Chevron Left
Back to Motivating Gen Z Learners: What Parents and Teachers Need to Know

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Motivating Gen Z Learners: What Parents and Teachers Need to Know by Nanyang Technological University, Singapore

4.8
stars
228 ratings

About the Course

The purpose of this course is to equip parents and educators with the knowledge of motivational theories and their application in real-life contexts. Following the storyline of two children, Bob and Sarah, course participants are presented with a variety of problem scenarios. These depict common motivational issues that the participants can resolve using the motivational principles described in the course. Through the various sessions, parents and educators will progressively build a repertoire of strategies that enable them to better understand the Gen Z learners and to enhance their motivation to learn. Course participants will also have the opportunity to check their own understanding through quizzes and to interact with one another through discussion forums. This course was created with the National Institute of Education at Nanyang Technological University, Singapore. About National Institute of Education (NIE) As an autonomous institute of the Nanyang Technological University, the National Institute of Education (NIE), Singapore, is Singapore’s national teacher education institute and plays a key role in the preparation of teachers and in the provision of teacher professional and school leadership development programmes. Its university-based teacher education programmes leverage the strong partnerships with the Ministry of Education and Singapore schools to develop teachers who are grounded in theory and strong in practice. As an institute within a world-class research university, NIE also offers rigorous graduate education in the form of masters and doctoral programmes for local and international students....

Top reviews

JJ

Aug 8, 2021

This course really helped me a lot. The lessons in this course are accompanied by a short recording so the learners will not be bored in reading it and it helped me a lot. perfect for visual learners

JP

Jan 23, 2021

This is a very helpful course for me as a teacher and as a parent. I gained a lot of insights on how to help motivate children to learn and also in guiding them to be self-regulated learners.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 69 Reviews for Motivating Gen Z Learners: What Parents and Teachers Need to Know

By noodleq c

Dec 5, 2021

I highly recommend this course to parents, educators and any body who wishes to know how motivation works. This course course provides a great head start on understanding motivation from various approaches: behaviorist, humanistic, cognitive & socio-cognitive and socio-cultural. Some parts of the course I have learned before but what really puts the learning in perspective is the clear examples provided in this short course. After showing examples, the strategies for application is suggested and it really is going to help me a lot in the upcoming academic year.

By Goh L X C

Aug 10, 2021

Thank you for the insightful course. I now know how to better manage students' motivation. One thing that can be improved is the organization of the materials where the definitions and the characteristics of the main theme can be discussed before discussing about the implications. I do like the discussion questions along the way as it allowed time for reflection.

By Ameeza I

Jun 9, 2021

Very beneficial for anyone wanting to understand children,students, and even ourselves better specifically when it comes to how we can change our mindset, what drives us, and much more. It's very informative and insightful, also very quick to go through the course as it's easily digestible.

By Fenty A

Jul 19, 2021

Thank you very much for giving knowledge about children that can help me in educating and directing children and can motivate children in the right way.

By nilarsan

Apr 6, 2021

This is a great course for all teachers and parents because we can learn strategies of how to motivate kids. Kids learn better when they are motivated.

By Bakhtiyar A

Nov 28, 2021

I learnt a lot about motivation. I am grateful for the course.

By Bless R S

Jun 2, 2022

This course is extremely helpful for parents and teachers in order for us to not just understand this generation's learners more but also learn how to help them learn more effectively and consistently. I highly recommend this course as it highlights enriching the learners' holistic development towards becoming a smarter, healthier, and more importantly a happier individual.

By Shurma F

Mar 18, 2021

I enjoyed this course. The points brought across and the techniques to be applied to assist teachers, parents and children to accomplish learning was carefully and clearly explained. I have definitely taken away a few pointers from here.

By Khaing S P

Nov 16, 2020

This course is very useful for those whose want to know how motivations work to each individual.And you will get to know how you are motivated and what strategies you can apply to your students or kids.I recommend to attend this course!

By Elsa M

Sep 18, 2022

This course is a must for every educator and parent.

Ito avoid mistake to demotivate and learn how to help the learners to be a better learner and achieve efficiently their goal and like studying.

Thank you for this course

By Kshomika E K

Oct 28, 2021

This course is a great way to understand the "Child psychology". It will help understanding the children will and help them out in the areas in which they are lagging behind. A very well organised and informative course.

By Valeria P R

Aug 31, 2020

This was a great course with useful and applicable information. I recommend all teachers and parents to take this because it really does help you understand how to motivate younger people + how to boost their confidence.

By Sridevi K

Feb 11, 2021

This is definitely a wonderful course that parents and teachers should take. They have clearly explained how to motivate our young learners and how they can develop the love for learning. Great work by the team !

By Noor B

Feb 22, 2023

This course was a great opportunity to learn new things about Z generation. I learned a lot of new thing. i was so motivated to learn the teaching strategies were so clear and content was so helpful . Thank you

By Ryan W

Aug 13, 2020

I feel that I learned a lot on this course and it is broken down into smaller parts very well. It uses a multimedia approach and asks you to discuss and think about things as you go along, which I really like.

By Jane E

Aug 9, 2021

This course really helped me a lot. The lessons in this course are accompanied by a short recording so the learners will not be bored in reading it and it helped me a lot. perfect for visual learners

By Jane M P

Jan 23, 2021

This is a very helpful course for me as a teacher and as a parent. I gained a lot of insights on how to help motivate children to learn and also in guiding them to be self-regulated learners.

By Jacquelyn B

Sep 25, 2022

Thank for those information from this course. I learned a lot that I can used in the classroom even in our house to apply those learning. I am happy to be one of your student.

By Kathleen C

Sep 13, 2022

I thought this course had a good balance of text and video and audio instruction that was engaging and easy to assimilate. The information was good and well paced.

By Johann B

Mar 3, 2022

The course had useful content which is interactively presented, meaning that it is more engaging than simply listening to boring video lectures.

By FARIDA S

Nov 1, 2020

The course is very helpful and useful to teachers and parents. I love how the lessons are presented in very interesting and interactive manner.

By Wyona B

Apr 15, 2021

This course is helpful for parents and teachers to help the student and their child. I love this! I highly recommend this course.

By Peta T

Aug 21, 2022

Enjoyed this course. Well planned and executed. Learned alot of valuable and applicable information and teaching strategies.

By Roula M

Apr 1, 2021

Engaging for both the novice and the professional. Well done to all those involved in putting this course together!

By PY

Dec 20, 2021

The course materials are clearly written and easy to understand, very effective as a self learning online course.