Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Management Consulting

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Management Consulting by Emory University

4.8
stars
139 ratings

About the Course

Management consultants are paid well because they help executives to break down complex problems, make difficult decisions, and implement lasting change. Consultants know how to work smart and fast. Companies like McKinsey, Bain, BCG, Deloitte, EY, PWC, KPMG, and Accenture have trained thousands of consultants on useful skills, tools, methodologies. Taught by an ex-consultant from Deloitte, John Kim will give you a quick introduction to management consulting: • What do management consultants do? • What are the benefits of a consulting career? • How can you learn these consulting skills? • Why do clients hire management consultants? • What is an example of a consulting skill? This is the first course in the specialization on management consulting....

Top reviews

MM

Dec 22, 2022

The instructor is dynamic, clear, and fun. He provides many concrete examples and a wealth of tools that can be used in consulting. I'm very much motived to continue with this specialisation!

SS

Dec 25, 2022

An excellent and conceptual introduction to management consulting. The Instructor's passion for the subject is evident and inspiring. Looking forward to finishing this great specialization.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 75 Reviews for Introduction to Management Consulting

By Max M

Dec 23, 2022

The instructor is dynamic, clear, and fun. He provides many concrete examples and a wealth of tools that can be used in consulting. I'm very much motived to continue with this specialisation!

By Gavin M

Mar 2, 2023

Professor Kim is excellent. Highly recommend. Makes me wish I was on assignment at a client site with him for an actual consulting engagement. Professor Kim makes this course relevant for nearly anyone. He took the time to include perspectives for New Graduates (Green Caps), Internal Consultants (Blue Ladders) and Solo Consultants (Red Airplanes). Throughout the course he provides take-aways and breaks them down for each of these three audiences. He also speaks to consulting from the standpoint of Head, Heart and Hands. Hi passion for the consulting profession is very evident. Be sure to browse his blog and definitely read the book he recommends in the course. It is highly complimentary content to the class. A+ (How much did I like this course? I increased the playback speed 2x, finished the whole specialization in one weekend and started applying some of the skills from the class the following week.)

By Abi B

Mar 28, 2023

This is a brilliant course!!! I am so glad I took this course.

The content is rich and I have learnt so much, it has helped me to even love consulting as a career more and looking forward to completing the whole specialisation.

Thank you so much John Kim for taking the time and putting all the effort to produce such a great work for us to learn about consulting, well done!

It has helped me to get a good view of what consulting is and the toolkit of consultants.

I am very grateful for this course and thank you for blessing us with your teaching talent on consulting.

By Ramishka W

Mar 21, 2023

Mr John Kim is a very thoughtful lecturer who puts a lot of thought into how he presents the material. His lessons or the videos and powerpoint slides that were utilized during the taught lessons and modules were indeed engaging and very insightful, and his presentations were done in such a way it was always encouraging to his audience and students to state the least. I would highly recommend him to anyone interested in learning the intricate detailes and anyone wanting to learn more and persue a career in Management consulting.

Kind Regards,

Ramishka

By Vanessa R

Jan 12, 2023

I have worked in my industry for 15+ years before deciding to venture into consultancy.

I didn't expect to find any online course on the subject, so I was surprised when I found this Specialization. I want to thank John Kim, Emory University, and Coursera for the opportunity.

Now I have a better understanding of the consulting business and the required skills, and I have self-assessed my strengths and weaknesses to continue improvement to add more value to my clients.

By Stan L

Feb 17, 2023

Honestly, the best course I have taken on Coursera so far. Short, sweet and concise, Lecturer John Kim really pulled me into the world of management consulting. I'm not one to write reviews but the fact that I had started this course with the intention of just getting to know the introduction to management consulting, but staying for the other parts of the specialisation shows how intriguing this course is. Thank you for putting this course out there!

By Tendai R M

Mar 30, 2023

Thank you John for such an amazing course. Prior to this, I did not know what to expect. Your introduction to Managemnt Consulting was so detailed and presented in a passionate fashion that you cannot help but love management consulting - thanks to your fantastic presentation skills. I'm so looking foward to the next course and just couldn't wait to say thank you!!!

By Ryan B

Nov 23, 2022

Great course as an introduction. You can probably skip it and move on to the next course in the specialization if you have some familiarity and are looking for tools/skills directly. The professor is great at providing clarity into concepts, and the pace is easy (though you can probably finish it quicker if you'd like to).

By Allan B

Oct 28, 2022

This course was a great introduction to Management Consulting. Although I have been consulting for the past 5 years, I have felt that I have both strengths and weaknesses. I am hoping that by bringing these forward that I will improve, learn and develop into a more rounded and efficient consultant for my clients.

By Greatness F

Nov 30, 2022

This is probably the first time of dropping a review on coursera and I have taken so many courses here but you see sir John Kim, He is an excellent teacher and on of the best I have ever come across.. You could see ahf feel how passionate he is about consulting from the way he talks, teach, write. Thank you sir

By Carlos L

Dec 17, 2022

A very good introduction to the specialization. As professional as it can get, the instructor is very cautious to have a lot of consistency in the core message throughout all of the lessons, referencing back, but not sounding repetitive. You can tell he is well prepared and has very good teaching skills

By Mohamed T

Nov 29, 2022

An Excellent course and a unique presentation for the introduction to management consulting.

I have been looking for such material, and finally, I found this great specialization.

Thanks to Dr. John Kim for developing such a great course and specialization.

By Andrew E

Nov 14, 2022

Great course--really enjoyed it, especially all the real life examples. It was really simple and easy to follow along with and I feel like I can better articulate what consulting is and why I want to get into the profession. Thanks!

By Joshua F

Aug 12, 2022

The class was state of the art. I enjoyed Professor Kim's teaching style and approach. The discussions from the other students were a challenge. However, anytime the human element is involved, there will always be a challenge.

By Sayidomar Y S

Aug 13, 2022

It helped me a lot! if you are in consulting industry no matter how many years, i would recommend this for you. amazing was how the instructor accounted for different participants in terms of their experience and needs.

By Sabyasachi S

Dec 26, 2022

An excellent and conceptual introduction to management consulting. The Instructor's passion for the subject is evident and inspiring. Looking forward to finishing this great specialization.

By Aryan B

Oct 2, 2022

Really loved the explanation, clear understanding and everything to the point.

Would be completing all 5 courses just like that.

Thank you Sir John Kim for this beautiful course!!

By Avi G

Jan 23, 2023

The professor was so clear and really knew what he was talking about. Additionally, the slides are in a way that you can easily understand, making the course very enjoyable.

By Fabian J

Oct 9, 2022

Excellent course to build a foundation on Consulting, either you want to work for a one of the big consulting firms or you want to follow your own route as an entepreneur

By Michelle B

Feb 3, 2023

This course is very helpful in my Management Consulting journey. How I wish the number of hours were also put on the accomplishments together with the grades. Thank you!

By IULIAN M

Jan 6, 2023

It paints a good picture of Management Consulting and offers some good starting pints for those looking to get in this business or better understand what is it about.

By Brent O

Oct 2, 2022

This was a great course. I was able to complete the course easily, and the video lectures were excellent, as were the learning opportunities and quizes.

By Fady F

Nov 13, 2022

This course draws the full picture of what management consultancy is about. Very insightful if you're looking to decide whether this is for you or not.

By DOMINIC I E

Dec 30, 2022

Great course on introduction to Management Consulting. I highly recommend it to those seeking to transition into consultancy career!

By Jaselyn G

Jan 27, 2023

AWESOME COURSE- incredibly insightful and provides the essential tools for growth and insight into a consultant's career.