Chevron Left
Back to Precalculus: Relations and Functions

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Precalculus: Relations and Functions by Johns Hopkins University

4.5
stars
37 ratings
12 reviews

About the Course

This course helps to build the foundational material to use mathematics as a tool to model, understand, and interpret the world around us. This is done through studying functions, their properties, and applications to data analysis. Concepts of precalculus provide the set of tools for the beginning student to begin their scientific career, preparing them for future science and calculus courses. This course is designed for all students, not just those interested in further mathematics courses. Students interested in the natural sciences, computer sciences, psychology, sociology, or similar will genuinely benefit from this introductory course, applying the skills learned to their discipline to analyze and interpret their subject material. Students will be presented with not only new ideas, but also new applications of an old subject. Real-life data, exercise sets, and regular assessments help to motivate and reinforce the content in this course, leading to learning and mastery....

Top reviews

JJ
Nov 23, 2020

The course content is great, but despite dozens of moderators, they never answer any questions in the discussion, so you better be able to pass completely on your own.

LZ
Oct 30, 2020

It was an amazing course. I learned a lot. The lessons are not extremely long and have enough content to satisfy you.

Filter by:

1 - 12 of 12 Reviews for Precalculus: Relations and Functions

By Jeremy

Nov 24, 2020

The course content is great, but despite dozens of moderators, they never answer any questions in the discussion, so you better be able to pass completely on your own.

By EVANGELOS K

Jan 2, 2021

The lectures were great and the assignments and quizzes were challenging. This course helped me to understand clearly the domain and range concepts vital for the theory of ordinary differential equations

By LUIS F A Z

Oct 31, 2020

It was an amazing course. I learned a lot. The lessons are not extremely long and have enough content to satisfy you.

By Md. S i

Dec 5, 2020

Very effective course

By TUHIN S M

Dec 29, 2020

FRIENDLY TEACHER

By César M

Nov 24, 2020

Interesante la revision de la funciones elementales

By Mustafa Y

Feb 12, 2021

The course was really nice and engaging, the videos were crystal clear and well made. I was taught all of this before but it had 2 years without ever using them so I had forgotten them hence the course may have been easier for since I mostly had to be reminded about the laws and work arounds. Although I had known the information presented before hand I still found some questions quite unique and challenging. Thanks to everyone that made effort in the making of this course.

By pietbartolo

Feb 2, 2021

I was very happy with the instructor. He explained the concepts using a large number of examples. I like the reading materials that accompanied the lectures. I recommend this course for anybody who needs a good refresher in Pre-Calc.

By TOMÁS N P B

Jan 21, 2021

Very good instructor, with exercises and tests that covers what was seen in the video lectures

By Brenda m

Jan 14, 2021

very challenging-loved it

By Clintwood C

Jan 6, 2021

This course is for people with some experience in precalculus.

The author doesn't spend much time explaining everything in detail but will give a quick around view of the major aspects of the subject. Recommended for people who want to brush up their basics.

Again the course (specialization) consists of a number of other courses which is themed for data modeling, so this first two course focuses on brushing up our linear algebra and trig. Once we get familiarize with the tool for modeling, then I assume the final two-course focuses on the modeling.

As of now, I haven't taken the rest of the specialization, but with a little effort from the course and with the help of any textbook. This course will be helpful to anyone who wants to learn more about Precalc and modeling.

Again precalc is a little extensive, so I can fully understand, with the 4 weeks lecture one can cover only the major areas of it. As said earlier with some help from textbooks and these videos, it will a good learning experience. Looking forward to doing the next course from the specialization.

By Grant B

Nov 29, 2020

In the first lesson you hardly cover any of the material on the test any any meaningful and practical ways. I was able to glean more from 10 minutes on youtube than that whole section