Chevron Left
Back to Matrix Algebra for Engineers

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Matrix Algebra for Engineers by The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology

4.8
287 ratings
86 reviews

About the Course

This course is all about matrices, and concisely covers the linear algebra that an engineer should know. There are 38 short lecture videos, with a few problems to solve after each lecture. After each topic, there is a short practice quiz. Solutions to the problems and practice quizzes can be found in the lecture notes. At the end of each week, there is an assessed quiz. The mathematics in this course is presented at the level of an advanced high school student, but typically students should take this course after completing a university-level single variable calculus course. There are no derivatives or integrals in this course, but students are expected to have attained a sufficient level of mathematical maturity. Nevertheless, anyone who wants to learn the basics of matrix algebra is welcome to join....

Top reviews

RH

Nov 07, 2018

Very well-prepared and presented course on matrix/linear algebra operations, with emphasis on engineering considerations. Lecture notes with examples in PDF form are especially helpful.

RZ

Oct 06, 2019

The professor’s dedication and explanation of the problem are great. This course is a basic course for advanced mathematics for engineers and is a good introduction to linear algebra.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 86 Reviews for Matrix Algebra for Engineers

By Joel M

Jun 13, 2019

Jeff Chasnov teaches matrix algebra in a way that avoids almost all abstraction. He simplifies things, and presents tangible examples. This is a great preparation course for studying systems of linear differential equations as well.

By Vítor R

Nov 25, 2019

Jeffrey Chasnov is a very charismatic fellow and an outstanding instructor. The lessons were very concise and clutter-free. He made a great effort of bringing us engineers (some still in formation, some brushing up concepts) the best possible approach for the topics explored. The companion book (the electronic document provided) is the best supplementary material I’ve come across for a MOOC. When someone cares, it shows. It truly shows.

By Robert H

Nov 07, 2018

Very well-prepared and presented course on matrix/linear algebra operations, with emphasis on engineering considerations. Lecture notes with examples in PDF form are especially helpful.

By James B

Jun 06, 2019

Professor Jeffrey Chasnov patiently demonstrates and explains many sorts of common matrix operations. The practice problems are quite useful. I enjoyed the course and look forward to going through his next course, Differential Equations for Engineers.

By Swati A

Apr 06, 2019

Very informative and well organized. The faculty is very responsive when it comes to queries. This is the second course that I have taken by this faculty. Looking forward to more!

By Gaurav V

Jun 05, 2019

One of the finest and well-structured course I have ever taken on Matrix Algebra. Professors Chasnov's way of teaching will certainly make you fall in love with matrices. The course starts from scratch and then cover some advanced topics in linear algebra also. One of the most exciting thing about this course is it has the answer to all the question except the grades quizzes to understand your learning of the subject.

By Jeff B

May 29, 2019

Excellent course! Lectures were succinct and illuminating. I enjoyed taking it and learned some new concepts along the way. Highly recommended. Any chance a multivariate calculus course is coming?Thanks!

By César J N R

Dec 03, 2018

It is a really nice course, mixing good content and examples within the lectures. It challenges you with exercises that will let you reinforce your knowledge. I couldn't have this course on my degree and I needed it. Also really great professor.

By Duc V K T

Dec 30, 2018

This was an interesting course, and I learned a lot about matrix algebra. I also took another course of him, which is Fibonacci Numbers and the Golden Ratio. This is the second course of professor Jeffrey Chasnov that I took, and I really like both of his courses. I hope that professor Jeffrey Chasnov will create some more interesting math courses in the future.

By Divyanshu T

Jan 05, 2019

Loved the practice problems! This course gives a solid foundation to Linear Algebra.

By Chi L L

Feb 06, 2019

A very good course that understanding the needs of science and engineering and belance between length proof and introduction of key main concepts.

By Cameron M

Feb 07, 2019

This worked as an excellent refresher course! I appreciated the practice exercises and the associated study guide.

By Nitin A

Jan 17, 2019

Insight into different structures of Matrices, how to work with them, basic linear Algebra skills

By xuening

Jan 22, 2019

very well explained the key concepts of matrix

By Jaron v G S

Feb 24, 2019

Yes, I spend 30 hours a week but I finished it in 2 weekends. Good course, a lot of video, going from the base to more complex subjects building up.

By Kutalmis B

Feb 27, 2019

very good indeed

By xhungab

Mar 02, 2019

A good course for me.

By Christos G

Mar 03, 2019

Chasnov is outstanding! You will love the course but above all you will adore the way Chasnov marches on through the course and you are acquiring knowledge... He is a real instructor!

By Vineeth P

Feb 21, 2019

A wonderful course for those who want to start Matrices from scratch. The course covers all the necessary things an engineer requires.

By GAETANO P

Feb 21, 2019

Very nice course. Really well teached. The materials and exercises are well preented. Prof. Chasnov has explained the fundamental concepts of linear algebra in a clear and friendly way.Excellent course.

By JORGE E M L V

Mar 12, 2019

Es muy bueno el curso de verdad que lo recomiendo mucho para todos aquellos estudiantes que cursan Álgebra Lineal ya que tiene todas las herramientas necesarias para aprender esa materia

By NAVEEN S V E

Mar 14, 2019

This course was really helpfull and i learned well due to this course.

By ASHISH T Y

Jan 15, 2019

best course. this course just take up your level of understanding

By Stephen M

Nov 15, 2018

Excellent course, thanks so much! Really like the fact that the videos were backed by a comprehensive set lecture notes with problems AND solutions, including some proofs. This made consuming the concepts much easier. All in all a lot to swallow in this course, but great to get acquainted again (20+ years) with this subject matter. You have an excellent manner of teaching, Jeff. Thank you!

By James M

Oct 19, 2018

Very good course, I've done bits of matrix algebra before but wanted a nice refresher for my needs and this gave me that. Week 3 is a tough one but the mix of short videos and lots of examples helped me through it. The pdf lecture notes are very helpful.