, if it could be put into a MS Word readable form would be great, as i wish to have hard copies of the course. Alot of time spent trying to format it into an easily readable form.

Thanks so much

By Amol B

Jan 20, 2021

Good introductory course to Cloud computing concepts. It would help if the course design included key downloadable slides which students can use as reference in the future.

By Soopalerk R

May 30, 2020

easy to learn and effective, anyone who need to get more understanding on Cloud Computing, I preferred to take this course. It started from fundamental.

By Allison P

Feb 2, 2021

GREAT! Very informative! Enjoyed the 'live' whiteboard speakers very much. Wish there were more hands-on assignments.

By Bharat B R

Feb 4, 2022

Lab tutorial it self is not working to complete this course. I have spoken to customer care but they are saying get help form stackoverflow.

By Dan W

Sep 23, 2021

Utterly ridiculous corporate bs. Don't waste your time. oc

By Belisario M

Feb 9, 2021

If you are thinking of working with any cloud based computing technologies this course is great! I think you can take the knowledge of this course and feel comfortable when going to take a cloud practitioner certificate exam from any of the major cloud providers (IBM, AWS, GCP & Azure). Obviously you should still study for the specific exam, but this is a great course for the foundations of cloud computing!

By Kiran V

May 2, 2020

A fascinating course on the topic "Introduction to Cloud Computing" by the IBM Cloud team. You get to learn the fundamentals of the topic from the IBM Cloud team. The real life applications of cloud are amazing and can inspire any professional/student to achieve a position in the cloud industry.Thank you IBM Cloud.

By Robert L

Jul 3, 2021

Very good start to learning about Cloud Computing. It covers the wide range of topics involved with cloud computing and had many use cases and examples to help with understanding each subtopic.

By Ganesh K

Aug 12, 2020

Excellent course. I never realized so much of knowledge can be packed in a 5-week course. The assessment really evaluated the understanding. The lab was interesting.

By IamSRayhan

Sep 4, 2020

A very effective capture to learn hoe cloud infrastructure work. There are so many things to learn from this course. I have cleared my concept of cloud computing.