Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB by Vanderbilt University

4.8
stars
13,841 ratings
3,675 reviews

About the Course

This course teaches computer programming to those with little to no previous experience. It uses the programming system and language called MATLAB to do so because it is easy to learn, versatile and very useful for engineers and other professionals. MATLAB is a special-purpose language that is an excellent choice for writing moderate-size programs that solve problems involving the manipulation of numbers. The design of the language makes it possible to write a powerful program in a few lines. The problems may be relatively complex, while the MATLAB programs that solve them are relatively simple: relative, that is, to the equivalent program written in a general-purpose language, such as C++ or Java. As a result, MATLAB is being used in a wide variety of domains from the natural sciences, through all disciplines of engineering, to finance, and beyond, and it is heavily used in industry. Hence, a solid background in MATLAB is an indispensable skill in today’s job market. Nevertheless, this course is not a MATLAB tutorial. It is an introductory programming course that uses MATLAB to illustrate general concepts in computer science and programming. Students who successfully complete this course will become familiar with general concepts in computer science, gain an understanding of the general concepts of programming, and obtain a solid foundation in the use of MATLAB. Students taking the course will get a MATLAB Online license free of charge for the duration of the course. The students are encouraged to consult the eBook that this course is based on. More information about these resources can be found on the Resources menu on the right....

Top reviews

DA
Jun 5, 2020

Instructor of this course Mike Fitzpatrick is a very good teacher who encourage students to do something new and interesting.\n\nI really enjoyed learning this course and learned new skills in MATLAB.

KB
Jun 23, 2020

I would like to thank vanderbilt university for providing such a wonderful course and i am much impressed by the use of the basic matrices in each and every programming purpose.thank you again!!!!:)))

Filter by:

1076 - 1100 of 3,626 Reviews for Introduction to Programming with MATLAB

By Shreejit S

Jul 15, 2020

its very intresting with matlab , i have enjoyed the course and learned lot of things that may help me now thank you courser

By Ekene E

Apr 19, 2020

I will never regret taking this course. The instructor's wonderful informal style just made coding in MATLAB a lot more fun!

By Meer Z

Apr 5, 2020

I have learned alot from this course. Thank you so much specially the instructor has an excellent way of teaching. Good job.

By Matt A

Mar 29, 2020

A very good introduction course that builds upon your learning with good interactive resources, videos, quizzes and problems

By Ali H H A

Jun 22, 2019

It is very useful course to let you start improve yourself in Matlab, and it will encourage you to improve your skills in it

By Ankita N

Oct 2, 2016

Very well thought out and methodical approach. Assignments are in accordance with the lectures and challenges in a good way.

By kushagra t

Oct 13, 2020

Beautifully designed course for beginners to learn from basics. Assignments helped a lot in practicing the concepts taught.

By Benlaribi H

Sep 18, 2020

Thank you so much for this course, that gives me the initiative basic of Matlab, so thank you for this

High-level course.

By Rickey M

Aug 10, 2020

Great instructors and approachable mentors thru Mathworks/Matlab. Made learning to program both challenging and attainable.

By Iho L

Jul 16, 2020

Great introduction to mathlab, really helpful and assignments were doable! loved it. Also loved the resemblance with python

By Lisa M

Jun 19, 2020

Wonderful instructors. The tutorials and challenging questions were a good intro to MATLAB. Definitely a course worth doing

By Deenadayalan P

Jun 15, 2020

The instructor is highly talented and material is easy to grasp.I recommend this course to all beginners and intermediates.

By Ankit P R

Jun 1, 2020

I am a Graduate Student in Chemical Engineering at Texas Tech University. This is a very important and very helpful course.

By K G Z

Apr 9, 2020

The course content is excellent. The instructor explains each and every step involved and also gives handy tips and tricks.

By Syed K

Nov 30, 2020

this course was really great. it helped me a lot in learning the software. I will recommend this course to others as well.

By Antonio S C

Sep 25, 2020

Muy útil, dinámico y aprendes muchas cosas nuevas. Yo no sabía nada de MATLAB y he aprendido a hacer bastantes cosas. 5/5.

By Alvin A

Sep 19, 2020

The lecturer clearly explain the theory. The problem in this course not too hard but it's train you to thinking logically.

By Amy C

Jul 13, 2020

I learned a lot from this course! The lectures were good, and I liked the interface for submitting the Matlab assignments.

By Shreyas K

Jul 3, 2020

Addition of some lectures on plotting and application based practical problems will be even more helpful for the students.

By Dr. Y J M S

Jun 28, 2020

It was a wonderful learning, I thank my instructor Prof. Mike for teaching in a very simple way how to program with MATLAB

By Mrudula S

May 31, 2020

This is a really good initiative. I learnt a lot, that too sitting at home during the lock down times. Thank you so much!!

By karthik n s

Jun 26, 2018

A really informative course with loads of assignments to really test our understanding of both the software and our logic.

By Jason

Jan 26, 2018

The course is great to a certain degree, but the homework is somewhat difficult, which is not so easy for the new learner~

By Shounak D

Jan 24, 2018

Excellent course for people new to Matlab and for anyone who wants to develop their programming skills.Highly recommended.

By Ahmed

Jun 12, 2017

Thank you for the amazing course, The only thing is I had to run all videos on 2X, it was going a bit too slow for me lol.