Chevron Left
Back to Matrix Algebra for Engineers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Matrix Algebra for Engineers by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.8
200 ratings
57 reviews

About the Course

This course is all about matrices, and concisely covers the linear algebra that an engineer should know. We define matrices and how to add and multiply them, and introduce some special types of matrices. We describe the Gaussian elimination algorithm used to solve systems of linear equations and the corresponding LU decomposition of a matrix. We explain the concept of vector spaces and define the main vocabulary of linear algebra. We develop the theory of determinants and use it to solve the eigenvalue problem. After each video, there are problems to solve and I have tried to choose problems that exemplify the main idea of the lecture. I try to give enough problems for students to solidify their understanding of the material, but not so many that students feel overwhelmed and drop out. I do encourage students to attempt the given problems, but if they get stuck, full solutions can be found in the lecture notes for the course. The mathematics in this matrix algebra course is presented at the level of an advanced high school student, but typically students would take this course after completing a university-level single variable calculus course. There are no derivatives or integrals in this course, but student's are expected to have a certain level of mathematical maturity. Nevertheless, anyone who wants to learn the basics of matrix algebra is welcome to join. Lecture notes may be downloaded at https://bookboon.com/en/matrix-algebra-for-engineers-ebook or http://www.math.ust.hk/~machas/matrix-algebra-for-engineers.pdf Watch the course overview video at https://youtu.be/IZcyZHomFQc...

Top reviews

J

Mar 12, 2019

Es muy bueno el curso de verdad que lo recomiendo mucho para todos aquellos estudiantes que cursan Álgebra Lineal ya que tiene todas las herramientas necesarias para aprender esa materia

RH

Nov 07, 2018

Very well-prepared and presented course on matrix/linear algebra operations, with emphasis on engineering considerations. Lecture notes with examples in PDF form are especially helpful.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 57 Reviews for Matrix Algebra for Engineers

By Joel M

Jun 13, 2019

Jeff Chasnov teaches matrix algebra in a way that avoids almost all abstraction. He simplifies things, and presents tangible examples. This is a great preparation course for studying systems of linear differential equations as well.

By James B

Jun 06, 2019

Professor Jeffrey Chasnov patiently demonstrates and explains many sorts of common matrix operations. The practice problems are quite useful. I enjoyed the course and look forward to going through his next course, Differential Equations for Engineers.

By Gaurav V

Jun 05, 2019

One of the finest and well-structured course I have ever taken on Matrix Algebra. Professors Chasnov's way of teaching will certainly make you fall in love with matrices. The course starts from scratch and then cover some advanced topics in linear algebra also. One of the most exciting thing about this course is it has the answer to all the question except the grades quizzes to understand your learning of the subject.

By Jeff B

May 29, 2019

Excellent course! Lectures were succinct and illuminating. I enjoyed taking it and learned some new concepts along the way. Highly recommended. Any chance a multivariate calculus course is coming?Thanks!

By Vítor R

May 26, 2019

Jeffrey Chasnov is a very charismatic fellow and an outstanding instructor. Lessons were very concise and clutter free. He made a great effort of bringing us engineers (some in formation, some brushing up concepts) the best possible approach for the topics explored. The companion book (the electronic document provided) is the best supplementary material I’ve come across for a MOOC. When someone cares, it shows. It truly shows.

By Tak F F

Jul 17, 2019

The course has short and easy-to-understand explanations to all topics with solid examples to support the view. The course also provided appropriate exercises for practicing and help you to quickly understand the logic behind it. Very recommended!

By 胡齐琦

Jul 15, 2019

The presentations of the lecturer are very clear with support of those simple but vivid examples. I do get a better understanding of linear algebra. This course is kind of short, only the core ideas are introduced. Many questiona of mine is unsolved especially the whys behind the matrices. I will continue to learn to a better grasp of the matrices.

By Saman A

Jul 10, 2019

Very clear and precise teaching material and videos. Concise explanations of the key ingredients of matrix algebra. Thanks.

By Omer F U

Jul 05, 2019

I THINK THISSUBJECT IS VERY FUNNY

By Issam B

Jul 03, 2019

It's clear

By Rajeev N

Jul 03, 2019

This is a really good class to get started on to the world of Matrix Algebra. A little knowledge of vectors would help greatly but not necessary. Writing notes while Jeff explains , helps a great deal with quizzes.

Jeff explains the material well in a very patient way. The quizzes are challenging and at the same time not too easy or difficult. Quizzes are very well designed to reinforce the material being explained by Jeff before.

PS: Great Class.

By Nguyen K T

Jun 30, 2019

It's very useful math preparation for learning Machine Learning

By George C

Jun 23, 2019

Very good course -- nicely paced and everything is explained well!

By Kenza G

Jun 23, 2019

Jeffrey R. Chasnov, is a very good teacher. He teaches very clearly, enthusiastically and answer efficiently to the questions. We approach fundamental concepts, step by step, in a way to have a big picture in the end. The exercises help to better understand and assimilate the lectures. Thank you!

I strongly recommend this course to people who have, at least, a high school level in mathematics and want to get a full introduction in Matrix Algebra.

By Leonardo M d L

Jun 18, 2019

Absolutely amazing! Professor Chasnov, you demonstrated how to introduce Linear Algebra brilliantly! My congratulations!

By Chris H

Jun 17, 2019

This course was absolutely fantastic!

By IssacTien

May 26, 2019

难度不太平均

By Haider A

May 20, 2019

Good course for beginners!

By Chris L

May 17, 2019

This course gives a really good overview of matrix algebra. The practice problems and quizzes follow the lectures pretty closely and allowed me to directly apply the lecture topics. I'm using this course as a starting point for further linear algebra studies, and feel that this course has prepared me and has made me even more interested in the subject. This was a very enjoyable course for me. Professor Chasnov did an excellent job and I hope to take his other courses!

By Hector G J L

May 12, 2019

Very good, new things I learned and thank you very much

By Dennis B

May 07, 2019

Very good course

By Sisi Z

May 05, 2019

Really excellent courses with very concise and clear explanation! I've never learned any linear/matrix algebra before, but Dr. Jeffery Chasnov explained so well for me to understand. I've learned a lot from this course! Thank you!

By Christophe S

Apr 29, 2019

Very useful

By Praveen K

Apr 24, 2019

New type of programing

It is good

By LIU J

Apr 17, 2019

The content is very detailed, and the exercises are complementary to the lectures. But the teacher's intonation is too mild, which makes it difficult to concentrate. I hope the teaching skills could be improved. Overall, This is a good course and I really learned a lot.