Chevron Left
Back to NIST CSF

Learner Reviews & Feedback for NIST CSF by Infosec

4.1
stars
86 ratings

About the Course

This course will help you to build a basic understanding of NIST cybersecurity fundamentals. You will learn about the RMF process and managing risk by identifying, assessing and responding to risk. Additionally, you will learn how to use the framework to assess an organization's cybersecurity risk and the steps to implement or improve a cybersecurity program. The Cybersecurity Framework skill path introduces the framework for improving infrastructure cybersecurity....

Top reviews

AA

Mar 29, 2023

NIST CSF

Infosec

Thank you who contributed to building this course. I benefited from it a lot of valuable information

RN

Mar 22, 2024

Comprehensive overview of NIST Cyber Security Framework. Highly recommended!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 26 Reviews for NIST CSF

By Deleted A

May 9, 2022

I'm disapointed. This is more of a "books on tape" course. Of course I can read the specifications myself! I don't want someone to just drone an info dump. I realize that the framework is descriptive by nature, but I want prescriptive examples taken from the lecturers real-world experience, even if it is just an idealized scenario walk-through for an admitedly idealized organization. Very few sentances begin with "For example..."

By Joseph L

Dec 10, 2022

The lecturer speaks too fast. Either he makes mistakes or the slide deck needs to be reviewed, because there are some discrepancies.

This is not the kind of material that lends itself well to online learning.

Don't take this course.

By Paolo C

Dec 10, 2021

Bad support slides and a "reader" teacher

By Kevin M

Aug 15, 2022

The course is content rich but the dry reading of slides that are bascially available on the NIST website does NOT promote learning efficiently. I view this particualr course as a Presenter in a meeting reading the slides (which are cut & pasted from NIST) with the spearkers back to the audience.

I belive this course could be improved in several ways:

1) the videos should be "stage setters" for the content

2) the content is best consumed via reading, not listening.

3) there should be downloadable simple one-pagers to reinforce learning 5/23/97. The spread sheet is dense and takes 16 pages to print the entire CSF reference

3) there are multiple times in each weeks curriculum that your hear "next slide" but the slides do not advance

4) the quizes should be done at the end of each week, not an all or nothing test at week 7

5) the currrent format is unusable on a mobile phone as the slide text is too small

6) this should NOT be a 7 week course. I completed in 2 days. Now I have previous security experience with PCI DSS and ITIL processess so that helped

7) the presentor should not exhaust the informative references everytime as that is easily consumed off the NIST spread sheet

8) I have completed over 10 other Coursera topics and thought that content (mostly Machine Learning) was exceptionally well currated, the videos made sense, the exercises reinforced the learning topic, and the quizes were timely. Many of those courses were presented by Andrew Ng (co-founder of Coursera) and truly a top notch luminary in the AI/ML field. As such, this material is by defintion a bit "dry" and difficult to inspirationally convey this type of material. That being said, reading a list of lists does not promote the power of the Coursera platform

By Harrison

Jun 7, 2023

Very dry reading of the slides. Didn't really learn a whole lot and did not feel well prepared for the exam.

There are some video glitches that stay on the same slide even if you hear "next slide please".

Not all that interactive at all. This is probably my only bad course from Coursera.

By Jerome L L

Jul 31, 2023

une succession de phrases enchaînées rapidement qui débouchent sur une évaluation assez difficile / façon dont est présenté le contenu.

Une traduction permettrait en français (pour ma part) aurait je pense permis d'assimiler plus facilement tous ces concepts

By Rodolfo H

Apr 5, 2022

The course is very good, it addresses the concepts in a very detailed way. The knowledge of the teacher is noted.

Although I have experience in NIST 800-30, I learned a lot, I am very comfortable with the knowledge I have acquired. I appreciate the scholarship you have given me.

Suggestion:

1) It would be possible to do 4 exams, since the course has approximately 170 Slides / 96 pages. Besides the questions are quite detailed.

a) CSF Component (Core, Tiers and Profiles)

b) Risk Management Frameworks

c) Nist Cybersecurity Frameworks ( Functions, Categories, Sub categories and )

d) 7 Steps CSF Process 2) Some slides are very small (Resource and budget decision making (GAPS)) 3) It would be possible to have a copy of some Resource and budget decision making (GAPS) slides, since there is a lot of experience with them.

By Abdulrahman A A A

Mar 30, 2023

NIST CSF

Infosec

Thank you who contributed to building this course. I benefited from it a lot of valuable information

By Ramon A N

Mar 23, 2024

Comprehensive overview of NIST Cyber Security Framework. Highly recommended!

By Jacqueline N

Apr 1, 2024

great refresher for those been doing this type of work

By Georgia S

Nov 27, 2022

Good overview of the framework.

By MOHAMMED V S

Apr 3, 2022

EXCELLENT 5 START RATING

By Aaron S

Apr 15, 2023

Awesome Course to Learn

By Yeha A

Mar 7, 2024

Thanks Infosec

By Joe L

Nov 20, 2023

Semper Supra!

By Imad N H

Dec 21, 2021

excellent

By CHE-WEI K

Sep 24, 2022

Nice!

By Linda B M

Mar 1, 2023

It is an informative course and straightforward course. There are however glitches in the Cybersecurity Framework Core Functions videos as not all the slides are shown with informative references.

By Eric O

Nov 14, 2023

Good overview. Covered all the material. Not bad, but could have been a little more engaging, interactive, or provided more real life examples/stories/lessons learned.

By CJ W

May 26, 2024

Material is a dry & outdated. NIST CSF 2.0 was released Feb 2024, but course only covers CFS 1.1 (keep that in mind during the exam).

By Jereco D S

May 5, 2022

Very straight forward. Would appreciate a quiz every week to review if we understood the lectures.

By Arturo L A

Oct 1, 2022

.

By Peter C

Jan 11, 2024

Many slides are missing and/or out of order; it was like listening to an audiobook without any references to review. Very hard to follow.

By Tauhida

Mar 31, 2024

This course is old - so dated and the course material is so dense - its like listening to a robot read course notes. This is such an important topic - wish Coursera would wake up and start updating some of their courses soon - its a shame that I pay for subscriptions and almost all courses are just so dated and you will never get a job with these or even do well in a job that you are in now.

By Urano B

Sep 10, 2023

Worst course ever. It is just an audiobook with a poorly transcribed text without any paragraphs and no explanations at all. Just a guy reading a book.