Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Java and Object-Oriented Programming

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Java and Object-Oriented Programming by University of Pennsylvania

4.4
stars
257 ratings

About the Course

This course provides an introduction to the Java language and object-oriented programming, including an overview of Java syntax and how it differs from a language like Python. Students will learn how to write custom Java classes and methods, and how to test their code using unit testing and test-driven development. Topics include basic data structures like Arrays and ArrayLists and overloading methods....

Top reviews

DD

Oct 24, 2021

This course has enlightened me on how to write and program tasks using JavaScript software. Of course, I had to learn certain methods mentioned in the homework assignments using external sources.

RG

Jun 26, 2023

The lecturer was excellent. his teaching style is very smart and understanable to everyone,and explanation part is also great. wish to learn from him again.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 67 Reviews for Introduction to Java and Object-Oriented Programming

By Yingying G

Apr 10, 2021

There are so many inconsistencies that require extra student efforts but not to the benefits of the course. For example, a concept or syntax is introduced in a homework but will only be introduced in the chapter after this homework. There are also some minor errors in the homework, e.g. in HW4, the given method is 'public int get(index)' but when you run it in Codio, it will only pass if you realize the element in 'arr' is an Integer and change the method name to 'public Integer get(index)'. This might not be a big deal for an experienced SDE, but costs too much meaningless time for Java beginners which are who this course is aimed at.

By Patrick R

Mar 30, 2021

Course is not yet ready for prime time. The autograders have several bugs, and too few students have taken this course series for it to be fixed, making for a frustrating learning experience. Recommend another Java class until Penn gets this sorted.

By Ty Y

Sep 11, 2022

The worst experience on Coursera:

a. the lecturer was just reading his abstruse slides without any explanation;

b. Not enough hints for each of the home assignments made them frustrating;

c. the online coding platform where we coded and submited the HW is trash

By Sepideh A

May 21, 2021

It is a great practical introduction course with challenging assignments.

By Veronika K

May 12, 2021

The course is very good, however it would be really nice to have at least one lecture about Object-Oriented Design in it.

By Angelie X

Oct 17, 2021

Although this is a supposed to be an intro course to Java and I like how concise it is, I personally feel like the fast pace doesn't help laying a strong foundation and I felt confused about concepts while doing the exercises and had to do additional research. The code demonstration makes everything look easy and I feel like I need a more in-depth course to really understand Java and be good at it.

By Tara W

Oct 11, 2022

You're completing this class on your own. While they have a discussion forum, no one answers your questions. I've had several questions sit for months and still no response. I don't recommend wasting your time or money unless you already know how to do it.

By Deleted A

Mar 29, 2021

Good for beginners. Despite the fact that this is the third course in specialization, the initial assignments are quite simple, which makes it easy to get familiar with syntax of language before you dive into OOP.

By Deleted A

Apr 6, 2021

Cool course, a lot of pain through one of the homeworks!

By Maxwell F

Sep 6, 2021

Fantastic course that teaches quite a bit about object oriented programming. Learn about how Java handles variables, arrays, casting, polymorphism, and more.

My only gripe was the final homework on week 3 had a few problems that made it extremely annoying to complete. You must fix the public static void main function in the homework download, as it's messed up. Also when handling packages the compiler doesn't see the package – so I got a class not found error. Lastly though the program tests perfectly on Eclipse, you must cast your variable in assertEquals which was annoying.

By Cecilia P T

Feb 5, 2021

Codio gave me a lot of issues with saying I had errors on lines of codes that were provided in the assignment - lines that I didn't touch. It was frustrating to deal with. This course was definitely more challenging than the previous two. I wish the Staff were able to explain our errors to us or a fellow classmate in the forum. It was lonely and I spent hours on the internet trying to teach myself Java.

By Elisa

May 13, 2022

Tengo 4 días atascada en la tarea porque Codio da un error y nadie me ha respondido como puerdo solucionarlo. Increible que esté pagando por esto.

By Tushar S

May 13, 2022

no support or help from penn university or their staff.

also coding IDE is not so good

By Danny D

Oct 24, 2021

This course has enlightened me on how to write and program tasks using JavaScript software. Of course, I had to learn certain methods mentioned in the homework assignments using external sources.

By Miguel M

Oct 17, 2023

No staff is answering any question. Codio doesn't give you any information about what is the problem to fail the pre test. When you summit tour work, the pre check and the final grade is not the same. A lot of users in the Discussion Forum are unenrolled ...

By Gabriel T

Nov 24, 2021

As is the case with all of the Penn Engineering courses that I have tried thus far, there is an exceptional level of polish in the way that this course was constructed. The assignments have all been very helpful in furthering my understanding of the Java programming language. While the course can be initially very daunting if you are coming from a Python background, the material becomes increasingly intuitive as you go through the course. If you get stuck with anything, the Discussion Forums always have a plethora of helpful staff and student answers that can help point you in the right direction.

By Timothy W

Aug 26, 2022

I actually felt like I learned quite a bit from taking this MOOC coming in with zero experience with Java. I think it was a nice beginner course in Java. The code-alongs were the best part of the course as I felt like I had a deeper understanding as I was coding along. Beware, there is currently a glitch with the final HW of the course. There is a compiler error due to running on different versions of Java. Look in the discussion section and you will see it. Not a huge deal otherwise.

By Wesley B

Jun 30, 2022

Good presentation of the material. What makes it great is the exceptionally attentitive discussion board admin I had while taking the course in spring/summer 2022. They would answer posts every 24 hours, so you knew you could work as far as you could figure it out, and come back to a new impulse on where to look next, if that was needed. Made for an excellent learning pace.

By Vahid Y

Nov 29, 2021

Such a helpful course, definitely recommended. The instructor knows what he is talking about and demonstrate the material in detail. Also, I would like to appreciate tutor's willingness to answer the questions via the "Discussion Forums". Best of luck!

By Ruwani G

Jun 27, 2023

The lecturer was excellent. his teaching style is very smart and understanable to everyone,and explanation part is also great. wish to learn from him again.

By 47 K D

Nov 3, 2022

Amazing course and really , really usefull for professional coding , thank you so much for providing me financial aid really loved the experience

By Bailey D

Dec 12, 2022

Great Lectures from Brandon. Very clear and easy to follow along. I look forward to taking future classes led by him!

By T D

May 29, 2022

A 10 out of 10 course. Very well designed and the assignments are great for enhancing learning and understanding.

By Ina P

Nov 21, 2021

Amazing course with great examples, and wasn't too easy. Learned Java Basics and happy with the new knowledge.

By Emmanuel A

Jan 5, 2023

This is a great course! It covers all the essentials you need to learn Java, any extras can be googled