Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
4,125 ratings
733 reviews

About the Course

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Top reviews

SS
Aug 3, 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

DP
Nov 25, 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

Filter by:

701 - 725 of 734 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

By Shivam K

Jun 30, 2020

I feel that the course was too fast paced. I had to constantly refer to many other website like khan academy and 3b1b. The course skipped many details and lacked intuition.

By pranshu s

Oct 17, 2020

You will get some intuition of mathematics used in Machine Learning as well as there will be less fear in doing ML courses if you would complete this course.

By Alfred S

Jan 13, 2019

Course would be prefect if there would not be technical issues with opening notebooks. It slows me down by 1 week. But content was really relevant to ML.

By Kumar S

Aug 9, 2020

Overall average course. Not that much good as expected because of David Dye. He was teaching very poor in this course as compared to course-1.

By TirupathiRao p

May 21, 2020

Last 2 weeks completely diverged. Failed to converge. I wish content was more elaborate.First course of this specialization was far better.

By MAYANK G

Jul 4, 2018

Role of discussion forum is very less. Please improve on that to have healthy participation. Otherwise, course content is really good.

By Nabijonov K T

Dec 7, 2019

first 4 weeks were good. Starting from week 5 course explanation was bad. Was required to watch other videos.

By Lieu Z H

Nov 18, 2019

Lecture videos are quite sparse, and the quizzes test things that they don't teach you in the lecture

By Saurabh M

Sep 29, 2020

A bit fast paced, could be much more beneficial with some added explanations.

By Lee j

May 23, 2019

Too fast to understand what instructors says.. but lecture contents are good

By Akeel A

Aug 29, 2020

It was a lot of fun at points. Would recommend to anyone else.

By Gurrapu N

Apr 7, 2020

Strong disconnect between teaching videos and assignments.

By joseph k

Apr 13, 2020

Course would enhanced if pdf's of lectures were provided.

By Alkis G

Jul 14, 2019

There is a decent space for course improvement.

By prudhvi

Jun 23, 2019

week 6 content is not clear at least for me .

By สิทธิพร แ

Jun 12, 2020

Week 5 and 6 Lecture quite poor

By Leigh F

May 29, 2019

Concepts not clearly explained.

By Aviv P

Dec 6, 2018

many topic were explained badly

By Vivek P D

Sep 10, 2019

Explanation is not in depth

By Mahmoud T

Mar 30, 2020

Dr.Sam Cooper is the best.

By Abdelftah M

Apr 5, 2020

Change the bald man.

By Rishabh J

Mar 8, 2019

Not very challenging

By Tianchi M (

Jul 4, 2018

NOT VERY SYSTEMATIC

By chanhee

Apr 17, 2020

It's nice

By Alexander M

Jan 23, 2020

.,