Chevron Left
Back to Data Privacy Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Data Privacy Fundamentals by Northeastern University

4.8
stars
586 ratings

About the Course

This course is designed to introduce data privacy to a wide audience and help each participant see how data privacy has evolved as a compelling concern to public and private organizations as well as individuals. In this course, you will hear from legal and technical experts and practitioners who encounter data privacy issues daily. This course will review theories of data privacy as well as data privacy in the context of social media and artificial intelligence. It will also explore data privacy issues in journalism, surveillance, new technologies like facial recognition and biometrics. Completion of the course will enable the participant to be eligible for CPE credit....

Top reviews

TF

Apr 3, 2022

Thank you for this course. I get know experience and knowledge in using different kinds of online tools which are useful and effective. I'll use some of them during my lessons. And lots of thanks.

RS

Jun 25, 2023

Amazing experience learning about data privacy. Took this course for improving my knowledge in privacy law but learned more new things about Data Privacy. Thank you.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 140 Reviews for Data Privacy Fundamentals

By Thamaraikannan P

Jul 9, 2020

data privacy is a best course to know how human beings to in social medias and what are the threat and this is future shining one of the courses

By Sergio S S

Oct 6, 2020

Than you!

I hope I'll be able to use this

course both in my professional and personal life to tackle problems

surrounding data collection.

By Anujay S

Jul 2, 2020

Prof. Hartzog has designed an amazing course on Data Privacy and Privacy Law using excellent lectures, interviews and reading materials. This course would allow any individual to understand the nitty-grittys of data privacy as understood in the globe, US and the EU-GDPR. This course tells you more about how the existing protections of privacy are inadequate, the importance of "obscurity" and "trust", as well as perspectives that you should always bear in mind while dissecting privacy issues. Prof. Hartzog has put tremendous amounts of efforts in creating this course and I hope that he continues to create similarly interesting courses in future.

By Daniya M

Aug 9, 2020

It was an amazing experience with the Northeastern University.The fundamentals of data privacy and protection were taught in a crystal-clear manner. i gained a lot of knowledge about the basics of information security and data privacy. i would like to continue learning and gaining skills with the Northeastern University pertaining to ethical hacking and patching in the near future!

By Atma P

Aug 15, 2020

Truly with this certification programme I will surely be able to advance my career in a good manner and It was truly a great learning experience with an International exposure of what's rolling in the world and how this DAta Privacy yhingbis essential.

By BERFİN A

Sep 13, 2020

I loved every single lesson about this course. If you're searching a clear and brief information regarding privacy law matters you're in the right place.

By Marzia N

Aug 3, 2020

I really enjoyed the course. It is short, precise and crisp!

The examples were relevant and relatable.

I would love to learn more about on this topic.

By Amit J

Sep 14, 2020

Perfect balance of video, interview and reading articles . This course made complex things into simple training. Good job Coursera

By Manuel A R S

Dec 18, 2020

Very practical course

By Jose C G

Sep 13, 2020

Excellent content!

By Kathy F

Jun 2, 2023

Much of the material is from 2015, so it's difficult to know whether it's outdated. In addition, some of the questions and answers in the course quizzes are very poorly worded, making it difficult to interpret and answer correctly. Finally, one of the reading assignments requires you to purchase a subscription to The Atlantic to access the article behind the firewall, which is ironic for a course about data privacy that spends a lot of time discussing how consumers are forced to provide their personal information to access online content or use applications and social media. No one should ever have to pay additional money to access course materials, and we definitely shouldn't be put in a position where we have no choice but to create yet another online account.

By Aedrian A

Jan 27, 2021

This well-made short course is a must-take for everyone, as the implications of data privacy issues permeate modern life entirely. I highly appreciate the comprehensive overview that the material provides, as most, if not all, of the content are something that I would have asked data privacy experts/lawyers if I did not encounter this course. Particularly as an aspiring biomedical and clinical researcher, this course gave me a baseline working understanding of the framework and trends on this topic. The interviews shown are also highly insightful and astonishingly complements the lectures by Professor Hartzog.

By B U R

Oct 14, 2020

The course was really great. The instructor had great knowledge about the subject and taught me in a very simple and understandable manner. I have learnt a lot about privacy data problems that happen in this current generation and in upcoming future around the world. I'm so grateful for this opportunity. Thank You

By Oladotun O O

Jan 28, 2021

Great organization! The content was absolutely educating and pushed me to carry out more research on all I learnt. Every second was absolutely worth it.

By Ramon L R

Nov 17, 2020

I like the sharing of expert experience in the course. The professor invited experts to talk about special topics on data privacy and security.

By Abdulazeem O O

Aug 14, 2021

Interesting and amazing to learn and be exposed to certain areas of data privacy in the context of social media and modern technologies.

By Martin P

Mar 14, 2022

Although the course is rather basic in nature the presentation was interesting and the Professor did a terrific job of presenting in a clear, concise, and personable manner. The course moved along quickly. The videos were informative. The quizzes were easy but afforded a good opportunity to review the material that was encountered. If you are looking for a good general course on the topic of data security this would be an outstanding introduction.

By Akash T

Jun 14, 2023

If you are new to Data Privacy, this course is the stepping-stone for you!

The best thing about the course is the interactive videos with the industry experts.

Also the way in which Professor Woodrow Hartzog has designed it is very unique and the language is so simple to understand the concept.

I will be definitely visting back to watch the videos again!!

By Joanne K

Apr 7, 2022

I enjoyed this course and its format. Quite comprehensive and very intresting. It definitely peaked my interest (again) to learn more about the subject. Loved the video content and the interviews. Will certainly look for any other courses/certficates this professor offers!

By Fernando M

Dec 18, 2022

Excelente contenidos para conocer los principios de la privacidad, los riesgos y la legislación global sobre el tema.

Terminé el curso con una visión general bastante clara sobre la privacidad y la protección de datos

By Abhi_Achalla

Oct 30, 2020

The best course I've ever taken. Northeastern University, being my dream university, gave me one more opportunity to explore the learning environment. Professor Woodrow made me clear about what really privacy is.

By Toshiha F

Apr 4, 2022

Thank you for this course. I get know experience and knowledge in using different kinds of online tools which are useful and effective. I'll use some of them during my lessons. And lots of thanks.

By Roshni S

Jun 26, 2023

Amazing experience learning about data privacy. Took this course for improving my knowledge in privacy law but learned more new things about Data Privacy. Thank you.

By Michaella C

Feb 20, 2022

I have really learned a lot in this course, like how importance privacy is and what are the things that we need to know and remember when dealing about privacy.

By Mampati M

Mar 12, 2024

Very informative that has helped me to appreciate how critically important Data privacy is, for personal and organisational roles.