Chevron Left
Back to Private Equity and Venture Capital

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Private Equity and Venture Capital by Università Bocconi

4.8
2,757 ratings
664 reviews

About the Course

The course deals with the analysis of the private equity and venture capital business. Over the course, students will be provided with a deep understanding of the mechanism underpinning the creation and/or development of a firm and the financial support it can get from the financial system through venture capital investment. The course tries to discover how special financial intermediaries (called private equity investors) finance through equity companies belonging to different stages of their life-cycle, starting from the very beginning (startup and early stage) to a more mature phase (i.e. expansion, mature age, etc.) or also staying into crises and decline. Private equity (named venture capital when the company is in the first phases of its life cycle) deals with very different activities, such as scouting, advisory, deal-making, valuation, and financing as financial intermediaries see it. COURSE SYLLABUS The course is made up of four different modules: WEEK 1 - Introduction to Private Equity and Venture Capital WEEK 2 - Discovering Private Equity Investors: Legal Issues and Taxation WEEK 3 - Management of Private Equity and Venture Capital Funds WEEK 4 - Company Valuation And Deal Making In Private Equity Settings WEEK 5 - Final Test Throughout the course, guest speakers and practitioners will be interviewed to provide some examples of concrete applications of the contents presented. RECOMMENDED BACKGROUND An understanding of the basic concepts of corporate financing accounting principles is required, while prior knowledge of private equity and venture capital is not required however it is recommended, as this is a course designed to introduce you to the fundamental concepts in private equity and venture capital....

Top reviews

AM

Dec 04, 2015

Amazing course! Thank you very much, Stefano Caselli, for a such wonderful content and perfect presenting. I took a lot of very useful and practical information from it.\n\nI do appreciate it. Thanks!

TP

Oct 27, 2019

Excellent content, and superb slides.\n\nPlease check the quality of the English in the slides, and also in the quiz questions. Many quiz questions were difficult to understand because of the English.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 650 Reviews for Private Equity and Venture Capital

By Sushovan J

Nov 13, 2018

One Request : Please show Calculation if Possible by Using a Class Room Type Board and Marker.;

By Seah Y N

Oct 23, 2018

Great course covering a good foundation of PEI & VC (from a legal and process standpoint) and commonly-used formulas. Lecturer provided much context of the real world through interview with practicing PEIs.

By Charles Z

May 30, 2016

Too simple to be realistic

By Benji C

Jul 11, 2018

Great starting point to learn about Venture Capital. If you're more of a visual learner instead of auditory, I'd recommend taking more than 10 minutes to take notes on the slides, then listening to the videos at 1.25 speed.

By Malte B

Aug 28, 2018

Love the way you are even asked to write out answers and there is even someone answering on your feedback. Powerpoints to be prepared and then the Video Lectures make it perfectly easy to understand such a topic (just at week 2 atm so quiet amazed what`s still gonna come).

I really recommend first going through the Presentation slides and then take notes during his VIdeo Lectures to round it up. Thank you for this great Content, your the best :D

By Karol S

Dec 08, 2018

Very good course. I would extend the calculation part and go slower and more specific. The exemplification is to general regarding the calculations complexity.

By Aram D B

Jun 04, 2019

Stefano Caselli is a great professor. A friend of mine took a course with him during his masters program at SDA Bocconi and all I was told was just how good Mr. Caselli is as a professor. He teaching style is more practical than theoretical and is what most professors in this day and age lack. Would recommend this course to anyone with an interest in finance.

By Ankit S

Jul 04, 2017

Very good course to understand the basics. I now have a solid platform to learn more advanced topics in this field. The best aspect of the course is its structured approach of slides and information.

By Gary G

Oct 05, 2016

Great overall material.

I think work needs to be done in order to improve the presentation of new concepts and vocabulary as well as the English of the speaker (and the corresponding caption).

By Felix T

May 13, 2019

Very good introductory course to this complex subject. Videos are well explained and material is simple but sufficient. On the down side, I just felt that the lat module was a bit unstructured and that evaluations were not very numeric, even when a couple of modules do go into detail for numeric examples of exercises

By Marvin G G

Nov 18, 2018

Fantastic! The broad basics of PE presented very well and easy to understand.

My recommendation: Use more real world companies to show the aspects of regulation and tax and exits, ...

By Ekaterina C

Dec 20, 2018

Great course. SO useful that there are slides for every lecture, saves A LOT of time cause you don't have to take notes and istead can just study from slides and lectures. Great professor explains everything clearly!

By Sergey B

Dec 23, 2018

Overall, good content to introduce in PE.

By Dmitriy B

Dec 24, 2018

Thank you for the good course

By Karan S C

Dec 13, 2018

Fantastic course to understand the PE process.

By Abhishek R

Jan 27, 2019

Very nice

By Leila M H d S

Jan 03, 2019

Great training on PE/VC - worth to take it!

By Temitope B

Feb 01, 2019

This is a detailed and technical course. It covers the private equity industry in the United States, United Kingdom and European Union by providing the key points that practitioners in each region should know

By Mahsa K

Feb 01, 2019

it was an practical and useful course, so helpful for my job.

By David I

Feb 03, 2019

This course is really interesting and give much knowledge about venture capital and private equity

By Hessam K

Feb 03, 2019

Great contents. I'm a startup CEO and it helped me to get a better perspective on PE/VC world. Thank you.

By Juan L

Feb 03, 2019

A very interesting course which helps anybody to achieve a wide and deep understanding related to the PE &VC world.

By Kishore C

Nov 24, 2018

I found the course very useful explaining beyond the fundamentals.

The lectures covering 'Valuation' were most valuable.

By Ibilola

Nov 08, 2018

It was expository and explanatory. The slides and material made it easy to follow the course and I have been able to increase my wealth of knowledge.

By Marie C B

Nov 08, 2018

Very useful and interesting content