Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
9,743 ratings

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

IT

Invalid date

This course is very effective in improving your role as an HRM and Very good lecture with lots of fun with humor used by the professor during this course.. Thank you sir for the wonderful experience

MV

Invalid date

This course has an outstanding wealth of information for new people entering the Human Resources arena. I also recommend it to others that want to brush up on knowledge and skills of the HR industry.

Filter by:

2501 - 2525 of 2,574 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Parviz S

May 12, 2020

Thanks!

By Selin A

Oct 27, 2017

great

By Rajashree D

Sep 15, 2023

good

By Shreyasi M

Mar 22, 2023

good

By Esther A

Jun 23, 2022

good

By Simran K

Jan 28, 2022

good

By Mohamed K

Mar 28, 2021

Good

By Md.Barkatullah S

Oct 5, 2020

well

By SOUGATA M

May 29, 2020

nice

By Aarti v

Apr 16, 2020

good

By Jaspreet s

Oct 31, 2019

Good

By Park M

Aug 27, 2018

Very

By Greice G G

Jul 7, 2020

ok!

By priya j

Jan 23, 2021

NA

By Sanyukta K

Nov 28, 2020

Ok

By Vinay P

Apr 4, 2018

NA

By Chris R

May 10, 2020

While the instructor was knowledgeable about the material itself, he is obviously not skilled in actually doing the job of HR so his lectures definitely lacked practical application to various points of the lectures. His questions for the tests/quizzes were reflective of the material however the manner in which he asked the questions was extremely confusing. You often had to read the question over and over in order to determine what it was that he was asking. The test questions from a lecture should be straightforward in a manner that helps determine if the student read the material and if the student comprehended the material. The questions for this class were often very minute or minimally important points of the lecture and very confusing in their structure.

By Gordon W

Mar 20, 2023

I did not find this course to be all that valuable. While it provided some nice lead-in material for the other courses in this specialization, I believe the material could have been handled as a pre-specialization reading assignment with a confirmatory quiz. I would much prefer to spend the time spent on this course completing a new course for this specialty, a course on Learning & Development. It is one of my responsibilities and I have to look elsewhere for training.

By Aleksandr K

Aug 12, 2019

First part of the course was quite good. Types of leadership. HR strategies, different type of motivation and motivators. But week 4 is a complete waste of time - full of obvious statements and demagogy. Final test is also very poorly done. For a paid course such quality of the material is unacceptable

By Boluwatife A

Mar 16, 2021

At the outset of the course i learnt how to explore the importance of linking

recruitment goals with overall company strategy.

We then look at a number of options to recruit and

select employees both effectively and legally.

By Daniella D

Sep 1, 2023

It should have been more dynamic by applying real case examples in our daily lives and work. It was too technique and sometimes quiet difficult to understand the actual point of the lessons.

By Laura M

Jul 6, 2021

The instructor is annoyingly cheesy and spends a lot of time "reviewing" and telling you what he's going to speak about. I would rather you just tell me the information straight up.

By Lauryna B

Aug 4, 2021

The course itself was useful, sometimes interesting, sometimes got bored of it. The testing system was not the one I expected, the questions were a bit complicated and crowded.

By Tijana Z

Jan 23, 2019

It gives you the overview of the HRM, but the slides are often crowded, confusing and distracting. Please, use less colours and pictures and make better slides with some order.

By shabnam m

Jan 22, 2018

I wish the instructor had provided review slides at the end of each section. Some more complex terms could have been elaborated more clearly.