Chevron Left
Back to The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work by University of London

4.6
stars
2,601 ratings
796 reviews

About the Course

The aim of this course is to give you a practical guide to managing people at work. It does not matter whether you are a first time manager in a shop or a middle manager in an office environment; the same skills apply to every work place. In the course you will engage with some HR theories and then see how they translate into every day working life. At the end of the course we hope you will be better equipped to choose a suitable employee, to motivate and appraise your team, to manage conflict in the work place and to lead and make decision on a day to day basis....

Top reviews

PP

Aug 15, 2020

Excellent! The contents are great for any manager that want to make a significant job within any organization. Clear and key concepts for everyday activities. I enjoyed every single lesson. Thank you!

JG

Apr 16, 2022

I enjoyed this course. I learned a lot from it. Although I am familiar with some of the topics, it expanded my knowledge further, and would definitely help me become a more effective manager at work.

Filter by:

626 - 650 of 797 Reviews for The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work

By Florian A

Apr 1, 2020

Very good course to gain a good overview of the topic, however some resources that are listed in the reading section can not be found following the provided links like in week 6.

By Lukas V

Apr 23, 2022

Most of the chapters are full of usefull information.

But the last one was a bit superficial without deep information about how to actually deal with conflicts nor any framework.

By Gabriel J

Dec 23, 2020

Ok, it was a good way to learn manage conflict for example, leadership, motivation, all that stuff shows an interesting point of view, of course based in experience and theory.

By Алё, А

Jun 11, 2020

Thank you for opportunity to share your point of view on different HR procceses, its nature, differences and ways to managing it. So broad, friendly course with nice speakers.

By Susan K

Oct 28, 2018

Good content that I can put into practice immediately. There are numerous typos and grammatical errors in the assessments, which make this educational institution look bad.

By sujata r

Jun 10, 2019

I loved the course.The best part of each week of the course was the long quiz.I also enjoyed the two -question test after almost every chapter.I have really learnt a lot!

By Thomas D

Mar 29, 2022

a clear overview of the basic tools a manager needs in his/her organization, complemented with interesting reads, though some are a bit outdated. Enjoyed the course!

By Ryan S

Sep 24, 2020

This is a great introductory course on some of the core subjects that managers face. They provide a good list of references so you can build your library of resources.

By LUIS M M

May 23, 2022

Agradezco los conocimientos obtenidos, liderar personas no es tarea facil, pero un verdadero lider debe incluir estas herramientas en la práctica diaria

Luis Miguel

By Lacelyn N

Dec 31, 2020

Good balance of theory, research and practical application. Caution should be considered in how some of the information is applied at each unique organization.

By Cikizwa G

Jun 19, 2022

This was a great investment in my leadership journey. I've gained a lot of insights on how I would need to apply new things in managing my teams going forward.

By jinsu.lim

Aug 27, 2018

This course gives me a lot of interesting articles.

And also some kinds of insights to deal with work.

And most of all, it's gives me confidence in work places.

By anchana b

Aug 15, 2020

Love that there are clear examples of structure and unstructured job interviews

By providing comparison videos. It is easy to understand, fun and visualize.

By Rupchand L

Jan 13, 2022

Good coverage. need to reduce some repetitions. beween video and text.

Some of the written content is vast and is to be literally used as reference book.

By Anjali R

Apr 1, 2022

This course is very good the best part of this course is assignment which we have to complete .good reading material and videos also very effective.

By Inga Z

Aug 7, 2020

This course was very interesting, there are some key take aways. For me, it would have been nice to have a few more practical skills in this course.

By Imee M

Sep 3, 2019

Very helpful course which i wish i had taken before. I found very helpful tips and pieces of knowledge that one can apply/use in every day life.

By SHIVAKUMAR J

Apr 16, 2020

Really wonderful course and have clearly defined people management skills with examples.

I recommend to enroll the course & build your career

By Philip A

May 30, 2017

Some topics were touched only at the surface. However, overall it is a good place to start exploring the topics that you are interested in.

By Om P J

Jan 16, 2021

This course was very helpful for performance management, goal setting and conflict management. I really enjoyed the session and learning.

By Luciana P

Nov 11, 2020

Concise and very well developed course to have a first insight on HR and also to reinforce some basic knowledge about managing people.

By Tim M

May 27, 2020

I enjoyed the wide range of topics presented. Taking away a few key elements to utilize in my role of Sales Manager will be supportive.

By Kseniya

Apr 28, 2019

The last week of the course is a little bit unstuctured because the last professor didn’t use slides or schemes. It was hard to follow.

By Timothy O

Apr 8, 2019

I really enjoyed this course. I found its content to be extremely interesting and enjoyed all the presentations and reading material.

By Hao D

Nov 2, 2018

Some units are better than others, namely the week 4 & 6 are to be improved - too dry and academic. also needs more in-video slides.