Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
5,574 ratings

About the Course

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Top reviews

JT

Nov 12, 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

SS

Aug 3, 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

Filter by:

326 - 350 of 993 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

By Deleted A

Jun 15, 2019

Helped me understand the underlying match concepts in machine learning and did help me professionally.

By Franck B

Feb 21, 2021

Very dynamic and clear instructors, a good way to understand or refresh knowledges in a pleasant way.

By Devamanyu H

May 2, 2019

This course provides a comprehensive overview of fundamental math and intuition used in optimization.

By DEEP C

Jun 10, 2020

i totally love this course which seems to understand about the NATURE

which we are IN..............

By Huang X

May 6, 2018

Really good course, I learned a lot from here. This course makes me feel that math is neat and cool.

By Afsin Y

Feb 26, 2024

Challenging, great intuition and method of teaching. Exams are just as educating, I love the exams.

By Tarun D

Oct 8, 2020

Excellent course for ML beginners and intermediate levels for diving into the core of mathematics .

By Chris

Apr 13, 2020

Down and dirty explanation of multivariate calc. I wish I had this prior to calc 3 back in the day.

By harish h

Mar 8, 2020

Excellent course for those who wish to learn maths behind some algorithms used in Machine Learning

By Jinesh P

Apr 2, 2018

Everyone should take this course before jumping into machine learning algorithms and applications.

By Pritam C

Sep 20, 2020

Outstanding Calculus class with lot's of Knowledge I learned, I will apply in my research. Thanks

By Patrick L

Sep 9, 2018

Fantastic overview/refresher of multivariate calculus, with links to ML / neural nets throughout.

By Iurii S

Mar 26, 2018

Great introduction to Multivariate Calculus with a lot of visualizations to prop up the intuition

By Arnold T T C

Sep 4, 2020

muy bueno, aprendi otra manera de ver todos los conceptos de los temas que comprende este modulo

By sujit j

Aug 21, 2018

Got excellent understanding of gradient descent in case when there are multiple stationary point

By Mayank C

Jul 27, 2020

The instructors explains things so well, this course makes you understands concepts intutively.

By JITHIN P J

Apr 23, 2020

It was a Nice journey throughout the course. gained so much of knowledge and hand on experiance

By Mukul K

Oct 14, 2018

it was a bit longer and tougher than expected, but I enjoyed it and learnt a lot nonetheless!!!

By imran s

Sep 29, 2018

This course helped me understand back propagation in mathematical sense. I highly recommend it.

By Toan L T

Sep 29, 2018

A great course. Good for brushing up on Calculus.

High hope for the next course in the series.

By Sidharth P

Jun 15, 2020

Enjoyed every bit if it,highly recommended for the useful insight seeker in Machine learning.

By Mayank

Dec 3, 2020

This course cleared so many concepts and enabled me to further master the subject on my own.

By Ron S

Sep 25, 2020

Great combination of linear algebra and differential calculus in a machine learning context.

By Max W

Apr 5, 2020

little fast moving, probably should be familiar with calculus before taking , great course!

By Andrew

Mar 27, 2019

Quality course that will leave you feeling confident in multivariate calculus and analytics.