Chevron Left
Back to The Art of Music Production

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Art of Music Production by Berklee

4.8
stars
1,997 ratings

About the Course

Explore the art of record production and how to make recordings that other people will love listening to. This course will teach you how to make emotionally moving recordings on almost any recording equipment, including your phone or laptop. The emphasis is on mastering tangible artistic concepts; the gear you use is up to you. You will learn to develop the most important tool in the recording studio: your ears. You will learn to enhance every aspect of your own productions, both sonically and musically, by employing deeper listening skills. Assignments will include posting your own recordings for peer review, and reviewing your classmates’ work by employing specific tools and strategies. If you use a digital audio workstation to record and mix, that’s great, but as long as you can record into your computer and post an MP3, you can complete the assignments. As you learn about the art of record production in this 4-week course, you will also learn about yourself and who you are as an artist and producer. It is not necessary that you read music or play an instrument to take this course....

Top reviews

RM

Jul 28, 2020

I really enjoyed this course. I learned how to create my very first music song all on my own using an interface. I am independent and ready to make lots more music in my home on my own time by myself.

BD

Aug 21, 2018

Really enjoyed this and got a lot out of it.

Great curriculum, great delivery. Meaningful assignments, great community. Highly recommend if you want to reflect on and hone your artistic vision.

Filter by:

576 - 597 of 597 Reviews for The Art of Music Production

By Marco M

Feb 24, 2019

Quick but inspiring enough.

By Brandon W

Jan 3, 2018

Good fundamental learning.

By Donald B

Oct 10, 2016

Nice intro to production.

By Marcos F

Jan 5, 2019

Es un excelente curso

By Lofi A

Sep 26, 2020

very inspirational

By Matthew A

Jan 31, 2017

Excellent!

By Ayush

Mar 13, 2019

too basic

By Carolina C

Nov 1, 2022

nice!

By Anand P T

Oct 29, 2020

Nice

By Timothy A C B

Aug 24, 2020

I found the course not so useful for me. There are a lot of little tips of everything about production but nothing too serious. But some things I found interesting, like writing the emotions, vision and intention of the project. Also some tips can scape from your mind sometimes, so it was great to have them writen down. Maybe for people that really doesn't know anything about music production it can be very useful because I'm a sound engineer student so most of the things I've already learned from working with music producers on previews projects. But for me it wasn't satisfying.

By Craig M

Dec 4, 2020

Course was ok, I was hoping to go indepth into mixing and mastering, but hopefully will do in the next corse (I'm doing the Music Production Specialization)

If I had a note, I'd tell the guy on video to stop the constant side-view switches on video, nobody wants to watch you talking from the side as if talking to someone else.

By Dhruv M

May 2, 2021

I learned a lot but I feel like after a while it got boring

By Vasco R M B

Jan 28, 2017

Too short, interesting but far too short

By Collin M

Dec 3, 2016

pretty cool course

By jonathan h

Dec 4, 2016

haha we just

By Ilya K

Aug 2, 2022

I think the level of this course is confusing, it should be Basin instead of Intermediate.

The content is good, but very basic.

The most disappointing part of the course to me was peer reviews - they are very low quality so you can't really understand if you are doing it right or wrong and if anything could be improved.

By Deleted A

Oct 12, 2021

I'm beset with email spam over this course. I don't want it.

I'm going to unenroll because of it. There's no way to "unsubscribe" from within the email.

You betrayed my trust with this.

I shouldn't have downloaded your BOL-music-production-handbook PDF and given you my email.

By Hailey N K

Feb 13, 2021

Honestly, this was a great course at the start, however...

It asked on Week 2 to create your own song already, having learned much to nothing about the process, DAW, or anything useful. It was supposed to be beginner friendly, but didn't really feel that way.

By Mykyta C

Jan 24, 2022

This one was too fluflly, I wouldn't say that I got to much applicable knowledge

By ASHNA G

Jun 21, 2020

It is good learning experience .

By Tyrone B

Oct 31, 2021

How do I cancel this course?

By Joan M R D A

Nov 23, 2022

Didn't learn anything technical. This workshop didn't improve my production skills.