Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Engineering

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Engineering by IBM

4.7
stars
2,383 ratings

About the Course

Start your journey in one of the fastest growing professions today with this beginner-friendly Data Engineering course! You will be introduced to the core concepts, processes, and tools you need to know in order to get a foundational knowledge of data engineering. as well as the roles that Data Engineers, Data Scientists, and Data Analysts play in the ecosystem. You will begin this course by understanding what is data engineering as well as the roles that Data Engineers, Data Scientists, and Data Analysts play in this exciting field. Next you will learn about the data engineering ecosystem, the different types of data structures, file formats, sources of data, and the languages data professionals use in their day-to-day tasks. You will become familiar with the components of a data platform and gain an understanding of several different types of data repositories such as Relational (RDBMS) and NoSQL databases, Data Warehouses, Data Marts, Data Lakes and Data Lakehouses. You’ll then learn about Big Data processing tools like Apache Hadoop and Spark. You will also become familiar with ETL, ELT, Data Pipelines and Data Integration. This course provides you with an understanding of a typical Data Engineering lifecycle which includes architecting data platforms, designing data stores, and gathering, importing, wrangling, querying, and analyzing data. You will also learn about security, governance, and compliance. You will learn about career opportunities in the field of Data Engineering and the different paths that you can take for getting skilled as a Data Engineer. You will hear from several experienced Data Engineers, sharing their insights and advice. By the end of this course, you will also have completed several hands-on labs and worked with a relational database, loaded data into the database, and performed some basic querying operations....

Top reviews

MF

Mar 25, 2022

This course is optimal for the foundations and understanding of Data Engineering. Please take it and absorb all the knowledge and be amazed about your future with the Data Engineer certification.

OU

Oct 12, 2021

I am currently studying Chemical Engineering. However, after going for industry training as a data analyst, I decided to venture more in this direction and I really learn a lot from this course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 536 Reviews for Introduction to Data Engineering

By Jose A

Jul 2, 2022

Great overall! The viewpoints from data professionals complements the educational content very well and gives the student a much better idea of what the process is to become a data engineer.

By Albert R

Sep 26, 2021

I felt the course was the perfect introduction for someone like me that has been on the sales side of most software. I feel that it wasnt ovewhelming at all, and I mostly enjoyed the labs.

By William W

Aug 5, 2021

I thought this course was a pretty insightful introduction, but the process of provisioning a DB2 instance on IBM cloud was terrible. The instructions given were simple and straightforward, but my DB2 provisioning process kept failing, and when I went on Coursera's forums, I saw that many others were having this same problem. Eventually I followed some of their advice (that they had acquired through trial and error), and I did successfully provision a database. But when I went to the db's "manage" tab, there was no option to "Open Console."

This is a shame because it made it impossible to do some of the later labs, and honestly it did give me a bit of a negative impression of IBM's cloud services.

By ONG H L / U

Oct 12, 2021

I am currently studying Chemical Engineering. However, after going for industry training as a data analyst, I decided to venture more in this direction and I really learn a lot from this course.

By Saúl L

Jun 16, 2021

Although, It's an introductory curse, the concepts to provides are pretty helpful to know all the data ecosystem, specially the different positions around Data Science. I love the concept to show at the beginning, something like that: "Data Engineer is in charge of the data quality"

Also, involves security, governance and regulatory constrictions. That's why it so demanding about knowledge in tech, methodologies and math.

By Blake G

Mar 29, 2021

I'm transitioning into a tech career and have found this course helpful. Part of me wants to jump ahead to the other courses in the specialization but I have been learning more about the basics which is good. I'm also only on week 2 so I would imagine the knowledge gets more in-depth in the following "weeks"

I finished this class in one week and I am excited to dive into the python courses.

By Der H

Sep 9, 2021

The videos are very nice and give a good introduction into Data Engineering. Unfortunately, literally none of the hands-on exercises worked. In every single one the IBM cloud returned errors and I couldn't proceed. The tutors in the forum suggested to delete the DB and create it from scratch. I learned the basics of data engineering in this course and I learned that the IBM cloud is probably not an reasonable tool to use for it.

By Olivia I

Aug 31, 2023

Great course!! I enjoyed it very much but most of all, I learned even more. The way the course is designed made it possible for me to learn since it's very hard for me to focus but I was able to comprehend, & retain the learning. I have very basic computer skills & this was my very first course in this field. I wish I could have hand-on practice to better understand, comprehend, digest, & storage the learning. I did have to repeat the lessons more than a few times & take notes, create cards to study & even to pull out my own date (personal files), create my own data pipeline(where I trow all my personal documents), & start practicing. Overall it's a great introduction to Data Engineering.

By Juan C R

Mar 19, 2023

Very happy with taking this course as it got me a very in-depth view into what opportunities I could get into through Data Engineering. I found that some minor tweaks could be done to the contents (bullet points in some lecture videos seemed repetitive, and there were some captions that weren't proofread) but overall, I'm very excited to continue on this path. This was a very good lecture to start jumping into it. I also appreciate how the self-paced style allows me to just pass through many topics really quickly. Supplementary readings were really interesting as well.

