Chevron Left
Back to Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software by Duke University

4.6
stars
5,741 ratings
1,200 reviews

About the Course

Learn to code in Java and improve your programming and problem-solving skills. You will learn to design algorithms as well as develop and debug programs. Using custom open-source classes, you will write programs that access and transform images, websites, and other types of data. At the end of the course you will build a program that determines the popularity of different baby names in the US over time by analyzing comma separated value (CSV) files. After completing this course you will be able to: 1. Edit, compile, and run a Java program; 2. Use conditionals and loops in a Java program; 3. Use Java API documentation in writing programs. 4. Debug a Java program using the scientific method; 5. Write a Java method to solve a specific problem; 6. Develop a set of test cases as part of developing a program; 7. Create a class with multiple methods that work together to solve a problem; and 8. Use divide-and-conquer design techniques for a program that uses multiple methods....

Top reviews

FA
Oct 7, 2017

Excellent explanations and amount of course work for practice, the tests made good use of the examples and work given, I am satisfied with what I learned in this course and see it's real world usage.

VM
Oct 15, 2019

This is an Awesome Course . The best thing About this Course is that It has weekly quizzes and Assignments as well as Practice Quizzes for particular Topics which helps in learning it more easily .

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 1,179 Reviews for Java Programming: Solving Problems with Software

By Oussama D

May 31, 2020

trés belle expérience avec beaucoup des informations bien expliqué par les profs et bien détailler grand merci pour les profs

By MOHAMMAD H

Jan 18, 2020

very useful course and have so many examples and practices, I advice every one want to start coding with java to enroll in it

By gwuiin K

Dec 8, 2019

This is a good course for getting started with java programming. Especially, seven steps of problem solving is very useful.

By Roy W

May 5, 2019

very informative and well explained. I liked that they use real life examples to introduce you to a subject. Big thumbs up!

By Adriana S

Oct 25, 2017

Learned a lot! The time it took me to complete the projects was a lot longer than 10 minutes, but the result was worth it.

By Peter T

Oct 17, 2016

Great introduction to Java, the BlueJ environment makes it much easier to pick up the language with a smaller feature set.

By María V D

Aug 28, 2016

The teachers are great, I love this courses and the method for the students.

Very Challenging, enjoy it!!

A great experience

By Ossama I

Jan 7, 2020

Great course with informative content.Thanks Duke University for this course and thanks coursera for the ease of studying

By Sijia Z

Dec 29, 2019

it is friendly for people who have a litter base. I finish it in 2 weeks, not including weekends. I study 4hours a day.

By Yae J P

Dec 17, 2016

Great to learn basic concepts! However, it seemed like there were errors in the last quiz for the first two questions.

By ÖZCAN E

Nov 24, 2020

This course is really great for understanding how to solve a problem in your code and it improves your coding skills.

By Pratisek M

Oct 13, 2018

Very good for beginners with a little background of programming.It teaches how to approach a problem algorithmically.

By Alexander I

Aug 28, 2018

Great course. At first it was a bit tough but slowly but surely you immerse into it and learn the ropes. Many thanks!

By Fernando J W H

Oct 19, 2015

This course is amazing, it is the second course of the specialization and it will give you all the knowledge in java.

By Daniel K

Oct 21, 2018

I am learning a great deal during this course and find it challenging. I plan to continue through the five courses.

By Bruno

Jun 6, 2017

I love the fact you create interesting programs that read data and then use it to do your exams! I've learned a lot!

By Chao L

Jan 30, 2016

The course is good overall.

However, the final project might be a little difficult for a beginner in Java programming

By Aaron G

Oct 7, 2019

Loved this course. It got me up to speed on Java rather quickly, and the coursework was super fun and interesting.

By Cobby K S

Aug 18, 2016

This course is very practical and amazing. it is worth every penny they are taking.. Sign up and get better at java

By Touhidul I

Feb 27, 2016

Excellent course for beginners. Well structured. Best one to judge yourself before entering into a challenging job.

By Julio R

Nov 23, 2020

muchas gracias por enseñarme aprendí muchas cosas acera de esta carrera , de nuevo muchísimas gracias por ayudarme

By Mohammed H

Nov 7, 2020

I think you have to change the way of learning instead of library let the students make every thing in their hands

By Sujay P

Jun 22, 2017

The Course is really good but the difficulty of week 2 can be reduced to a little more towards beginner standards.

By Rahul S

Jul 24, 2020

Awesome Course. I really enjoyed this course and learned a lot of things especially from programming assignments.

By Taeho K

Apr 23, 2020

Most Progamming courses tend to be easy compared to actual university level courses but this course is rigorous.