Chevron Left
Back to Privacy in Europe

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Privacy in Europe by EIT Digital

4.4
stars
85 ratings

About the Course

Explore the intricacies of European privacy law in this focused course, designed as a follow-up to "Privacy in the Western World." This course places a strong focus on the European legal framework, which bases its privacy protection on seminal human rights treaties such as the UN Declaration on Human Rights. You'll gain insights into the historical context that shaped Europe's approach to privacy, beginning with economic cooperation initiatives set up to prevent another conflict after the devastating effects of World War II. As you progress, you'll learn how this cooperative framework expanded to address critical issues, including the paramount importance of respecting human rights and, increasingly, the protection of individual privacy—a subject that has attracted substantial global attention. Dive into the legal elements that have played a key role in formalizing the notion of privacy and its legal protection. Specifically, you will examine the rules governing the exchange of personal data between the USA and Europe and delve into the foundational legal components that make up the General Data Protection Regulation (GDPR). Upon completing this course, you'll have a thorough understanding of both the key legal elements and the historical context that led to the development of privacy protection in Europe. Ready to expand your knowledge and become proficient in European privacy law? Enroll now to ensure you don't miss this opportunity....

Top reviews

GK

Sep 22, 2020

Excellent training on privacy in Europe with special focus on GDPR. While the material was presented in clear and concise manner, the reading materials provided our outstanding.

CO

May 9, 2020

The lectures were very explicit and to the point. The powerpoints also very useful and the suggested readings also.

Filter by:

1 - 20 of 20 Reviews for Privacy in Europe

By Ganesh K

Sep 23, 2020

Excellent training on privacy in Europe with special focus on GDPR. While the material was presented in clear and concise manner, the reading materials provided our outstanding.

By Jan J V

Jun 15, 2020

The reading materials are excellent, relevant and very detailed. This course gives a very thorough insight in the latest European data protection regulations. Recommended!

By Lauri H

Oct 1, 2021

A compact course about the history and development of privacy regulations in Europe. Provides a good overview and includes lots of interesting extra readings. Lecture videos didn't seem always that well prepared, but felt like freestyling.

By Fan Z

May 12, 2021

Thank you for sharing, but in the video part, the professor just reads his power points and it was even not so fluent. Personally, I think reading a book about GDPR is definitely more productive than taking this course.

By Yaki M

Aug 27, 2020

This course is not that informative, as a course. Most of the information is expected to be obtained by reading external sources- some of which are outdated. My expectation was that if there is something important to share with the students, this would be shared during the lectures and not just as reading material.

By Vladimir B

Mar 16, 2022

The course is too easy. And now the course is oriented only to law students, not a IT-students. It will be good to see more technical details (about automatic processing, algorithms of anonimising, profiling, depersonalisation, personal data in Internet and so on)

By Catarina C P V d O

May 10, 2020

The lectures were very explicit and to the point. The powerpoints also very useful and the suggested readings also.

By Mariam S 1

Dec 18, 2020

The course is very informative for me. It will help me in my studies

By Valentina

Aug 31, 2022

Good mix of historical, theoretical and practical elements of GDPR

By Mara B

May 21, 2020

Interesting and very useful course. Thank you very much.

By Francos G S A

Dec 29, 2020

something new to learn

By Modupe A

Feb 25, 2022

Wonderful1

By ELMER M P

Oct 10, 2022

excelent

By Marta N T

Feb 20, 2022

The best of the course is all the articles, reports, and additional document that they provide for you. They cover very interesting topics such as blockchain or legal cases. However, the videos I found them to be quite simplistic, and it felt the speaker was basically reading the ppts more than expanding their content. While the ppts and videos are good at getting an overview of the law, the documents are what provide the best insights and reflections on these topics.

By Johann F d W

Jun 23, 2020

A wealth of information, thank you very much! My only issue was with mr. Smits, being a non-native speaker of English, sometimes getting caught up in language hurdles, which proved slightly distracting. Still, I reckon I'll be looking up more courses by EIT Digital.

By Eveline S

Sep 18, 2020

Very clear and straightforward, the example of cases are relevant!

By Steve D

Apr 27, 2022

LIttle too much reading material

By Paul C

Oct 18, 2023

Unfortunately, this course has not been updated since it was published (2020?). Things have changed and I would urge the course provider to refresh this or, at the very least, make addenda to the course materials, to flag changes. For example, Russia left the Council of Europe in 2022. In Week 3, we could download the 'Handbook on European Data Protection Law'. But this was the 2014 version. A more recent version was published in 2018. So, why haven't things like this been refreshed? Also, the lectures are difficult to follow because the lecturer is a non-native English speaker. That's fine. But to make it easier to understand the excellent points he is making the script could have been clearer. Also, in the lecture notes some words have been re-produced phonetically. The production of this course is a bit sloppy and it feels like it was put together without great attention (e.g. see Week 6), which is a shame because there is some very good content.

By Ahmad A

Jan 5, 2024

The Instructor could not express himself enough. His sentences and statements are usually incomplete. One would have enjoyed it more if there was an instructor with better communication skills, who could pass a more complete and understandable message with great examples. The current instructor should handle the materials but should have delegated the aspect of actual tutoring to someone else.

By Steven L

Dec 21, 2023

Bad english and i couldn't understand half of it. The course content should be more structure and organise.