Chevron Left
Back to Math for MBA and GMAT Prep

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Math for MBA and GMAT Prep by Emory University

4.2
stars
37 ratings

About the Course

This course gives participants a basic understanding of statistics as they apply in business situations. A fair share of students considering MBA programs come from backgrounds that do not include a large amount of training in mathematics and statistics. Often, students find themselves at a disadvantage when they apply for or enroll in MBA programs. This course will give you the tools to understand how these business statistics are calculated for navigating the built-in formulas that are included in Excel, but also how to apply these formulas in an range of business settings and situations....

Top reviews

AI

Apr 23, 2022

Dr. Smith explained everything so well. His teaching style made even complex concepts understandable very quickly with his ability to tie in real-world examples.

VT

Jan 8, 2022

Thanks Professor Smith a lot for your interesting course. I have learned a lot and will utilize this for my next year MBA study.

Filter by:

1 - 12 of 12 Reviews for Math for MBA and GMAT Prep

By Christian W

Dec 15, 2021

The course is fine in terms of providing a summary overview of the basic math concepts used in an MBA program, however labelling this as "GMAT prep" is somewhat misleading.

By sherma m

Apr 7, 2021

The material that was supposed to be downloadable was not. Therefore, you could not practice the excel sheets.

2. There were NO moderators every checking the forum for questions

3. There was no way to see why you got an answer wrong due to lack of feedback

4. Some questions on quiz were incorrect

5. When support is contacted, they say that they will forward the concerns to the moderators, but there is never a response or resolution to the issue.

Disappointed by my experience. But the lecturer did well in explaining

By Héctor C C

Jul 20, 2021

Great explanations, a little bit too basic for MBA purposes

By Cyrille D

Apr 26, 2023

The course in good but I already knew what is taught inside.

By Stefan O

Feb 26, 2022

Tests that you can guess through endlessly, questions which are only hard because of how unclear the questions are, no feedback on the written assignments to check against, etc.

By Apiphany I

Apr 24, 2022

Dr. Smith explained everything so well. His teaching style made even complex concepts understandable very quickly with his ability to tie in real-world examples.

By Vy T

Jan 9, 2022

Thanks Professor Smith a lot for your interesting course. I have learned a lot and will utilize this for my next year MBA study.

By Fuad A

Aug 19, 2021

I am very happy to have completed the course. Many thanks to Professor T. Smith, Emory University and Coursera!

By Pooja C M

May 1, 2021

I learnt a lot thank you

By Zephorah G

Jun 28, 2021

:)

By Justin E

Sep 28, 2023

As I finished the course in roughly one day, I find this course to be underwhelming. The videos are good, the instructor covered the topics just fine, and nothing else to say there. I feel like there's more to be discussed like statistics as everything in the course is too basic. I don't really think there's enough stuff that should be covered. There should be more complex topics that are presumably relevant to MBA and GMAT such as integrations, hypothesis testing, probabilities, etc. The quizzes that were provided were mediocre, The final quiz on linear analysis is the worst one in terms of how poorly the questions and answers were written in my opinion. Despite of the two star rating, and the fact there's nearly 30 reviews. I would suggest people giving it a try, especially when you have Coursera plus and have free time to spare. It can be a good refresher to people those that are studying math rather it be linear function and liner regression in Algebra or derivates in calculus. By enrolling the course (and finishing the course), you'll be able to express your opinion on the course, and the content within this course can be improved upon.

By Jamie F

Nov 19, 2023

Bad quizzes that have wrong answers or missing information. Even though flagged multiple times over many years, still not fixed.