Chevron Left
Back to Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus by Imperial College London

4.7
stars
5,574 ratings

About the Course

This course offers a brief introduction to the multivariate calculus required to build many common machine learning techniques. We start at the very beginning with a refresher on the “rise over run” formulation of a slope, before converting this to the formal definition of the gradient of a function. We then start to build up a set of tools for making calculus easier and faster. Next, we learn how to calculate vectors that point up hill on multidimensional surfaces and even put this into action using an interactive game. We take a look at how we can use calculus to build approximations to functions, as well as helping us to quantify how accurate we should expect those approximations to be. We also spend some time talking about where calculus comes up in the training of neural networks, before finally showing you how it is applied in linear regression models. This course is intended to offer an intuitive understanding of calculus, as well as the language necessary to look concepts up yourselves when you get stuck. Hopefully, without going into too much detail, you’ll still come away with the confidence to dive into some more focused machine learning courses in future....

Top reviews

SS

Aug 3, 2019

Very Well Explained. Good content and great explanation of content. Complex topics are also covered in very easy way. Very Helpful for learning much more complex topics for Machine Learning in future.

DP

Nov 25, 2018

Great course to develop some understanding and intuition about the basic concepts used in optimization. Last 2 weeks were a bit on a lower level of quality then the rest in my opinion but still great.

Filter by:

826 - 850 of 993 Reviews for Mathematics for Machine Learning: Multivariate Calculus

By Joe O

Dec 3, 2022

The assignments are too cumbersome for just testing concepts. This course is definitely for experienced students. i found myself being confused by concepts i already know

By Omar A B

May 18, 2023

This course opened my mind to a whole new view of calculus in general, thanks guys for that incredible work. with that said, the course needs some tweaks here and there!

By Andrew

Jul 7, 2020

Practice makes about 65% of this course, 3Blue!Brown and Khan Academy are indispensable in this course too. The course is more like an overview than an in-depth study.

By 马镓浚

Sep 2, 2022

Definitely not for beginner, but for someone who already had knowledge about multivariate calculus, it is a succint course for you to review and gain some intuition.

By Handers T

Mar 24, 2023

I don't know if it's because less important or something. But the explanation of Professor David in this course is confusing especially in Lagrange Multipliers.

By mayank d

Jun 10, 2019

1.Week 5 should be taken in separate module dedicated to statistics.

2.The duration of course can be increased.

3. Week 3 and week 4 can be made more detailed

By Dominik K

Oct 9, 2019

Very good course but especially while approaching the end of the course some steps are being skipped or not explained entirely which can be a bit confusing

By Venkatavishnu T

Oct 22, 2020

This course is a good refresher, bringing all the important aspects and how it can be applied for machine learning also combining with linear algebra

By Satpal S R

Jan 30, 2019

This was a great course for learning multivariate calculus required for Machine Learning. I am thankful to the creators of this awesome course.

By Angelo S d O

Dec 5, 2018

Nice refresher! Excellent instructors! Not recommended as a first Multivariate Calculus course though. I would go for MIT OpenCourseware first.

By Viacheslav P

Aug 23, 2019

Good course, but some things seem to be not well discussed and explained, I had to refer to another resources to understand what's going on.

By Patrick F

Feb 1, 2019

Really good course, would recommend! 4 Stars, because there is no written transcript with the Formula and examples in the videos available.

By Valentinos P

Aug 25, 2019

A very nice course that builds your intuition in Multivariate Calculus and also introduces you to some basic consepts in machine learning.

By Aman A

Oct 12, 2019

This was a very succinct and comprehensive course and at times I felt a bit fast paced and consequently the assignments harder to solve

By Vikram N

May 13, 2020

Good course. Clarity of content in the last two weeks (i.e. weeks 5 and 6) can be improved. Overall a fantastic learning experience.

By Rachel Z

Mar 6, 2021

Excellent course overall. I really enjoyed the sessions taught by Sam Cooper. He explains concepts very clearly...great teacher.

By Andy G

Nov 22, 2022

Nice content, very clearly explained. Occasional jarring between the lectures and the quizzes, but overall highly recommended.

By Prashant D

Feb 16, 2019

Good course. The lecturer uses a number of illustrations and has a nice easy style to explain the key ideas. Overall enjoyable

By Mason C

Sep 21, 2021

Great overall, but some of the teaching falls short of clarity, too much hand waving, and programming exercises can be obtuse.

By no O

Jul 1, 2020

This is a nice course for beginners, as it relies on intuition for the explanation. Also, this has very interesting exercises.

By Leong H

May 13, 2020

it is pretty good for week1 to week4, but week5 and week6 are too complicated, I think the course should explain more details.

By Sachitha V S

Oct 28, 2020

course was great and interesting however some topics were need to explain more thoroughly little bit difficult to understand

By Stanislav B

Apr 21, 2021

Can be hard in some parts. But it's not instructors fault as they had to put a lot of material into relatively short course

By Daniel P

Aug 22, 2018

Interestin to refresh notions you already learned. Probably a bit difficult if you're totally new to multivariate calculus

By Elise W

May 23, 2023

Pretty good course, very inspiring. The quality drops in last two weeks; need to refer Khan's videos for further clarity.