By Wasim H

Sep 18, 2023

In the IBM Introduction to Data Engineering course, I have learned about the different stages of the data engineering lifecycle, the various technologies used in data engineering, and the importance of data security and governance. I have also learned that data engineers play a role in developing and implementing machine learning models. This course has helped me to develop a better understanding of the full scope of data engineering and the important role that data engineers play in helping organizations to get value from their data.

By Muhammad F R

Jan 9, 2022

Feeling lucky and blessed to have the opportunity to take this course. This course gave me an overview about Data Engineering. Before taking this course I was wondering what is the difference between DBA, Data Engineer and Data Scientist. Respected Sir Rav Ahuja, Sir Ramesh Sannareddy, and other mentors explained everything beautifully. Now I have a clear overview and a road map for this exciting journey towards becoming a Professional Data Engineer. Thank you :)

By Ayinoluwa K

Apr 10, 2022

This is a very thorough course, giving you all you need to know about the basics of Data Engineering and what skills you need to equip yourself with to grow in this career. Great Instructors, great content. I enjoyed every bit of the course.

By Marlon F

Mar 26, 2022

This course is optimal for the foundations and understanding of Data Engineering. Please take it and absorb all the knowledge and be amazed about your future with the Data Engineer certification.

By Dan F

Oct 20, 2021

This course was well made and informative. I went in knowing little about data engineering and now I have a much better understanding of what data engineering is all about.

By Jeong H K

Jan 8, 2022

Good class for beginners to build up basic knowledges and backgrounds in Data Engineering. Highly recommend for people to be a data engineer, scientist, and analyst.

By Anirudh S

Mar 4, 2021

Very informative and well structured course. I recommend this course for every person who aspires to become a Data Engineer :)

By Imran M

Jun 26, 2023

The course effectively covers the essential knowledge required for anyone entering the field of data engineering.

By Raúl A S L

Oct 17, 2021

Es un gran curso, muy informativo. Ahora tengo muy claro que es Data Engineering.

By Lanny R J

Mar 11, 2021

This course was very easy to follow and learn. The pace was just right and the material was very helpful.

By Colleen O

Oct 17, 2021

This is listed as a "Beginner" course, but I don't think so. They use terminology, and then don't explain what that terminology means in the moment...if at all. (e.g. API, Relational Database, NonRelational Database, Data Warehouse, Data Mart, Data Lake. Their explanation of Delimeter wasn't good). I have at least a dozen things I had to Google, and I marked them as such.

Things that don't need repeating or further explanation get exactly that...it's very odd.

Also, One of the Practice Quizzes contradicts the Graded Quiz re: whether XML format is used by APIs (I have a screenshot.)

Advice to the Creators:

It's October 2021. Nobody has the bandwidth, spoons, or patience anymore. Hell, we only have the Bones a few days a week, at most. (Pending confirmation from Noodle, of course). TL;DR as much as possible, and CLEARLY EXPLAIN the rest IN THE MOMENT, TO PEOPLE WHO ARE BEGINNERS TO TECH.

Thank you.

By ioana r

Oct 25, 2022

Do not take this course. It is a waste of time ..it is impossible to complete the course or follow it as there are several errors with creating with an IBM Cloud account ..these errors have been for months and yet not fixed. Don't waste your time. what a joke

By Sabuhi A

Oct 4, 2022

Where is fucking cancel the course button?!

By Hoàng H

May 20, 2023

The Introduction to Data Engineering course exceeded my expectations! It covers a wide range of topics in a well-structured manner, from data ingestion to processing. The instructor's explanations are clear and concise, making complex concepts easy to understand.

What sets this course apart is the emphasis on practical exercises and real-world examples. They provide valuable hands-on experience in data engineering techniques. The course materials are comprehensive and organized, serving as useful references.

If you're interested in data engineering, this course is a must. It provides a solid foundation and equips learners with the necessary skills for building efficient data pipelines. Highly recommended!

Kudos to the instructor and course creators for an exceptional learning experience!

By pushkar d

May 8, 2022

I took this course as part of the "IBM Data Engineering Professional Certificate". As mentioned in the title, it is an introductory course and hence was quite theoretical and conceptual.

Even though it is theory, concepts are explained clearly and with examples. The "perspectives" videos from industry professionals make each topic come alive as it feels like you were the one to directly ask the people questions and are listening to their response. It also makes the section less dry.

Overall, I feel confident in my understanding of Data Engineering now. The only nitpick is that there is quite a bit of information to digest and it's better if you take running notes (helps revise for assignments as well)

By Matthew M

Jan 21, 2023

Introduction to Data Engineering is a very well thought-out online course. It starts exactly where I needed it to start- from the basic "Ecosystem" view. It progresses from there along a sensible and logical learning path. I took full advantage of the Notes tool while watching the videos, which really helped me to slow down and absorb the information.

I really like the Viewpoints videos where there are 4 or so experienced people just talking about the field. These really helped to personalize the experience for me, as each of the speakers feel very realistic, down-to-earth, calm, etc.

The course is interestingly split up into perfect "bite-size" chunks that enabled me to figure out how to pace myself.