Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
4,232 ratings
1,051 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

MK

Sep 25, 2016

There is much more to MATLAB than what the course can cover. But It has definitely provided me with the necessary skills and confidence to use it in tackling the practical problems in the real world.

MS

Apr 08, 2019

Very good course, it has some really mind blowing problem sets. I would suggest everyone to hit the problems with a blank mind, i found completely different ways to solve them, and that was amazing.

Filter by:

1001 - 1021 of 1,021 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Ajay M

Jul 27, 2019

The course was really nicely structured and the assignment was almost completely related to the video tutorial. Though it would have been great if we had dealt more in image processing.

By CKboss

Aug 13, 2019

So easy... But the problem description of some homework assignments is very vague.

By DEEPAK K P

Sep 04, 2019

whenever i gets any confusion regarding any problem in matlab, u can just revisit it , then it gets clarified

By SUJASH D

Sep 18, 2019

good assignment and staff gives attention to all.

By Jiacheng Z

Nov 29, 2018

Too easy!!!!

By Royal M

Dec 28, 2018

course was good to begin with however a module on calculus will be of more help.

By Robertus A K P

Mar 20, 2017

Very helpful but sometimes it is too slow

By adnan m

May 26, 2018

YOU ARE GIVING DIFFICULT HOME WORKS

By Amreek S

Mar 08, 2017

Too many videos with repetitive content. Homework was much more complicated than the information given.

By Tiago G R

Jun 03, 2017

The course is very good but the assignments are very hard for beginners, sometimes you get almost lost, you don't know how to start.

The assignments level is very high compared to the lessons examples.

By Muhammad U

Jun 09, 2019

The last two assignments , image blur and echo generator were out of the scope , it took me alot of days to complete it. At least some videos related to these assignments should have been added

By Kieron H

Dec 04, 2017

The course videos are a highlight, with the instructor both authoritative and giving off a friendly aura.

However, the bulk of the course, the assignments, is atrocious, and was a real nightmare to slog through. The questions regularly require knowledge or techniques not covered elsewhere in the course, including some specialist Maths knowledge (this course assumes you have high level Maths, but this wasn't stated as a prerequisite going in). Most of the time the questions do not give any example function calls, and likewise the grader used for these assignments doesn't indicate what the answer it wants -is-, it just says the function was wrong. This led to a lot of frustration trying to discern what the question/grader wanted from me in the first place, rather than difficulty in figuring out how to actually make Matlab do what I needed.

Not only do a number of the questions assume you have advanced Mathematics knowledge, but a good number of them feel much more like Maths questions than programming questions. In these questions I spent all my time researching and figuring out mathematical formulae rather than learning anything about Matlab itself.

In short, I left this course drained and mostly relieved that it was finally over, with a poor impression of Matlab Online, and a feeling that I will be avoiding any further courses from Vanderbilt University.

By shreyansh k

Oct 31, 2018

not good i cant understant any thing need to inprove

By Eloy Y

Aug 14, 2017

Extremely difficult assignments for the conte

By Pamela P

Apr 27, 2018

The videos are good, but have no relationship to the homework problems. There are too many problems per week, and they are very difficult given there are no examples in either the videos or book that cover the material examined in the homework. The entire course was just frustrating.

By Vincent N

Sep 26, 2016

This course was ultimately frustrating to take. There is a gap in the material presented and the skill set needed to complete the assignments. Using optional methods to complete this course, such as to use the textbook and forums, is too time consuming (deciphering a text book) or insulting (forum mentor responses).

To to solve the assignments, it usually involved trying to 1. refreshing yourself in math concepts not used by a beginner or non-mathematician, 2. deciphering what exactly the poorly written questions were asking, 3. scouring the textbook or internet for functions or strategies never covered in the lecture, 4. having snarky and unhelpful remarks by mentors.

The unprofessional behavior of the mentors was especially hard to handle. Even from the early week's lectures we learned about semantics, and how simple mistyping could lead to programming errors, so I wrongly assumed the mentors would understand that some of us would probably make simple errors. For example, in the final homework I had a simple mistake, but since we cannot show code, it led to more frustration and a mentor basically just saying "we covered this already." I'm well aware of what we covered, but if someone is stuck on a problem, there needs to be a much better way of helping that person. I did not want to write in the forums after my initial foray in the forum led one mentor to just tell me "your logic is wrong", and the spout the same simple strategies of the lecture that could not help on the complex assignment.

There probably will not be anything fixed with this course since it seems like it has been the same for years now. Please fix the questions, stop using Project Euler, and let people directly message code to mentors. Will probably save time rather than try to blindly (and frustratingly) explain code over and over again. Ultimately, I felt that unless someone either has previous experience in coding, or has no work to do other than to do this course, it still is not worth it to just obtain a certificate.

By Saiful A

Aug 30, 2016

Boring Professor

By Avanish K

Sep 30, 2017

very easy course. was expecting something more challenging.

By Eric X

Nov 24, 2017

Matlab license not working, how to complete this course.

By Juha K

Sep 21, 2016

Course contained unbelievable amount of silly busywork that has no place being implemented in MATLAB, while forbidding the use of most useful built in functions. At no point during the course was any of the MATLAB's strengths -- like easy solving of linear systems or vectorized operations, even suggested upon.

Furthermore, the course has unhealthy interest in dates and calendars - again of course disabling all the built in tools.

By Desirae

Aug 22, 2019

said i had a free 12 week license, but i could not get access to the license.