Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
4,734 ratings
840 reviews

About the Course

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Top reviews

DP
Nov 25, 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

SS
Aug 3, 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

Filter by:

726 - 750 of 839 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

By Sharan S M

Jan 9, 2020

Great course If you want to learn Multivariate calculus. Teaches a lot of topics and is a bit rigorous

By AKASH C

Jun 15, 2020

this course is not for beginners but some good concepts are there which was needed for progress

By Olena K

May 21, 2018

Not enough detail in the explanations and little to no instructor participation in the forums.

By srinivas a

Jul 25, 2020

Topics are taught well for most part but there needs to be more help on answering questions.

By José D

Oct 18, 2018

Very instructive, good refresher of multivariate calculus in the context of machine learning

By Sourav K B

Jan 23, 2020

A nice tour of multi-variate calculus starting from basics. Good for initial understanding.

By Davide F

Sep 12, 2019

Some complex topics were explained a bit too fast. The course on Linear Algebra was better.

By J N B P

Aug 19, 2020

Good for those who already know a lit bit of Calculus, beginners might feel it difficult.

By Sharad K L

Mar 18, 2020

It is hard course and time required is much more than estimated time given in the course

By tishat a

Apr 23, 2020

Very helpful to understand the topics.But last two weeks was a bit tough to understand.

By Jue C

Oct 26, 2020

The last module is quite fast and ambiguous, but besides that, everything is perfect.

By Styven G A

Dec 13, 2019

un enfoque interesante, un buen repaso de matemáticas y una excelente apacibilidad.

By Suraj S

May 3, 2020

Week 6 was not easy for a complete beginner, but all the other weeks were amazing.

By Mohit P

May 9, 2020

The practice quize should be more along with detailed explanation of the topic

By Elif A

Mar 16, 2021

The content is short, clear and enough. It is the right choice for beginners.

By Moreno C

Feb 15, 2020

Good introductory course to develop an intuition of multivariate calculus.

By vignesh n

Sep 12, 2018

It was a good course compared to other two courses of this specialization.

By Bernard B

May 25, 2020

Nice introductory course. Week 5 and 6 felt rush other than that 5 stars!

By Clayton

Jul 22, 2019

teachers are awesome but the last notebook needs a little work i believe.

By yomna

Feb 7, 2021

The lectures in week 6 are very summarized and some parts were not clear

By 2K18/CO/166 K R

Oct 27, 2020

It is a great course and i learnt a lot of cool stuff in this course.

By Nileshkumar R P

Apr 28, 2020

It was a great course. More details and time needed for the course.

By Manish C

Apr 26, 2020

Excellent course for beginners who want to learn machine learning .

By João M G

Jul 31, 2019

Weeks 1-4 are great! Weeks 5 and 6 are longer and less explanatory.

By Alex S

Aug 16, 2018

Good course to learn about the mathematics behind machine learning.