Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data by Duke University

4.7
stars
2,704 ratings
484 reviews

About the Course

Build on the software engineering skills you learned in “Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software” by learning new data structures. Use these data structures to build more complex programs that use Java’s object-oriented features. At the end of the course you will write an encryption program and a program to break your encryption algorithm. After completing this course, you will be able to: 1. Read and write data from/to files; 2. Solve problems involving data files; 3. Perform quantitative analyses of data (e.g., finding maximums, minimums, averages); 4. Store and manipulate data in an array or ArrayList; 5. Combine multiple classes to solve larger problems; 6. Use iterables and collections (including maps) in Java....

Top reviews

LB
Jan 9, 2020

Actually, before I start this course I had not a good idea about OOP concept such as constructors, HashMap.now I have fair confidence about that. thank you duke university making such an arrangement.

CT
Jul 19, 2018

The course was pretty challenging (and occasionally frustrating) for a novice programmer, but doable.\n\nI enjoyed the course, and came away with a greater understanding of computers and programming.

Filter by:

51 - 75 of 480 Reviews for Java Programming: Arrays, Lists, and Structured Data

By Maruf H

Dec 22, 2017

Great and effective course. A little harder than the previous course. A good way to introduce to different new java concepts. I also get some knowledge of Cryptography. Every beginner and intermediate level java programmer find this course interesting I think.

By Jimut B P

Jun 27, 2016

This course is fantastically created for excelling your concepts in Java. The faculties are worthy of praise.Thank you Rodgers, Owen, Hilton and Robert for creating one of the best courses in coursera and teaching us amazing stuffs in java programming.

By Marina

Oct 17, 2016

Like the first and the second courses of this specialization this course is really helpful for beginners in Java development. It is an excellent introduction to arrays, lists and data structures. The assignments are practical, interesting and realizable.

By Olivio M

Apr 8, 2016

Like the first and the second courses of this specialization, this course is really great. The journey to learn new data structures continues, and I only can say this : this is by far, the best specialization to introduce java programming for beginners

By Nurillo A

Jan 26, 2021

So far so good. Very high quality, important resources. I have one suggestion, please share screenshots of codes written by instructors during the video lessons, so learners can write that code and experience right away. Thanks in advance!

By Ramlal V

Nov 26, 2016

Very good course, challenging in terms of testing your ability to solve programming problems using data structures like arraylist, hashset and hashmap. Using problems from basic cryptography keeps you motivated to complete the course.

By Aistis R

Nov 4, 2015

i have found no problems in this course and i actually liked it and the assignments were practical and easy to understand. Good Job!

PS. If i have payed for specialization, the "shortness" of this course would be disappointing.

By Omar S

Sep 10, 2019

Brilliant way of teaching HashMaps, HashSets etc. I've enjoyed this course the most out of the first 3 courses in the Duke Java Specialization. A big thank you to the course instructors for providing such quality material.

By Cheung K

Apr 6, 2021

Understand that many peers get stuck in Week 1&2. But when you get through these, the course is very straight forward in week 3&4. And you should definitely read the comments in discussion forums. They are really helpful.

By Do H L

Dec 29, 2015

Really good course assignments and resources! I hope the lecture slides can be improved. The course is rigorous, challenging and intellectually stimulating. I hope Duke can offer more computer science courses like this.

By Keiko F

Sep 8, 2017

Duke's Java programming class has been the best course I have taken for all other courses. I really enjoy the structure, the video, reading, programming assignments. I feel I am learning Java indeed for real use.

By Abdul M A K

Jul 26, 2017

The professors had a way to just bring me down to earth in this course..Humbled me completely. the content was well organized .

the silver lining in this course was that there was less hand holding by professors .

By ZUsas

Nov 4, 2018

The course is really well structured. The projects are interesting and the projects meaningful and challenging. The topics covered are very useful. Looking forward to the next 2 courses in the specialization.

By William W

May 1, 2018

It is great for Java beginner without prior programming background. But for those who have prior programming experience and seeking for a quick jump start to Java, there might be more repetition than expected.

By 李婷

Jan 22, 2021

The course is easy to understand and complete assignments. Rather than difficult courses, it is easy to keep on to finish it and friendly to a learner with little Java and programming knowledge.

By Grace Z

Aug 20, 2017

The programming exercises are really interesting! They make programming much more fun to study. The lecturers are all great and the lessons are engaging. Enjoyed it greatly! Thank you Duke.

By Kareem E

Jan 28, 2016

the course content was great , thank to the teaching staff . i was so much excited about the modules... the projects were also very good , and make me feel that i became a real programmer

By Aaron G

Nov 3, 2019

Wow. This was a surprisingly challenging class. In the best of ways though. Some of the questions in the quizzes need some rewriting to clarify, but still very fantastic overall.

By Yuchen H

Mar 19, 2020

The homework is really helpful to master data structure in Java, while some of it is redundant. Learning this course takes more time than I expected, but it gives me a solid basis.

By Willem v S

Feb 24, 2019

This is a very nice course. The teachers speak clearly and explain very well. The subject used to teach Java (cryptography) is interesting. Many thanks!

Kind regards, Wim

By Christopher W

Apr 5, 2020

Fun course, well-designed curriculum. Imaginative, real-world inspired assignments with just the right level of guidance. The instructors are skilled and personable.

By Sijia Z

Jan 12, 2020

This is my second Duke course, i'll take them all they are great. And i like the feel when i finish it. I'm still a student, i finish one course every two weeks.

By Danielle C

Aug 2, 2020

learned so much during this course. i never thought i'd be able to break the Vigenere cipher and i'm so glad that i was able to. thank you so much, instructors!

By Peter T

Nov 27, 2016

Codebreaking made the homework quite engaging, and the lectures and coursework made sense. Week3 is a little heavier than the other weeks, so bear than in mind!

By Thanh T N

Dec 21, 2020

Thanks professors from Duke University and this course for having me a chance to explore new knowledge about Java programming, specifically data structure.