Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
4,389 ratings
786 reviews

About the Course

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Top reviews

SS
Aug 3, 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

JT
Nov 12, 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

Filter by:

251 - 275 of 784 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

By José C V

Sep 18, 2020

Excellent course, i feel is very useful to develop applications with this ideas. Thanks for the lessons.

J.C.

By Aniruddh M

Sep 7, 2020

Wow! Things seemed to look difficult at some stage.

But algorithms came and saved the day every single time!

By Ng H

May 30, 2020

Excellent course on multivariate calculus, concepts are well taught and easy to understand by the professors

By Aleksey I

Apr 22, 2018

Great course. Might be missing a few small details that will be hopefully filled in for the next iterations.

By Mohammad S A

Nov 29, 2019

this is a very good course to learn machine learning basics. I will suggest this course to my friends also.

By Sivasankar S

Oct 19, 2020

Excellent course and I am happy that I had taken and able to do it. Thank you so much for the entire team.

By Mahrukh T

Oct 6, 2019

Amazing course to gain firm understanding of mathematical concepts underlying Machine Learning! Thank you.

By Chokdee S

Aug 13, 2019

It's really great course who want to study gradient decent using multivariate calculus from the ground up.

By Alphanso W

Dec 22, 2019

For the first time, I understand calculus. The explanations are clear and I am able to follow. Thank you.

By Eric

Jun 30, 2019

quite challenging. when get confused dont give up; look for other sources for explanations. great course.

By Ashlee H

Nov 23, 2019

Helpful look into the more specific details to the mathematics behind core concepts of machine learning.

By Edwin G P P

Oct 3, 2019

It is a very good course for learning about the basic mathematics for machine learning and python tools.

By Jens W

May 3, 2020

This course is very well build and keeps a perfect balance of being demanding without being frustrating

By Prerak S

Aug 15, 2018

Good Brush Up For The Reuired Mathematics tools for ML And Data Science as far as calculus is concerned

By Tan S G

Jun 27, 2020

a very good course if you look forward to specialize in the mathematics of the machine learning field.

By Lin T

Sep 2, 2019

Dr. Cooper explains the concepts clearly. The compelling graphics also provides good intuition for me.

By Deleted A

Jun 15, 2019

Helped me understand the underlying match concepts in machine learning and did help me professionally.

By Franck B

Feb 21, 2021

Very dynamic and clear instructors, a good way to understand or refresh knowledges in a pleasant way.

By Devamanyu H

May 2, 2019

This course provides a comprehensive overview of fundamental math and intuition used in optimization.

By DEEP C

Jun 10, 2020

i totally love this course which seems to understand about the NATURE

which we are IN..............

By Huang X

May 6, 2018

Really good course, I learned a lot from here. This course makes me feel that math is neat and cool.

By Tarun D

Oct 8, 2020

Excellent course for ML beginners and intermediate levels for diving into the core of mathematics .

By Christopher R

Apr 13, 2020

Down and dirty explanation of multivariate calc. I wish I had this prior to calc 3 back in the day.

By harish h

Mar 8, 2020

Excellent course for those who wish to learn maths behind some algorithms used in Machine Learning

By jinesh p

Apr 2, 2018

Everyone should take this course before jumping into machine learning algorithms and applications.