Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
3,996 ratings
706 reviews

About the Course

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Top reviews

DP

Nov 26, 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

SS

Aug 04, 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

Filter by:

226 - 250 of 706 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

By Dr. S S

Oct 19, 2020

Excellent course and I am happy that I had taken and able to do it. Thank you so much for the entire team.

By Mahrukh T

Oct 06, 2019

Amazing course to gain firm understanding of mathematical concepts underlying Machine Learning! Thank you.

By Chokdee S

Aug 14, 2019

It's really great course who want to study gradient decent using multivariate calculus from the ground up.

By Alphanso W

Dec 22, 2019

For the first time, I understand calculus. The explanations are clear and I am able to follow. Thank you.

By Eric

Jun 30, 2019

quite challenging. when get confused dont give up; look for other sources for explanations. great course.

By Ashlee H

Nov 23, 2019

Helpful look into the more specific details to the mathematics behind core concepts of machine learning.

By Edwin G P P

Oct 04, 2019

It is a very good course for learning about the basic mathematics for machine learning and python tools.

By Jens W

May 03, 2020

This course is very well build and keeps a perfect balance of being demanding without being frustrating

By Prerak S

Aug 15, 2018

Good Brush Up For The Reuired Mathematics tools for ML And Data Science as far as calculus is concerned

By Tan S G

Jun 27, 2020

a very good course if you look forward to specialize in the mathematics of the machine learning field.

By Lin T

Sep 03, 2019

Dr. Cooper explains the concepts clearly. The compelling graphics also provides good intuition for me.

By Deleted A

Jun 15, 2019

Helped me understand the underlying match concepts in machine learning and did help me professionally.

By Devamanyu H

May 02, 2019

This course provides a comprehensive overview of fundamental math and intuition used in optimization.

By DEEP C

Jun 10, 2020

i totally love this course which seems to understand about the NATURE

which we are IN..............

By Huang X

May 06, 2018

Really good course, I learned a lot from here. This course makes me feel that math is neat and cool.

By Tarun D

Oct 08, 2020

Excellent course for ML beginners and intermediate levels for diving into the core of mathematics .

By Christopher R

Apr 13, 2020

Down and dirty explanation of multivariate calc. I wish I had this prior to calc 3 back in the day.

By harish h

Mar 08, 2020

Excellent course for those who wish to learn maths behind some algorithms used in Machine Learning

By jinesh p

Apr 02, 2018

Everyone should take this course before jumping into machine learning algorithms and applications.

By Pritam C

Sep 20, 2020

Outstanding Calculus class with lot's of Knowledge I learned, I will apply in my research. Thanks

By Patrick L

Sep 09, 2018

Fantastic overview/refresher of multivariate calculus, with links to ML / neural nets throughout.

By Iurii S

Mar 26, 2018

Great introduction to Multivariate Calculus with a lot of visualizations to prop up the intuition

By ARNOLD T T C

Sep 04, 2020

muy bueno, aprendi otra manera de ver todos los conceptos de los temas que comprende este modulo

By sujit j

Aug 21, 2018

Got excellent understanding of gradient descent in case when there are multiple stationary point

By Mayank C

Jul 27, 2020

The instructors explains things so well, this course makes you understands concepts intutively.