Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data, Duke University

4.7
1,168 ratings
208 reviews

About this Course

Build on the software engineering skills you learned in “Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software” by learning new data structures. Use these data structures to build more complex programs that use Java’s object-oriented features. At the end of the course you will write an encryption program and a program to break your encryption algorithm. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Read and write data from/to files; 2. Solve problems involving data files; 3. Perform quantitative analyses of data (e.g., finding maximums, minimums, averages); 4. Store and manipulate data in an array or ArrayList; 5. Combine multiple classes to solve larger problems; 6. Use iterables and collections (including maps) in Java....

Top reviews

By GB

Mar 30, 2017

Good and practical training approach to solve real worlds problems. Assignments and quizzes are quite challenging and interesting. Greatly motivates us towards programming and problem solving skills.

By CT

Jul 20, 2018

The course was pretty challenging (and occasionally frustrating) for a novice programmer, but doable.\n\nI enjoyed the course, and came away with a greater understanding of computers and programming.

Filter by:

204 Reviews

By Tanvir Mahmud

Jan 17, 2019

This course is build in step by step which is very easy for me to understood as a beginner.

By kushagra Ahuja

Jan 09, 2019

Very intuitive course, Projects teach you how apply your knowledge and think through the program.

By Limei Wang

Jan 08, 2019

I like the way the instructors to deliver their classes.

By Shorunke Rasaq Stephen

Jan 02, 2019

very helpful course

By Manish Kumar Thakur

Dec 26, 2018

amazing

By Jade Feldhousen

Dec 17, 2018

The subject and assignment choices in the course are very practical and enjoyable - the emphasis on cryptography provides a lot of interesting discovery and by the end of the course you're easily cracking very complex encrypted messages. I thought that the log parsing exercises had a lot of real world usefulness for me personally as well.

The course will train you to quickly conceptualize how to solve problems by writing methods that fit assignment requirements and get you on your way to being able to talk about problem solving the way they do at job interviews. I highly recommend this java course - it felt like it had a lot of value all the way through.

By Eugeny Korobka

Nov 26, 2018

Great course. Was not easy for me.

Requires lots of work. Everything is structured very logically here and it helps a lot.

By Joselito P. Sunga, Jr.

Nov 26, 2018

Some concepts used in Week 2 were introduced/ explained in more detail in Week 3 so I struggled in Week 2 but Week 3 was a breeze.

By Dieter Rogiest

Nov 25, 2018

The final quiz has 3 difficult questions for which I could not find a good answer. Luckily my guesses were good enough.

By 蔡鸿斌

Nov 15, 2018

Great task for beginner.