Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software, Duke University

4.6
2,357 ratings
472 reviews

About this Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

By FA

Oct 08, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

By CC

Mar 29, 2018

Great course, it does help to have some background knowledge in another language but it is doable without any. goes through some fun projects but also some work usable items such as CSV parsing.

Filter by:

459 Reviews

By Vin Tagliavia

Feb 21, 2019

The course material is, all in all, good. However, I feel some of the latest updates for the JAVA language are not in line with the course material. In short, the content feels a bit outdated. Tutors take long to respond to questions so I would justify that for non-paying users. Finally, the course really challenges you as a beginner and that is good. However, as a paying user, I am expecting to finish each course within the suggested guidelines and not 3 weeks beyond that point. The practice parts for this course take up quite longer than expected. My suggestions will be to update the course material, make the practice parts shorter and get tutors more involved in daily questions.

By Sruti Raju

Feb 19, 2019

Great introductory course. I was new to Java before taking this course, I feel much more confident in tackling more in depth topics in Java and object oriented programming in later courses in the specialization.

By Rohitash Goyal

Feb 16, 2019

Awesome Teaching a bit more explanation in some topics would be of more help

By

Feb 11, 2019

Extremely useful! Highly recommend! )

By shelby palumbo

Feb 11, 2019

Really poor course structure and material explanations. Canceling subscription.

By Hozaifa owaisi

Feb 10, 2019

AMAZING COURSE RELLY GOT ME UP AND CODING. LOVE THE CHALLENGING PROBLEMS PRESENTED TO ME

By Suparna Das

Feb 08, 2019

Excellent course as the Instructors teach building algorithm and then coding it line by line. I highly recommend taking this course as it helps you moving one step ahead in learning Java.

By Ummer Yousuf Najar

Feb 07, 2019

Useful and informative course... Instructors are teaching very well... I get a lot of knowledge...

By Divine Velasquez

Feb 03, 2019

")

By Tridip Barua

Feb 03, 2019

This course is much better than the one taught in my College