Chevron Left
Back to Preparing to Manage Human Resources

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Preparing to Manage Human Resources by University of Minnesota

4.8
stars
9,743 ratings

About the Course

One way or another, all employees are managed. But approaches to managing employees varying from employee-to-employee, job-to-job, manager-to-manager, organization-to-organization, and country-to-country. This course provides a foundation for developing your own approach to skillfully managing employees by illustrating alternative human resource management (HRM) strategies, introducing the importance of the legal context, and thinking about what motivates employees. This will then give you the factual and conceptual basis for developing specific, critical HRM skills in subsequent courses on hiring employees, managing performance, and rewarding employees. Don't know anything about HRM? That's OK! Leave this course with a new-found understanding of the range of options available for managing employees, a grasp of what makes workers tick, and the readiness to develop your own HRM skills....

Top reviews

IT

Invalid date

This course is very effective in improving your role as an HRM and Very good lecture with lots of fun with humor used by the professor during this course.. Thank you sir for the wonderful experience

SA

Invalid date

I want to congratulate the teacher's hard work put in the content of this course to allow other people to learn in a practical manner, how to face different situations when managing human resources.

Filter by:

2526 - 2550 of 2,574 Reviews for Preparing to Manage Human Resources

By Weneeke M

Dec 6, 2017

it was a good course. Maybe the target audience is current HR or people who have experience. This was totally new information for me.

By Angelica R

Apr 23, 2016

The module of legal was very focus on US which does no apply to international students.

By Ingrid F d O

Feb 7, 2021

I was happy about finishing this course now, but WHY the credit hours are not given?

By Neelam C

Aug 15, 2022

I dont Want to continue with this course.PLease remove it from my basket .

By Breanne L

Nov 15, 2022

dry presentation, didnt feel very engaging or motivating to complete.

By Enayatullah A

Jul 20, 2016

a good one for gaining more knowledge regarding managing people

By BHUVANESH A K 1

Dec 25, 2019

It is very good to learn and I improved my hr skills

By Mohammed N J

Jul 16, 2020

the course is nice but overall i found a bit boring

By Eleni M P

Dec 14, 2020

I do not think it is fair to have a peer review.

By TOLULOPE O

Apr 20, 2020

T

h

e

c

o

u

r

s

e

h

a

s

b

r

o

a

d

I

n

g

m

y

o

p

I

n

I

o

n

o

n

H

R

R

O

l

e

s

By Thy N

Mar 26, 2020

the presentation should be less colour

By Tejaswini D

Jan 30, 2023

facing the problem of subscription

By shefali s

Jul 7, 2021

could be a bit more interesting

By Amina b

May 22, 2021

beneficial course , thank you

By Yanhua W

Mar 28, 2021

not vert practical

By K. S S

Jun 11, 2020

excellent course

By Shreya D

Sep 17, 2021

PERFECT COURSE

By Baimukhambetov Y

May 18, 2020

Not bad course

By Andrea C

Jan 3, 2019

Good Course!

By Bhumika P

May 18, 2020

average

By Shubham V

Jun 25, 2022

nice

By Rajanikant K

Jun 26, 2020

good

By Dilini B

Aug 28, 2021

By musically h

Oct 5, 2022

Incredibly long-winded course. The professor's style, and seemingly self absorbance is not my cup of tea- so to speak. I did not get what I expected from this course, and found myself pushing through and even rushing through this course. No technicial skills were learned within this course. I can not include what was learned within this course on my resume or as a means to acquiring a job in HR. Overall, I felt the course was too traditional and mundane, lacking technical or usable skills required to obtain a position, job or career in HR management. And the course was extremely longwinded as I mentioned before. Too many discussions, write in answers, and multiple choice oddly-worded questions. Peer-reviewed assignment was completely unnecessary and a waste of time. Not what I was looking for, but I might still pursue the completion of the specialization as I have already completed this course and already put in many hours.

By Thales F N

May 21, 2020

There was some nice insights into macro analysis. The external factors to an organization that you should pay attention to before designing an HR strategy.

However, it was too academic and not very practical. The course provides really little real-life examples of situations that organizations face. In addition, sounded a lot like the professor was showing off how smart and academically awarded he was instead of providing useful frameworks and insights.

One last thing is that all of it was presented in an extremely boring and badly designed way. Really bad jokes made me want to stop attending the course several times.