Chevron Left
Back to Consulting Tools and Tips

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Consulting Tools and Tips by Emory University

4.9
stars
133 ratings

About the Course

This is the #4 course in the specialization on management consulting. Management consultants are quick learners. When you first join a generalist consulting firm, you are expected to learn core consulting skills and will likely be staffed on projects across industry and functions. You might be on a chemicals pricing project, then a retail cost-reduction project. It’s critical that you learn “how to get smart quickly” and ask smart questions. At the same time, you should develop an armory of tools to create data through client interviews, surveys, benchmarking, and observations....

Top reviews

RK

Oct 7, 2023

This module was full of actual treasure and jackpot on consulting tools and tips, the content was very informative, practical and super useful. sincere thanks to instructor Sir John Kim.

B

Nov 7, 2022

I truly enjoyed the course. Mr Kim is simply the best instructor I have met. His method of teaching leaves one with imprint memory never to forget.Thanks so much

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 50 Reviews for Consulting Tools and Tips

By James W

Jan 12, 2023

During this section (part 4), I did work slowly in the first two weeks of outlined work with tools I was very unfamiliar with. I believe this is only a result of me being a "green cap" and even more so, coming with a background in pharmacy and data science rather than business. I really found weeks 3-5 to relate to my workplace and project-based work in an office with a team. I firmly believe that Coursera provides as much benefit to me as I make of it, and none of my interviews have ever inquired about how many certificates I have done. That being said, I really have found several things from John Kim in these courses that have shaped the way I tackle a problem, speak about projects to my managers, and even how I talk in interviews. I appreciate that this course has the same instructor, because 1.) He is excellent at explaining things and 2.) Consistency is good compared to a google certificate that had a new speaker every module, like a YouTube ad instead of focusing on the material being taught. I felt like I got a lot of benefit from this section and am excited to finish the specialization.

By Rae H M

Jul 4, 2023

This was a very enlightening course and everything was very well structured and clearly explained. I particularly liked the key messages at the end of every video that gave specific tips for different levels of experiences, as well as the outline of the course contents and key takeaways at the beginning of the course, which really helped me better understand the overall outcome and take notes throughout the course.

By Zainab S

Jan 17, 2023

This was by far the most enjoyable course within this specialisation. The tips were extremely useful, the learning was very practical and I feel as though I gained some fantastic insight into management consulting. John is a remarkable teacher, he can really break down big problems into "buckets" and help you find solutions :) Thoroughly enjoyed this, and look forward to the next.

By Ahsan I

Jan 5, 2023

Excellent course , very informative and smartly structured to provide great learning on selection and application of consulting tools. Very useful tips in data collection (interviews, surveys, observations etc) and analysis , benchmarking. The key consideration to focus on Client's expectations and behaviors. Thanks John , great course.

By Blake S

Mar 1, 2023

3 things I thought made this great

1) The depth of the course and application to consulting. This was spot on.

2) How tactical the advice was. There were concepts and mindsets and many tips to apply right now.

3) How simple and organized it felt. It was so easy to follow along (note outline given, structure, PPT, discussion).

By Motlalepula B T

Oct 25, 2023

This course is really well explained and a lot of the concepts are repeatedly reaffirmed which makes the concepts easy to recall. There are questions within some presentation videos and the quizzes are sometimes segmented throughout a module but with more frequency. Overall it is exceedingly informative and useful.

By Vanessa R

Jan 18, 2023

I am taking the Management Consulting Specialization, and this course about consulting "Tips and Tricks," was hugely beneficial. I learned much about getting smart about a particular client/industry quickly. Thank you, Professor John Kim, for sharing all these valuable tools.

By Trần B K

Dec 24, 2023

This course, like the other courses in the specialization series, is amazing. A lot instruction, information, helpful suggestion, learning material, websites, ... very useful for someone want to join consulting like me. Can't wait to find out what's more on course 5

By GregV

Oct 15, 2023

This is a great course that covers frameworks, the application of frameworks, and tools to analyze and research companies. I highly recommend it to anyone looking to learn more about what consultants do and as a refresher for experienced consultants.

By Rajshri K

Oct 8, 2023

This module was full of actual treasure and jackpot on consulting tools and tips, the content was very informative, practical and super useful. sincere thanks to instructor Sir John Kim.

By Руслан С

Mar 29, 2023

Hi all!

Finally, I learned about consulting from the inside and what it is.

John, you spent 8 months creating these courses and I think you did a good job. I thank you for your work

By Betty U

Nov 7, 2022

I truly enjoyed the course. Mr Kim is simply the best instructor I have met. His method of teaching leaves one with imprint memory never to forget.Thanks so much

By Alejandra P

Sep 5, 2022

This was an excellent course on how to quickly prepare for any project and how to get smart quick. I really appreciated how easy to follow this course was.

By Keyi P

Nov 8, 2023

The instructor explains things very clearly. And the way he teaches is like teaching offline, so lessons are more engaging than usual online courses.

By mohammed a s

Jun 2, 2023

I like the structure of the courses and Dr. Kim just makes it enjoyable to attend! keep up the good work hoping to see other new courses :)

By Stefanie T

Nov 7, 2023

Congrats to Professor John Kim, his metology and dynamics were fantastic. I learned a lot. I'm sure other consultants will like it!

By Daniel K

Dec 9, 2023

Very useful insights and tool tipps for all situations in business life! I am excited to put everything in use. Thanks!

By Connor Q

Dec 10, 2023

Course 4 of the 5 has been the most valuable to me. I am completing the whole Specialization.

By Stanley K

Nov 8, 2023

As a former PwC consultant, this program clarified a number of how-to and why questions.

By Alexandros O

Feb 27, 2023

The course was great and very enjoying (same as the rest of the course series). However, after completing the 4th course of this specialization, I felt more competitive and the assessment process was not giving me the opportunity to compete more with other students. Lastly, all the information, tools and tips provided are quite new to me but there were times through the slides that I would like to be introduced to 1 or 2 more. For example, FinViz is a great source but it would be good to have some alternatives. Same stands for more practical situations like what happens if we struggle in a step during the analysis (no publicly available data, handling awkward questions etc.).

Overall, very satisfied! Great work!

By andres c

May 26, 2023

I have enjoyed this course !

Jim has shown the foundations of the consulting tools and tips, it was explained clearly and highlighting the essential. The way of explaining is entertaining, didactic and masterfully. Very good tips. I feel I've learned a lot in this field of knowledge.

Thanks for making this course available .

Andres

By Daniel L

Mar 2, 2024

Interesting course with an outstanding teacher. I really enjoy listening to John Kim who shares his passion for consulting and gives out lots of useful tips & tricks.

By Sando G

Mar 2, 2024

The exercise on profiling a company really opened my eyes on ways to quickly getting smart on a company and its positioning within an industry. Great course!

By Aisha S G

Mar 17, 2024

A very interesting course. John made it very interesting and simple. I learned a lot and I am glad I took this course with Mr. John

By muhammad r r k

Jul 20, 2023

John has been explaining the course in such a way that easy to understand, fun, while giving insight into what consulting about.