Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
4,727 ratings
839 reviews

About the Course

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Top reviews

DP
Nov 25, 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

SS
Aug 3, 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

Filter by:

801 - 825 of 837 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

By MAYANK G

Jul 4, 2018

Role of discussion forum is very less. Please improve on that to have healthy participation. Otherwise, course content is really good.

By Kamol N

Dec 7, 2019

first 4 weeks were good. Starting from week 5 course explanation was bad. Was required to watch other videos.

By Lieu Z H

Nov 18, 2019

Lecture videos are quite sparse, and the quizzes test things that they don't teach you in the lecture

By Saurabh M

Sep 29, 2020

A bit fast paced, could be much more beneficial with some added explanations.

By Lee j

May 23, 2019

Too fast to understand what instructors says.. but lecture contents are good

By Erwin M

Apr 28, 2021

The basics is explained so light, that you wonder if it is of any use.

By Akeel A

Aug 29, 2020

It was a lot of fun at points. Would recommend to anyone else.

By Gurrapu N

Apr 7, 2020

Strong disconnect between teaching videos and assignments.

By joseph k

Apr 13, 2020

Course would enhanced if pdf's of lectures were provided.

By Alkis G

Jul 14, 2019

There is a decent space for course improvement.

By prudhvi

Jun 23, 2019

week 6 content is not clear at least for me .

By Ahmad A

Feb 22, 2021

Too many Assignments and Quizzes to pass

By สิทธิพร แ

Jun 12, 2020

Week 5 and 6 Lecture quite poor

By Leigh F

May 29, 2019

Concepts not clearly explained.

By Aviv P

Dec 6, 2018

many topic were explained badly

By Vivek P D

Sep 10, 2019

Explanation is not in depth

By Mahmoud T

Mar 30, 2020

Dr.Sam Cooper is the best.

By Yap C Y

Mar 14, 2021

need more explanations

By Abdelftah M

Apr 5, 2020

Change the bald man.

By Rishabh J

Mar 8, 2019

Not very challenging

By Reena J

Dec 5, 2020

contents Are Useful

By Tianchi M (

Jul 4, 2018

NOT VERY SYSTEMATIC

By itwipsy17

Apr 17, 2020

It's nice

By Alexander M

Jan 23, 2020

.,

By Alois H

Feb 18, 2021

The material is great and very relevant to anything connected to data science, however, I didn't enjoy this course half as much as the first in the series.

It's way too dense, things appearing on the screen where it's not clear where they're coming from, explanations feel scripted and read out at high speed, frequently unclear.

If you're using screen shots for taking notes (as I do), that's not ideal either because they're writing on a glass pane while they're standing behind it.

I'm working full-time and had to take this course stretched out over a long time. Again, the presentation being so dense doesn't help there either.

All in all it feels like a published first draft of the course, it doesn't seem the instructors are trying to improve the course at all.