Chevron Left
Back to Optical Efficiency and Resolution

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Optical Efficiency and Resolution by University of Colorado Boulder

4.0
stars
33 ratings
8 reviews

About the Course

This course can also be taken for academic credit as ECEA 5601, part of CU Boulder’s Master of Science in Electrical Engineering degree. Optical instruments are how we see the world, from corrective eyewear to medical endoscopes to cell phone cameras to orbiting telescopes. This course will teach you how to design such optical systems with simple mathematical and graphical techniques. The first order optical system design covered in the previous course is useful for the initial design of an optical imaging system but does not predict the energy and resolution of the system. This course discusses the propagation of intensity for Gaussian beams and incoherent sources. It also introduces the mathematical background required to design an optical system with the required field of view and resolution. You will also learn how to analyze these characteristics of your optical system using an industry-standard design tool, OpticStudio by Zemax....

Top reviews

YS
Jul 19, 2019

The content is good, and the instructor is very responsive through email. Though I think the capstone is not as challenging as the first course.

OD
Nov 14, 2018

The lab demonstrations were very helpful and the explanations of complex phenomena were very easy to understand.

Filter by:

1 - 8 of 8 Reviews for Optical Efficiency and Resolution

By Orqa d o o

Jan 23, 2020

I loved the first course in this specialization, but this one was disappointing. Quizzes are often not precise enough in what is required as an input, so I wasted too much time on finding out how to format my answers so that grading system accepts them.

Zero response from any of the course moderators in the forums.

Strict theoretical concepts are explained nicely, but course lacks more examples of application to bridge the gap towards skills needed in homeworks.

The course did offer directions which I can use afterwards to continue to learn on my own, and I count that as a valuable thing.

By Feng-Kuo H

Jun 21, 2019

The course content is good. But the instructors had not been responsive to any question posted on the forum.

By Wayne L

Dec 5, 2019

This is a great course, it covers a lot of important topics with elegant explanation and impressive lab demonstrations. The homeworks are challenging, and one may usually find it very difficult at the first try, but most of them can be solved with educational return thanks to these inspiring discussion thread in responsive forum.

However, I think I have to remove one star because of the difficulty of using trial version of Zemax for capstone. The absence of saving function and stability issue (it crashes often!) make it very painful to use; you need to input ~20-30 parameters to model the system correctly, and then all in sudden a crash happens and you have to start over from zero, ouch! I would recommend other alternatives like OSLO or WinLens for the future update of this course since the concept is the same. By the way, I think there should be a filter in the course forum or it gets flooded by the recurring lecture-related posts very quickly.

By Yujie S

Jul 20, 2019

The content is good, and the instructor is very responsive through email. Though I think the capstone is not as challenging as the first course.

By Nick W

Jun 11, 2020

There are various issues in the auto-grading system for the exams... it can be pretty exhausting trying to figure the right format of the right answers...

By Oberon D

Nov 14, 2018

The lab demonstrations were very helpful and the explanations of complex phenomena were very easy to understand.

By Ivan B

Nov 19, 2020

I expected more OpticStudio intense course

By Sudarshan K

Sep 22, 2020

lectures are not lucid. very short and incomplete explanations.