Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
5,574 ratings

About the Course

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Top reviews

JT

Nov 12, 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

SS

Aug 3, 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

Filter by:

301 - 325 of 993 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

By Dan A

May 9, 2020

Excellently taught, clearly explained and assignments always felt intuitive with the explanation from the videos

By Serge K

Dec 12, 2018

I love the assignments. It was fun being able to translate mathematics equations and algorithms into python code

By Bikram M

Jan 2, 2023

Exceptionally well designed course to give an intuition about Multivariate calculus for ML. Thank you Coursera.

By Dinesh T

Jul 24, 2021

Great instructors and the presentation making complex concepts clear with proper graphical tools and animation.

By Ghanem A

Apr 18, 2021

Topics covered are all relevant and clearly show how it all fits together for the purpose of solving ML models

By Shraavan S

Jan 6, 2019

The intuition is explained very clearly. Graphs in 2D and 3D are used effectively to clearly express the idea.

By José C V

Sep 18, 2020

Excellent course, i feel is very useful to develop applications with this ideas. Thanks for the lessons.

J.C.

By J Y

Jan 30, 2023

The lectures are fun and it doesn't take a long time to go through the whole course. I finished in two days.

By Ani M

Sep 7, 2020

Wow! Things seemed to look difficult at some stage.

But algorithms came and saved the day every single time!

By Ng H

May 30, 2020

Excellent course on multivariate calculus, concepts are well taught and easy to understand by the professors

By Aleksey I

Apr 22, 2018

Great course. Might be missing a few small details that will be hopefully filled in for the next iterations.

By Sohail A

Nov 29, 2019

this is a very good course to learn machine learning basics. I will suggest this course to my friends also.

By Sivasankar S

Oct 19, 2020

Excellent course and I am happy that I had taken and able to do it. Thank you so much for the entire team.

By Mahrukh T

Oct 6, 2019

Amazing course to gain firm understanding of mathematical concepts underlying Machine Learning! Thank you.

By Chokdee S

Aug 13, 2019

It's really great course who want to study gradient decent using multivariate calculus from the ground up.

By Alphanso W

Dec 22, 2019

For the first time, I understand calculus. The explanations are clear and I am able to follow. Thank you.

By Eric

Jun 30, 2019

quite challenging. when get confused dont give up; look for other sources for explanations. great course.

By Chandan K

Mar 10, 2023

Great course on Multivariate Calculus. Really made concepts clear. Sam way of teaching is very intutive.

By Ashlee H

Nov 23, 2019

Helpful look into the more specific details to the mathematics behind core concepts of machine learning.

By Edwin G P P

Oct 3, 2019

It is a very good course for learning about the basic mathematics for machine learning and python tools.

By Aby M S

Jan 17, 2023

Amazing course, to learn the fundamental mathematics behind machine learning and multivariate calculus.

By Jens W

May 3, 2020

This course is very well build and keeps a perfect balance of being demanding without being frustrating

By Prerak S

Aug 15, 2018

Good Brush Up For The Reuired Mathematics tools for ML And Data Science as far as calculus is concerned

By Tan S G

Jun 27, 2020

a very good course if you look forward to specialize in the mathematics of the machine learning field.

By Tianran L (

Sep 2, 2019

Dr. Cooper explains the concepts clearly. The compelling graphics also provides good intuition for me.