Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Engineering

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Engineering by IBM

4.7
stars
114 ratings
21 reviews

About the Course

This course introduces you to the core concepts, processes, and tools you need to know in order to get a foundational knowledge of data engineering. You will gain an understanding of the modern data ecosystem and the role Data Engineers, Data Scientists, and Data Analysts play in this ecosystem. The Data Engineering Ecosystem includes several different components. It includes disparate data types, formats, and sources of data. Data Pipelines gather data from multiple sources, transform it into analytics-ready data, and make it available to data consumers for analytics and decision-making. Data repositories, such as relational and non-relational databases, data warehouses, data marts, data lakes, and big data stores process and store this data. Data Integration Platforms combine disparate data into a unified view for the data consumers. You will learn about each of these components in this course. You will also learn about Big Data and the use of some of the Big Data processing tools. A typical Data Engineering lifecycle includes architecting data platforms, designing data stores, and gathering, importing, wrangling, querying, and analyzing data. It also includes performance monitoring and finetuning to ensure systems are performing at optimal levels. In this course, you will learn about the data engineering lifecycle. You will also learn about security, governance, and compliance. Data Engineering is recognized as one of the fastest-growing fields today. The career opportunities available in the field and the different paths you can take to enter this field are discussed in the course. The course also includes hands-on labs that guide you to create your IBM Cloud Lite account, provision a database instance, load data into the database instance, and perform some basic querying operations that help you understand your dataset....

Top reviews

PT
Jun 4, 2021

This is a really nice course. The material is really good and there are videos of professional talking about their own experience. I learn a lot!

AS
Mar 3, 2021

Very informative and well structured course. I recommend this course for every person who aspires to become a Data Engineer :)

Filter by:

1 - 22 of 22 Reviews for Introduction to Data Engineering

By Lanny R J

Mar 11, 2021

This course was very easy to follow and learn. The pace was just right and the material was very helpful.

By Saúl L

Jun 16, 2021

Although, It's an introductory curse, the concepts to provides are pretty helpful to know all the data ecosystem, specially the different positions around Data Science. I love the concept to show at the beginning, something like that: "Data Engineer is in charge of the data quality"

Also, involves security, governance and regulatory constrictions. That's why it so demanding about knowledge in tech, methodologies and math.

By Govardhan V

Apr 17, 2021

Course is awesome to understand who are already working or who wish to jumpstart their career path in Data Engineering domain to make their decision about 1) which data repository should they used, 2) what kind of data store should be , 3) how to select the their production databased based on their need. Systematic, clean, neat and step by step approach make us easy to learn and remember key artifacts too.

By Blake G

Mar 29, 2021

I'm transitioning into a tech career and have found this course helpful. Part of me wants to jump ahead to the other courses in the specialization but I have been learning more about the basics which is good. I'm also only on week 2 so I would imagine the knowledge gets more in-depth in the following "weeks"

I finished this class in one week and I am excited to dive into the python courses.

By Paola C T

Jun 5, 2021

This is a really nice course. The material is really good and there are videos of professional talking about their own experience. I learn a lot!

By Anirudh S

Mar 4, 2021

Very informative and well structured course. I recommend this course for every person who aspires to become a Data Engineer :)

By ahmed m m

Jun 5, 2021

Thanks for helping me to learn this course it is very easy to understand the instructors and study this course

By Robert C

Mar 16, 2021

Great introduction to the exciting field and discipline. Can't wait to continue the journey.

By Muhammad W U

Apr 4, 2021

It was a good course. learned some basics about the Data Engineering life cycle

By Jeyalakshmi G

Feb 17, 2021

Details are consolidated at high level. Excellent Source. Awesome learning

By Abhishek K

Jun 20, 2021

wonderful course and a very good insights given by the expertise

By Stephanie P

Jul 18, 2021

​Very informational and provided a solid foundation knowledge

By Alexis C O

Apr 7, 2021

for introduction I think is a very good course.

By José M H

Mar 1, 2021

Very good fundamentals for data engineering.

By Poonam C S

Jul 8, 2021

Great introduction course

By Fernando M

Mar 14, 2021

Very complete course!

By Lírick P

Jul 7, 2021

ty

By fateme t

May 9, 2021

I think more hands on experience is required. And the course was pretty short. But the fact that they repeated things several times was very helpful to stick into mind.

By Vedant B

Jul 19, 2021

I thought it would cover more technical things, but otherwise it was a great course and gave me vast knowledge about data engineering.

By Jorge C

Jul 11, 2021

It's a good introduction material, you can't expect nothing more in a introduction course.

By Nadia A H P

Jul 11, 2021

Amazing

By Mayank R

Mar 10, 2021

A lot of content and time is about Data Engineering careers, etc. including quiz questions. These are good to know as a FYI but I don't think it should be included in course quizzes.