Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
5,574 ratings

About the Course

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Top reviews

SS

Aug 3, 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

DP

Nov 25, 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

Filter by:

276 - 300 of 993 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

By Lijie Y

Jan 6, 2022

I think this course is really aiming at algorithm that can be applied in machine learning, which is to me very practical.

By Yang Q

Apr 3, 2021

I think a very good course to review multi-variate calculus. Lectures are based on high-level concepts, which are great.

By Suraj S K

May 19, 2020

Very enthusiastic professors and a beautiful approach to learn some of the applications of Calculus in Machine Learning.

By Deleted A

Aug 14, 2019

Efficient tutors who were able to inculcate interest in me towards finding out the roots of machine learning algorithms.

By Aníbal G G

Jun 21, 2020

Amazing course. Simply amazing. The way the topics are explained makes fall in love with math (if you haven't already).

By Sumith N

Oct 9, 2019

Really Challenging courses. The Last three weeks were really difficult to complete but it really gave some detail idea.

By Vibhutesh K S

May 17, 2019

I think neural networks was unnecessary. It was very concise to understood by anybody without prior knowledge about it,

By Rong D

Sep 5, 2018

Totally like it!!!! Really fundamental and both of the two lecturers have made every important key points quite clear.

By James A P J

May 10, 2021

Concise overview of key aspects of multi-variate calculus. A useful intro to applying calculus to machine learning.

By Henok T

Oct 17, 2020

Very clear videos, awesome exercises, great instructors. A must have for anyone interested in Ml and math in general.

By Mithun B

Oct 15, 2018

Really liked the course. If there are more of neural network course that Imperial College can come up would be best.

By Nils E

Mar 31, 2024

The course is excellent! It is very well structured and the professors are excellent at conveying complex concepts.

By Jose G G M

Apr 17, 2021

A good introduction about gradient descent, theoretical and programming in python in a basic but interesting level.

By Rajesh S K T

Jun 23, 2020

Very nice course!! Multivariate calculus application towards machine learning is

amazingly tailored !!! Good one!!!

By KAMASANI V R

Jun 19, 2020

This course helped me in learning key concepts of calculus like gradient, gradient descent, jacobian, hessaine etc.

By sameen n

Feb 22, 2019

It us good course and gave me basic understanding of multivariate calculus. It provide insight of gradient descent.

By Imran S

Dec 2, 2018

Well explained and I would say also https://www.mathsisfun.com/algebra/taylor-series.html to get some more details.

By Bruno G

Jul 5, 2020

Nice course, but you should check the english subtitles, they are wrong 5% of the time and also have grammar typos

By Andrés A G R

Mar 24, 2020

Excelente curso, su fortaleza radica en la claridad de las explicaciones y en la forma en que aplica los conceptos

By Hamza A

Oct 23, 2018

This one is a very good course and also very well organized. I also have used khan academy for making things clear

By Xiaoyuan C

Jun 4, 2018

Fabulous applied mathematics course! It is so interesting that I cannot believe that it is a mathamatical course.

By Tim s

Apr 16, 2022

i like this course. this course was teach you from fundamental of calculus until applied in numerical. i love it

By Carlos C

Jan 17, 2021

It is the best mathematics course, I apply my knowledge about calculus in real problems. It was great experience

By Nelson S

Feb 12, 2020

A very good course. Also, It is a very important for those who want to know how machine learning algorithms work.

By Harsha V

Aug 9, 2020

Excellent course. Starts from basics and scales up to complex topics like gradient descent and linear regression