Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
4,026 ratings
714 reviews

About the Course

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Top reviews

SS

Aug 04, 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

DP

Nov 26, 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

Filter by:

176 - 200 of 714 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

By Yuanfang

Aug 24, 2019

Prof. Dye's presentation is so polished - the examples are exactly the type to help cover much ground, while building a strong intuition.

By Maged F Y A

May 14, 2018

a very good explanation of the required calculus basics for machine learning. moreover, it opens the way for the wide optimization world.

By Yuchi C

Feb 23, 2020

Very well structured and nicely explained. The assignments / quizzes are very helpful for deepening and strengthening the understanding.

By María J S G

Aug 10, 2019

Muy adecuado si estamos interesados en introducirnos en el mundo de los algoritmos usados en inteligencia artificial y machine learning

By Kovendhan V

Jul 11, 2020

This is a must course to be taken up for AIML enthusiasts. Will greatly help before listening to Andrew Ng in Machine Learning course.

By Jean P F M

Jun 28, 2020

Great course!! It was challenging, but as any good challenge the reward is worth it. Thanks for the opportunity of learning with you!!

By Abhilash V

Mar 27, 2018

Good short videos and have great some practical assignments in python.A good intro and can be a good refresher to calculus for you.

By Jeferson S

Mar 23, 2019

This course, took me deeply to the machine learning world, besides that It built up a strong bases to keep studying machine learning.

By JUNXIANG Z

May 16, 2019

As a physics graduate, this course serves a fresh up in calculus and optimisation, which is essential for studying machine learning.

By Krishna K K

May 08, 2020

Great course for deep learning engineers,cover all the fundamentals of calculus required for learning machines.Thanks to Professors

By Grigoraș V

Dec 29, 2018

The professors are great! Wish we had part of such enthusiasm all throughout high-school. I bet people would enjoy math a lot more.

By Aymeric N

Nov 12, 2018

Great lectures augmented with interesting and practical coding assignments. I really enjoyed this course on multivariate calculus.

By Sai P B

Aug 28, 2020

Good beginner course for learning the fundamentals of mathematics involved in machine learning.

Would highly suggest this course.

By Gauri S

Nov 24, 2019

It is a good course to understand where Calculus can applied to machine learning. It inspires me to pursue a MS in Data Science.

By Arnab S

Sep 11, 2020

This is a very good foundational course for anyone who wants to understand the idea behind the mathematics of Machine Learning.

By Shaik R m

Apr 01, 2020

Mr. Sam Cooper and Mr. DavidDye's teaching are Simply awesome. Looking Forward to completing this specialization. ❤ from India.

By Vijayakumar

May 19, 2020

Thank you professors for your nice explanation. I hope to see you again with in depth of machine learning and neural networks.

By Manhal R

Jun 02, 2020

An amazing refresher for those who have already done. It took me less than a day to go through it and finish the assignments.

By Charles K

Apr 07, 2020

Really great course, well-organized, great instructors, challenging. Only issue is that the pace of the course is super fast.

By Dhritiman S

Nov 29, 2019

The course was excellent. I only wish the final few lessons covered Matrix equations for linear and non-linear least squares.

By Gergo G

May 01, 2019

Very good course on basic mathematics for machine learning. Good examples, some homework and very enthusiastic professors :)

By Liam F

Mar 24, 2019

Very well put together, a bit difficult in certain sections but all mysteries can be unraveled by a quick google. Thank you!

By Miguel C

Jun 26, 2020

I "must-have" course if you want to get (or refresh) concepts on Calculus that are fundamental to understand how ML works.

By Zahi F

Apr 07, 2020

Very interesting and even though there are some difficult theories to understand, the instructors made things really easy.

By Suraj S K

May 19, 2020

Very enthusiastic professors and a beautiful approach to learn some of the applications of Calculus in Machine Learning.