Chevron Left
Back to Successful Presentation

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Successful Presentation by University of Colorado Boulder

4.7
stars
2,636 ratings
453 reviews

About the Course

Few kinds of communication can have the effect of a powerful presentation. Even a short speech can motivate people to change long-held beliefs or to take action, and a wonderfully delivered speech can transform a normal person into a leader. In this course, Prof. William Kuskin provides a series of pragmatic videos and exercises for successful public speaking and presentations. The course develops through four themes—mastering fear, developing a creative formula, using verbal and body language, and anticipating the room—so that you can discover your personal power as a speaker and give excellent presentations. Successful presentations do not rely on perfect teeth, a deep voice, or an army of scriptwriters. They depend largely on the same skills as successful Business Writing and Graphic Design: clarity, structure, and revision. The goal of the course, therefore, is to enable you to discover your own internal power as a speaker and express it to the world. After this course, with some practice, you will be able to go into any situation and command the room for as long as you like. ...

Top reviews

RP
Jun 25, 2020

Really this course is one of my favorite courses ever the way of professor Cuskin's presentation really mindblowing. It's a highly recommended course for all students or anyone with any background.

JM
Jan 8, 2021

very informative and i’ve learned a lot from this course. its not boring because our instructor, Mr William Kuskin explained every module clearly and I want to take this oppotunity to thank him.

Filter by:

426 - 450 of 451 Reviews for Successful Presentation

By Shruthi P

Feb 18, 2021

impressive

By UTKARSH L

Jun 21, 2020

WORST

By Manar E K

May 18, 2020

Thank

By Devivenkata P S

Apr 25, 2021

good

By Sai T P

Feb 17, 2021

good

By Khethan R

Dec 10, 2020

good

By prashant m k

Jul 30, 2020

Good

By SANJEEV B

Jul 3, 2020

NICE

By JOSHI T S

May 5, 2020

good

By Rahul k

Apr 11, 2020

good

By Teja G B

Oct 22, 2020

avg

By Shivani M

Jan 30, 2021

no

By KUNDANA P G

May 1, 2021

-

By mario s

Sep 11, 2020

a

By Rachana S P

May 23, 2020

b

By Michel D

Apr 26, 2021

This course was interesting, and after attending Toastmasters International sessions during 10 years+, I did find a lot of good material, and learnt new techniques.

I regret what I felt was a one-sided approach to Public Speaking/Successful presentation. The one-point idea, the overall grid are excellent tools, but I'm not sure that they work for all types of speech... Inspire, Inform, Convince, Entertain, for example... There was no mention of motivation for the speech, why do we do a particular presentation. If we use the one-point method, it becomes obvious, but I think the motivation should come first.

Also no mention was made of the importance of the presentation length, but I may have missed it!?...

Yet with these reservations, I'm very glad to have taken this class.

By Thanh D

Sep 30, 2019

The course provides some interesting practices and a lot of self-reflections. However, it is rather abstract, difficult for me to follow.

By Reema M

Aug 29, 2020

The course describes a formula that can help in improving public speaking. Focuses on inspiring and motivating the speaker.

By Vivek V S

Mar 18, 2021

It was a great course. I can apply these public speaking skills now a lot better then before.

By ajenkins67@hotmail.com

Aug 31, 2020

good it helped me learn some helpedfull things

allan

By Sunay S

Nov 8, 2020

-

By DESHMUKH S V

Jul 30, 2020

/

By Jahtay T

Feb 17, 2021

This course is repetitive and the videos seem to meander without getting to the specifics. the definitions are vague and there are hardly any examples. The course content is littered with typos and mistakes and the visuals don't really help to make any of the content more understandable. The few good points in this course are brushed over, and instead, each video just seems to talk about the circular nature of presenting and about "pushing" the point at each stage of the process. Of all of the courses in this specialization, this one is the most lacking and gives off a feeling of being half-hearted and extemporaneous.

By TEJASWINI R

Sep 29, 2020

VERY USEFULL

By Syed S

May 22, 2020

expected more to learn but the course did not reach my expectations.