Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
22,233 ratings
3,474 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

RR
Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

Filter by:

3151 - 3175 of 3,472 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Montoisy F

Jul 28, 2020

Too much IBM-centric, lots of problems encountered with IBM studio/cloud installation.

Good point: Professors are very responsive to problems of students.

By Javier F S

Oct 14, 2020

Too much information about the different tools that can be used in Data Science. Very broad and at the end, I just learned a bit about Jupyter Notebooks

By Omar K

Jan 11, 2020

IBM Cloud is truly a mess, full of bugs and nothing works as expected which made it much more difficult to complete the course than it should have been.

By Yulia L J

Jul 4, 2020

Videos are super low quality. I understand that this is an IBM course, but don't really want to learn in details their Watson Studio, that nobody uses.

By Boya D

Jun 13, 2019

Course about Watson Studio is outdated. Students wasted time on project because of this. Since students are paying for the course, it is unacceptable.

By Daniel B

Mar 15, 2021

It seems to be one big ad for IBM products, and I did not find anything very useful. It seems a bit like losing time than learning anything useful.

By Leanne O

Jun 22, 2020

This course is not structured well and not great for beginners. You are introduced to a lot of tools without much context or actual instruction.

By Yinlu D

Dec 14, 2019

Have wasted quite some time in searching back and forth for the updated features on Jupyter Notebook due to part of the outdated course content.

By Erin M

May 25, 2019

The course materials need updating. The IBM platform has changed which has made it hard to maneuver the website and follow the directions given.

By Inon Z

Jan 21, 2019

low level content. a combination of a few available IBM tutorial. The didn't even bother to change the names of the old platform to the new one.

By Aliakbar S

Mar 28, 2019

Very boring course... It was not that deep! It only takes a few hours to complete it! To be honest, I felt like it was a Kindergarten course!!!

By Lakshya

May 23, 2020

This course was just the marketing of IBM tools. I gained nothing expect the link which was in a discussion where I learned some basic python.

By Karishma

Jul 5, 2019

Had problems with creating notebook on IBM watson studio and got no expert help. I had to figure it out on my own which took a lot of time.

By John P C

May 9, 2019

Videos need to be updated, as the IBM Watson Studio has a new look and differs from he examples in the video. Very confusing to beginners.

By Gregor H

Sep 3, 2018

The course does not seem to be maintained - a couple of things changed since the last update that make it hard to follow the instructions.

By Nathan E

Feb 6, 2020

It was nice to get an overview of the tools, but I found the labs very simple. There didn't seem to be any important tasks to complete.

By Benedict P

Aug 30, 2020

Brain Dump of Information, some videos did not sync properly and it was difficult to understand (not because of professors, but audio)

By Usama S

May 15, 2020

Felt like an advertisement for IBM products. Not much to learning in this course. Some videos were just plain reading text from web.

By Mauro F

Mar 27, 2020

The course doesn't give interesting information and videos are not update, so I wasted a. lot of time to setup watson studio istance

By Aniket R

Jul 16, 2019

Contents are nice but had a nightmare accessing Lite version of IBM Watson. Did not have option to create assignment without Watson.

By Tal L

Jul 4, 2019

Pretty boring Course.

Doesnt feel I got much out of it except the knowing of the IBM Wasson platform.

Hope next ones will be better!

By CH

Jun 1, 2019

This course is slightly more helpful than the first course, but it is still not clear to me why this needs to be a separate course.

By Matthew P

Jan 11, 2020

Outdated tutorials and expects too much knowledge. Talks about concepts like Apache Spark, RDDs, and tuples with no introduction.

By Kamil m

Jan 5, 2019

Don't be fooled this is one big marketing demo. I wish they would just pick a language and jump into cleaning and analyzing data.

By Taiki H

Aug 17, 2021

I found it to be a bit waste of time. This course was more expositive than explicative and the quizzes only evaluate your memory.