Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
4,728 ratings
839 reviews

About the Course

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Top reviews

JT
Nov 12, 2018

Excellent course. I completed this course with no prior knowledge of multivariate calculus and was successful nonetheless. It was challenging and extremely interesting, informative, and well designed.

DP
Nov 25, 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

Filter by:

826 - 837 of 837 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

By norlesh

May 30, 2021

T​here is a total disconnect between what is 'taught' in the videos and what is tested in the questions, and no reference to any written material meaning the student is required to go and learn the tested material somwhere else in order to pass... Perhaps it is good for screening those that have the knowledge, but it is rubbish for teaching it.

By Paul K M

Oct 24, 2019

I am not sure if this course is for people who know calc, and want to learn python coding or people who know coding and want to learn some calc? Frankly it isn't a great course for either group. I knew some calc, and some python going in, and I did expand my knowledge and gain some useful practice. But it left me craving rigor.

By Priscilla V A

Mar 27, 2021

It's hard for me to do the coding since the course video doesn't provide any coding or any supplemental reading

By Mohammed A A

Jul 17, 2020

you must first give e more example and intuition

By Indira P

Mar 24, 2021

Sorry but it is hard to understand

By Mariya O

Mar 6, 2020

I am extremely disappointed with these classes... if you think you would learn something/ especially as a beginner/, well, you won't...material is not well organized and presented, topics jump from one place to another, the quiz and assignments have nothing to do with the lectures...nothing is well explained...you could get more information/explanation from wikipedia ...if you are here so you can get a certificate- do it...but you are here to actually learn something- run away, you can learn more for free from Khan Academy lectures.

By Steve

Aug 5, 2020

The ideas the course hopes to present are good and relevant but the presentations are so poor that most of my learning of the material came from finding outside sources like Khan Academy. Often, important new ideas were roughly and quickly explained with not enough detail to give the student the intuitions needed for understanding. Often the practice quizes asked questions that were not properly covered in the videos so you need to go to the forums or elsewhere to gain the understanding needed.

By Hendrik V

Nov 5, 2020

The time required is not realistic. Had to put in exponentially more hours than suggested. Instructors are not involved in the course. You ask a question and in a couple weeks another student might help.

By Kimberely C

Dec 27, 2019

Definitely, not for beginners. Just as bad as the last one. They need to have more examples, which walk you through the ones like they give you on the homework as well as an example of how to do Python.

By Abhishek B

Apr 15, 2020

Instructions were very poor in many cases , Khan Academey is much better source for explanation of concepts

Instrructions on PCA are so Awful , that I decided to drop from the course

By JICHEN W

Oct 27, 2018

No very detailed oriented and explantion of material is not clear.

By Suman G

Dec 26, 2020

pathetic course