Chevron Left
Back to Precalculus: Periodic Functions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Precalculus: Periodic Functions by Johns Hopkins University

4.7
stars
90 ratings

About the Course

This course helps to build the foundational material to use mathematics as a tool to model, understand, and interpret the world around us. This is done through studying functions, their properties, and applications to data analysis. Concepts of precalculus provide the set of tools for the beginning student to begin their scientific career, preparing them for future science and calculus courses. This course is designed for all students, not just those interested in further mathematics courses. Students interested in the natural sciences, computer sciences, psychology, sociology, or similar will genuinely benefit from this introductory course, applying the skills learned to their discipline to analyze and interpret their subject material. Students will be presented with not only new ideas, but also new applications of an old subject. Real-life data, exercise sets, and regular assessments help to motivate and reinforce the content in this course, leading to learning and mastery....

Top reviews

NB

Mar 6, 2024

Excellent course in Precalculus, AP Calculus of Periodic Functions and Elementary Trigonometry. It requires a good mathematical background, and it does not include introductory concepts.

HA

May 8, 2021

This course just like the preceding one is brilliant. After a very very very long time I can finally grasp the concepts undelrying the mathematics I studied at the high school.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 25 Reviews for Precalculus: Periodic Functions

By John C

Apr 10, 2021

Excellent course. Trigonometric concepts that, in previous courses, had been intimidating, confusing and tedious became dramatically less so.

By Russell L M

Jun 11, 2022

As usual, I enjoyed this course taught by Dr. Cutrone and learned a lot. Occasionally, though, I felt there was a gap between what was taught and what was tested. Perhaps that was the intent so that learners would push themselves beyond the presented material.

By Don J

Sep 10, 2021

This is the second module of the specialization in calculus, go through these lectures in sequence since the concepts build on each other. The explanations are very clear and even the real world examples are superb. The motivation for learning all these concepts is baked into these lectures through the examples. Would definitely recommend solving the quizzes and sample problems. The professor also explains some historical math while going through the lectures such as where does 360degree come from. Thank you professor for all these lectures.

By John L C

May 24, 2022

Instructor quite a good presenter of this material, generally not stiff and pretty colloqial in his language. Made the material interesting and not overy theoretical. I think a couple of the test/quiz questions were not fairly graded ( thought my answer was identical to the shown correct answer); but it was not often enough to be material to my end result. I would certianly recommend this course for the material, and be more likely to take a course with this instructor.

By Mary C

Apr 4, 2022

Would have liked more background into range, domain, etc since it was on test questions....

By Lee S

Oct 27, 2021

Extremely well taught! Superb explanations and examples.

By Mustafa Y

Mar 3, 2021

I enjoyed the course through and through. Joseph is a great instructor. I had not the slightest trouble videos are simple to comprehend and very to the point. I had no question but one which was responded to shortly after I brought it up in the discussion forums. I shall like to recommend this course to a friend.

By LUIS F A Z

Nov 20, 2020

The course is amazing. It helped me to understand the logic of periodic functions instead only memorize those functions. I think It would be great to provide additional material or books recommendations.

By Nikos B

Mar 7, 2024

Excellent course in Precalculus, AP Calculus of Periodic Functions and Elementary Trigonometry. It requires a good mathematical background, and it does not include introductory concepts.

By Haider A

May 9, 2021

This course just like the preceding one is brilliant. After a very very very long time I can finally grasp the concepts undelrying the mathematics I studied at the high school.

By Van S

Jan 7, 2021

The course is challenging. I learned a lot about trigonometric functions and their behavior. I can now understand periodic ODEs better now...

By Thit N

Mar 19, 2023

Thank you very much for your teaching, Sir! Your lectures are always clean and clear. I wish you were my school teacher.

By Iris C

Mar 11, 2024

It was a fun and tough course on trig functions. The instructor teaches clearly, and I recommend his courses.

By ABDUL M

Nov 20, 2021

Absolutely loved this course. i recommend it to every beginner

By Bill

Sep 8, 2022

Outstanding teacher and well designed online course.

By Marcelino S

Aug 1, 2021

awesome and informative

By Methsara B

Jan 18, 2021

Very usefull course

By TUHIN S M

Jan 9, 2021

TEACHER IS TOO GOOD

By Abdul W

Nov 13, 2023

it's a hard course

By Md.Shariful I

Dec 8, 2020

effective course

By Vianne K P

Apr 9, 2024

Hello! I was fascinated by this course, I'm a Senior High School student learning from this course, with the use of Coursera. I actually like the learning methods wherein it has various video lessons to watch and gain knowledge as well as modules. Having an exercise materials such as quizzes and assignment really does helped me to understand furthermore the lessons. I LOVE THIS COURSE!

By Richard C

Mar 18, 2021

I wish the forums would be a place of exchange of problems among students and professor.

Of the very few errors in the lectures, posting corrections might be valuable as to avoiding loss of hair.

I love the stories of the Japanese math teacher, cos strong, sine mother take the baby out. look at the moon.

By Jason S D M

May 15, 2024

Lectures are excellent. Not enough course material to have problems enough to work through to get proficient so I had to find other resources to work through. If They had about 5x as many problems to solve (usually only 5) prior to the exam that would be great.

By Mihir

Oct 22, 2022

some quizes had some errors

By Rose S

Jun 15, 2024

This course provided absolutely no feedback on any of the quizzes. That isn’t good teaching.