Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software, Duke University

4.6
2,197 ratings
441 reviews

About this Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

By FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

By CC

Mar 29, 2018

Great course, it does help to have some background knowledge in another language but it is doable without any. goes through some fun projects but also some work usable items such as CSV parsing.

Filter by:

429 Reviews

By Mikhail Korneev

Dec 09, 2018

It started fine, but then turned out it's a somewhat weird course. First of all, who uses Oracle Java IDE in the middle of 2010th? Secondly, the course doesn't really follow the OOP and Functional programming guidelines. Overall it's worth it if you are a complete newbie

By Ying Bi

Dec 08, 2018

I love this subject because it is all about practice!! It led me in steady steps to build programs, algorithms and small projects from scratch. By making mistakes in these real problems, I learned faster than before when I relied on simply reading books about Java by myself.

By TianJie Shen

Dec 07, 2018

Great course. Let the students dedicated to coding

By Jade Feldhousen

Dec 02, 2018

This is a great first course to take at Coursera - you'll find the the content is high quality, the assignments progressively challenge you, and sets the tone that you're going to get a lot out of the courses but it's something you'll have to work for.

I thoroughly enjoyed the process of moving through the course and would recommend it to others, with the caveat that you're not going to just breeze through without putting in some time to focus on the assignments.

I definitely feel that I came away having advanced my skills and having accomplished something! That's the highest accolade you could give to any training.

Thanks!

By NETRAVATI KATWE

Dec 02, 2018

Quite tough but worth the efforts!!

By Nenad Najdanovic

Dec 01, 2018

Awesome. Things are explained clearly, and the best thing is that you are required to 'get your hands dirty' with the code, in order to do the assignments. Well designed course

By Maxime Chevalier

Nov 28, 2018

Great course for beginners

By yaya nchare

Nov 26, 2018

fantastic

By Ajayi Omofayowa

Nov 25, 2018

Very Intensive course and well tutored i really recommend this for those who are looking to develop their skills on JAVA it is indeed helpful

By Talgatbek Kazmatov

Nov 19, 2018

Thanks a lot for amount of time and patience you guys put to make this course available and I have to say I love your style. it has enough information to find the answer but not over kill by any means. I like that you guys teaching how to program but not just mechanic of it. Learning the java is just pleasant side effect of it.

Thank you all