Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data by Duke University

4.7
stars
2,663 ratings
477 reviews

About the Course

Build on the software engineering skills you learned in “Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software” by learning new data structures. Use these data structures to build more complex programs that use Java’s object-oriented features. At the end of the course you will write an encryption program and a program to break your encryption algorithm. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Read and write data from/to files; 2. Solve problems involving data files; 3. Perform quantitative analyses of data (e.g., finding maximums, minimums, averages); 4. Store and manipulate data in an array or ArrayList; 5. Combine multiple classes to solve larger problems; 6. Use iterables and collections (including maps) in Java....

Top reviews

LB
Jan 9, 2020

Actually, before I start this course I had not a good idea about OOP concept such as constructors, HashMap.now I have fair confidence about that. thank you duke university making such an arrangement.

CT
Jul 19, 2018

The course was pretty challenging (and occasionally frustrating) for a novice programmer, but doable.\n\nI enjoyed the course, and came away with a greater understanding of computers and programming.

Filter by:

376 - 400 of 478 Reviews for Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

By Aditya G

May 26, 2020

It was my one of the best Java courses ever done.The course would have been much better if there was some more talk about different manipulation on the structures being taught.

By Goodwill T K

Dec 30, 2019

The assignments were not clear and I didn't know if i should go back and use my Caesar code to get some of the answers for the assignment. it would be nice to hint a bit more

By María V D

May 8, 2018

Maybe this course for me are the most difficult, but the teachers, the teaching method and the spirit of Coursera in the mate´s class are the best.

By Denis G

Mar 22, 2018

6th question in final quiz is really hard for non native english speakers. Please avoid questions with multiple selection and with lots of text.

By Darshan J

Jun 16, 2020

I really enjoyed and got some skills from this course but I think this course would need to take some more time and give deep knowledge.

By RADHIKA M

Jul 17, 2020

The course challenges your brain to use the Data Structures in different possible ways.

It's a good course to implement Data Structures.

By Joe S

Nov 25, 2018

Some concepts used in Week 2 were introduced/ explained in more detail in Week 3 so I struggled in Week 2 but Week 3 was a breeze.

By Dinesh K K

Jul 25, 2020

Week 3 and week 2 were almost same apart weblog stuff,

so I guess so more core topics can be added to week 3 to make it tougher.

By Chongjun H

Sep 29, 2017

Useful and helpful, a millstone in the specialization path, but not so preferable if you only enroll this single course.

By Dieter R

Nov 25, 2018

The final quiz has 3 difficult questions for which I could not find a good answer. Luckily my guesses were good enough.

By Zakir S

Jan 23, 2020

Good course but not much help is available to complete assignments and hints are not very helpful when taking quizzes

By Cyan C

Oct 9, 2017

Hope the mentor can be more responsive on forum, as the quiz is getting tougher and need more help on it

By Shridhar S

Aug 9, 2017

It would be helpful if explanations of the problems in the quiz were made available after passing them.

By Ashutosh D

May 23, 2017

A nice course on cryptography. Learned many new data structures like HashMap, HashSet and ArrayList.

By Nuggu S V R

Dec 25, 2015

Great course. Learning Java Data Structures and Cipher encryption was fun.

Good material and problems

By Антон В

Oct 9, 2020

The wording of questions in tests is sometimes misleading, this was not the case in other courses.

By Orlando C

Feb 3, 2018

It is a good start for Java programming. Is very much practice oriented and the videos are clear.

By Masaru N

Nov 11, 2017

One of the most **practical** Java programming courses that I've ever taken.

Thank you so much.

By JP B

May 22, 2020

This is a very good course for the price, assuming you are at the beginner level (like me).

By Pratap B

Jul 16, 2020

Its good training and i gained more on java programming as Array, Lists. Structured data

By Rohan P

Jul 20, 2021

well i learned a lot and more advance function of java plus how to approach any problem

By Devul N

Aug 19, 2017

A pretty challenging and engaging course which taught me a lot of new concepts of Java!

By Nguyen V H

Jun 21, 2017

This course is useful, the teachers have step by step directions to easy understand.

By Anel O

Dec 11, 2016

Excellent course to learn about Structured Data. Challenging exercises and quizes.

By Yash P

Feb 18, 2020

Great for learning about arrays, web logs, list, array lists and structured data.