Chevron Left
Back to Modern Art & Ideas

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Modern Art & Ideas by The Museum of Modern Art

4.8
stars
6,352 ratings

About the Course

Modern Art & Ideas is designed for anyone interested in learning more about modern and contemporary art. You will look at art through a variety of themes, including Places and Spaces, Art and Identity, Transforming Everyday Objects, and Art and Society. Each week kicks off with a video that connects key works of art to the theme. You’ll also have access to interviews with artists, designers, and others who speak about their materials, processes, and sources of inspiration. Through the discussion forum prompts you will also have the opportunity to connect with other learners and explore how these themes resonate with you....

Top reviews

AM

Jan 14, 2018

It has been a very wonderful course. I love the museum as a cultural space and now I love it more for its commitment to online education and giving us the opportunity to learn in different countries.

TT

Jun 7, 2020

Really enjoyed this course! Well organized/developed, and even for a museum buff, like me, offered great ideas, and perspectives in ‘looking’ and ‘understanding’ art, and particular artist’s process.

Filter by:

1576 - 1600 of 1,600 Reviews for Modern Art & Ideas

By Ammar J R

Sep 3, 2017

such a great experience !

By Emil

May 12, 2020

Very light course.

By Joy S

Jan 28, 2017

Goes pretty quick

By Marco M

Jan 8, 2021

Very nice!

By Irma R

Sep 5, 2015

The concept of this course is unique and pretty interesting, but videos are too short, basic and non-specific, they have vague connection with the rest of the materials. And the design of the tests and assignment is just awful. The questions with multiple choice work wrong: marking all the right answers is not appropriate, you must choose the "all of the above" option, but it is wrong because of formal logic. The correct option here is only to match all the answers and the "all of the above" line. Also many questions are debatable, and there is no answers in the materials for the course. And, finally, the uploading of the last assignment was just impossible for more than a week, and I don't know if it will ever be possible. Bad experience.

By Anthony J S

Oct 13, 2015

Nice idea, but too many technical difficulties. I tried to complete quiz 4 nine times and eventually passed the deadline. And in order to submit my final assignment I had to embedded my images into a word doc and export it as a PDF... I won't get extra marks for being able to work THAT out! ; )

I did enjoy the rest of the course though. Thanks for all your efforts.

By Allison M P

Dec 13, 2020

I was very disappointed by the format of the class. The content was FABULOUS, but the platform needs work. How can you advertise an online art class and then note that you are unable to share images. I received feedback that the peers didn't like the links!! Those were the instructions.

By Angel W

Feb 18, 2016

This course gives introduction of plenty of artworks from MoMA, but it will be more interesting if it shows more details and explanations about the artwork itself or the background of the time and the society.

By Krisztian S

Dec 30, 2015

This course is solely for teachers, on how to tech art to elementary school pupils. Very basic. Most of the content is available on the MoMA's website. Disappointing.

By Stephen R

Oct 4, 2015

A really interesting course on a fascinating and often misunderstood topic. It could be vastly improved by doing away with the peer assignment review requirement.

By F. S M B

Jan 19, 2016

Quiz was not well structured and title suggested a different idea than what the course was really about. Its a teachers guide.

By Joanne P

Sep 13, 2020

Some of it was very interesting. But also very repetitive. And not really an academic “course.”

By Marha A S

Jul 1, 2019

PEER GRADING IS SO SLOW WE DON'T GET IT AS WE WISH

By inga

Aug 10, 2023

I LIKED THIS COURSE BUT NEED MORE THEMES

By 向金政

Mar 14, 2021

视频播放不了

By Laís L

Jul 6, 2017

Good.

By davide

Dec 30, 2015

so so

By Aishwarya S

Jul 27, 2020

Good

By Bart V

Mar 18, 2022

course is insightful but many issues with the tool, the end assignment also malfunctions. If you want a serious certificate, best to do another one. also, billed me without me wanting to do so

By Nandita S

Nov 24, 2022

I would not recommend this course. It is not engaging at all and also talks about Art in a very mundane manner. Compared to other online courses it is very dull and falls short.

By LIU Y

May 25, 2024

why i can't get the certificate? really sucks!!!

By Irena

Nov 11, 2022

DO not recommend at all.

By Tee Y S

Apr 27, 2021

Cant unenroll course

By Ina S

Jan 19, 2021

not interactive

By Ilean S

Feb 7, 2019

no es para mi