Chevron Left
Back to Tools for Data Science

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Tools for Data Science by IBM

4.5
stars
22,460 ratings
3,512 reviews

About the Course

What are some of the most popular data science tools, how do you use them, and what are their features? In this course, you'll learn about Jupyter Notebooks, JupyterLab, RStudio IDE, Git, GitHub, and Watson Studio. You will learn about what each tool is used for, what programming languages they can execute, their features and limitations. With the tools hosted in the cloud on Skills Network Labs, you will be able to test each tool and follow instructions to run simple code in Python, R or Scala. To end the course, you will create a final project with a Jupyter Notebook on IBM Watson Studio and demonstrate your proficiency preparing a notebook, writing Markdown, and sharing your work with your peers....

Top reviews

RR
Apr 24, 2019

To the contrast of other reviews, I find the content very well bifurcated and fed to the learners. The course very easily digestable and I have had a great amount of fun learning it.. Go for it!!!!

AJ
Sep 15, 2020

Absolutely Loved this course!! Challenging at times to keep up with all the terms and processes. The course provided great insight into Data Science. Would highly recommend it as your first course.

Filter by:

3201 - 3225 of 3,521 Reviews for Tools for Data Science

By Daniel B

Mar 15, 2021

It seems to be one big ad for IBM products, and I did not find anything very useful. It seems a bit like losing time than learning anything useful.

By Leanne O

Jun 22, 2020

This course is not structured well and not great for beginners. You are introduced to a lot of tools without much context or actual instruction.

By Yinlu D

Dec 14, 2019

Have wasted quite some time in searching back and forth for the updated features on Jupyter Notebook due to part of the outdated course content.

By Erin M

May 25, 2019

The course materials need updating. The IBM platform has changed which has made it hard to maneuver the website and follow the directions given.

By Inon Z

Jan 21, 2019

low level content. a combination of a few available IBM tutorial. The didn't even bother to change the names of the old platform to the new one.

By Aliakbar S

Mar 28, 2019

Very boring course... It was not that deep! It only takes a few hours to complete it! To be honest, I felt like it was a Kindergarten course!!!

By Lakshya

May 23, 2020

This course was just the marketing of IBM tools. I gained nothing expect the link which was in a discussion where I learned some basic python.

By Karishma

Jul 5, 2019

Had problems with creating notebook on IBM watson studio and got no expert help. I had to figure it out on my own which took a lot of time.

By John P C

May 9, 2019

Videos need to be updated, as the IBM Watson Studio has a new look and differs from he examples in the video. Very confusing to beginners.

By Gregor H

Sep 3, 2018

The course does not seem to be maintained - a couple of things changed since the last update that make it hard to follow the instructions.

By Nathan E

Feb 6, 2020

It was nice to get an overview of the tools, but I found the labs very simple. There didn't seem to be any important tasks to complete.

By Benedict P

Aug 30, 2020

Brain Dump of Information, some videos did not sync properly and it was difficult to understand (not because of professors, but audio)

By Usama S

May 15, 2020

Felt like an advertisement for IBM products. Not much to learning in this course. Some videos were just plain reading text from web.

By Mauro F

Mar 27, 2020

The course doesn't give interesting information and videos are not update, so I wasted a. lot of time to setup watson studio istance

By Aniket R

Jul 16, 2019

Contents are nice but had a nightmare accessing Lite version of IBM Watson. Did not have option to create assignment without Watson.

By Tal L

Jul 4, 2019

Pretty boring Course.

Doesnt feel I got much out of it except the knowing of the IBM Wasson platform.

Hope next ones will be better!

By CH

Jun 1, 2019

This course is slightly more helpful than the first course, but it is still not clear to me why this needs to be a separate course.

By Matthew P

Jan 11, 2020

Outdated tutorials and expects too much knowledge. Talks about concepts like Apache Spark, RDDs, and tuples with no introduction.

By Kamil m

Jan 5, 2019

Don't be fooled this is one big marketing demo. I wish they would just pick a language and jump into cleaning and analyzing data.

By Taiki H

Aug 17, 2021

I found it to be a bit waste of time. This course was more expositive than explicative and the quizzes only evaluate your memory.

By Juan I

Jun 15, 2019

The instructor seemed to be using a different (most likely the paid) version of Watson. This made it hard to follow the lessons.

By Dhruv B

Apr 7, 2020

Instructions are not clear and software on which tutor teach is look-alike old which caused me issues to understand what to do.

By Luqmaan

Feb 20, 2020

There seems to be a disconnect between almost everything. Tutorials, lectures, labs. Only a few were helpful but ultra basic.

By Evangelos M

Sep 26, 2018

Sites look different now and the video lectures described an older version I think. Also lectures weren't much understanding.

By Daniël v B

May 18, 2020

The course needs a revision regarding watson studio. Spend a lot of time getting it work, because video's aren't up to date.