Chevron Left
Back to The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work by University of London

4.6
stars
2,137 ratings
691 reviews

About the Course

The aim of this course is to give you a practical guide to managing people at work. It does not matter whether you are a first time manager in a shop or a middle manager in an office environment; the same skills apply to every work place. In the course you will engage with some HR theories and then see how they translate into every day working life. At the end of the course we hope you will be better equipped to choose a suitable employee, to motivate and appraise your team, to manage conflict in the work place and to lead and make decision on a day to day basis....

Top reviews

PP
Aug 15, 2020

Excellent! The contents are great for any manager that want to make a significant job within any organization. Clear and key concepts for everyday activities. I enjoyed every single lesson. Thank you!

EP
Jul 22, 2020

This course has helped me a lot in understanding a lot of things about management. I highly recommend this to people who are managing people and to those who are interested in working with teams.

Filter by:

501 - 525 of 684 Reviews for The Manager's Toolkit: A Practical Guide to Managing People at Work

By Тетеркин В А

Apr 16, 2018

Good

By NTAKIRUTIMANA J D

Sep 10, 2020

ok

By kanhu c b

Apr 7, 2020

ok

By Huynh H A

Sep 9, 2021

G

By Surbhi J

Jun 17, 2021

-

By Manoj K

Apr 8, 2020

I

By Jennifer B

Dec 30, 2019

G

By Shruti G

Mar 7, 2018

.

By Herve K

Jan 10, 2018

V

By David

Jan 20, 2021

I essentially enjoyed the course and felt that it opened my mind to the challenges of managing people whilst leaving me more confident in my ability to tackle these challenges. I found it encouraging to learn that there are many resources available to provide managers with the techniques and skills to better manage their team. My criticisms of the course was that there were many spelling and grammatical errors in both the texts and the quizzes which I felt undermined the credibility of the course and made it feel as though it had been a little slapped together. A number of the reading links were also no longer active. I didn't feel that the peer-grading system in Week 4 was at all constructive, although it was a bit of an insight into how other students had completely the task - in all cases I found the feedback received my other students to be perfectly unhelpful, and in some cases unnecessarily dispiriting. On the whole though, I'm glad that I completed the course and it has left me feeling better equipped to manage others and that I would consider doing more courses. I would perhaps look at courses that were a little more serious though and perhaps involved some actual engagement with lecturers.

By Flav B

Jan 5, 2021

This is a good course for people who have real issues with how to manage people. I was fortunate enough to work for organization who embody some of this course. I also did learn that organizations still have a lot to learn about empathetic styles of managing people. There is still an underlying layer of favouritism and cronyism in large organizations. In addition, HR really needs to do a better in supporting workers rather than the organization itself. I really liked the content. Some of the quizzes asked questions that are really not relevant but overall it was well done.

By Chidanand R

Apr 11, 2017

This was an interesting course that covered many subjects on the surface but with an emphasis on key parameters that have to be monitored and focused on to improve performance. However, I was hoping more from the last part on solving conflict. A few real examples of conflict with a brief analysis on their causes and possible solutions could have helped us (the students) to develop strategies of our own. Instead the last part is more like a study of the different types of conflicts and general methods.

By Francesco P

Jan 5, 2018

Globally very good course. It presents many well-explained and broad contents which are necessary in a beginner toolkit for up-to-be managers. However, some of the supposed-to be given material is missing, and despite some solicitations it has not been provided. Moreover, some powerpoint material is not particularly well done and sometimes is nothing more than a transcription of the videos. Nevertheless, I think I have learnt a lot thanks to what presented here.

By Dusmanta K S

Jan 6, 2020

It is good & valuable learning for me which help to managing my subordinate at workplace. There are many levels of process & factors to motivate the team and improve the performance in the organization. Very Practical information given in the learning session & each and every points relate to the managerial skill improvements. But as an Indian the faculty English pronunciation little bit difficult to understand & its manageable

By Thant Z H

May 8, 2020

Very Good to learn from the session. Lectures are really presentable and tone of voice is good to caught up from other countries' learners. Very informative and deep inside the course. Thank you for letting me learn in here and refer to certificate purchase which is could not effort-able in recent pandemic period. Letting me increase my knowledge step by step, Sir.

By Dareen A

Nov 10, 2019

Great material, focus on research and evidence.

They could do better with real human-like teaching, instead of just a person reading a text for you.

I loved the role play examples, made things easier to understand.

I didn't enjoy having the reading material, as generally, reading is not my best skill. Which is why I prefer Coursera courses instead of reading books.

By mary O

Mar 19, 2020

I enjoyed this course very much. The videos and examples were great. I have learned so much that I can take forward with me. Online reading was a bit much at times an call me old fashioned but I wish I had a book to flip through, or the handout toolkit itself. Having said that, this has been the best free course I have undertaken and I want to go further.

By Bomo S

Jul 2, 2017

It has been a very insightful and impactful course I have have taken yet.

I will strongly recommend this course for every manager irrespective of the number of staff, small, medium or large organization.

You also need this in managing even conflicts in the home and society in general, not just in the work place. The principles for me cut across board.

By David F

Aug 4, 2020

One or two of the assessment questions have a few mistakes in them or I felt were poorly worded. Some of the links provided direct you to content which is no longer hosted online or is out of date, which could be down to the age of the course. This didn't affect learning too much and on the whole was a good course.

By Manuel D M

Jun 13, 2021

Learned a lot from this course that I can apply or suggest to apply in our organization. But there are videos in some sections that may need improvement or at least further editing. They left out the mistakes together with the retakes and some mumbled words, Other then that. It's a Great Course

By David Z

Aug 23, 2020

Good content, especially the week about pay as a motivator. However, many of the assessments are lacking in both difficulty and clarity. The assessments contain confusing language and are sometimes based on trivia (e.g." Dr. Scott wrote in 1942 that.... (or is it 1964, 1859)"). Who cares?

By Krubha K

Jan 20, 2021

Most of the ideas shared come under common knowledge, or preferred societal behaviour. It would have been more helpful if there were more insights into putting this into practice. Also would have preferred an open ended questionnaire on how to employ these ideas to sample case studies.

By KARTHIKEYAN M S

Sep 28, 2020

The course seems great with explaining situations in a dramatic way but lacks the pictorial representation of many concepts which in turn is difficult for students from different domains to grasp certain topics. Please try to provide a ppt sort of thing whilst explaining concepts.

By Anneliese P

Jul 25, 2020

The teaching sessions are well done and informative. There are a great many spelling and grammar mistakes, as well as broken links to reading materials (some seem to not be working for years already when I took a look at comments in the discussion forums. This, to me, is a no-go).

By Michael H

Mar 22, 2021

Overall great educational and learning content. Nevertheless few video lectures in relation to the overall course duration. Self-reading modules are often copies from course books and a lot.

Would recommend this course not only as a starter but also as a refresher for any manager.