Chevron Left
Back to The Art of Music Production

Learner Reviews & Feedback for The Art of Music Production by Berklee

4.8
stars
2,007 ratings

About the Course

Explore the art of record production and how to make recordings that other people will love listening to. This course will teach you how to make emotionally moving recordings on almost any recording equipment, including your phone or laptop. The emphasis is on mastering tangible artistic concepts; the gear you use is up to you. You will learn to develop the most important tool in the recording studio: your ears. You will learn to enhance every aspect of your own productions, both sonically and musically, by employing deeper listening skills. Assignments will include posting your own recordings for peer review, and reviewing your classmates’ work by employing specific tools and strategies. If you use a digital audio workstation to record and mix, that’s great, but as long as you can record into your computer and post an MP3, you can complete the assignments. As you learn about the art of record production in this 4-week course, you will also learn about yourself and who you are as an artist and producer. It is not necessary that you read music or play an instrument to take this course....

Top reviews

PC

Invalid date

Definitely stretched me to think of myself as an artist rather than just a musician. This course is a great starting point for someone who wants to get into the nitty gritty of the creative process!

AF

Invalid date

In this section I've learned a great deal about music as art form. I can now appreciate music much better and challenge myself while listening to a song or watching a singer or performance.

Filter by:

551 - 575 of 599 Reviews for The Art of Music Production

By Lisa G

May 17, 2017

Very good introductory course for those looking to get started creating their own music, who don't have a lot of experience doing os, or who could use a few tips to enhance what they already do.

By Ingrid E C Z

Jul 28, 2020

It´s a very good training for a beginner in this matter. The tips and orientations are very interesting and very helpul. The teacher Stephen Webber explains clearly and in a friendly way.

By Manling W

May 30, 2017

I learned a lot of things from the lectures, assignments and the feedbacks from classmates. I hope our works can be read by the lecturer or the real tutors someday.

By Travis L B

Jan 6, 2021

Very good to refresh on the basics or to learn for the first time. Hoping this leads into more dynamic coursework in the rest of the music production curriculum.

By Jakub P

Jan 6, 2017

Very informative and engaging. Stephen's attitude makes you want to go and make recordings right away, it's a pity you can't take quizzes without paying though.

By Rahul M

May 15, 2019

Really helped me understand the very subtle details that a producer should start observing while on the job or outside of it. Very Insightful and interesting.

By Jordi E

Apr 24, 2020

Very useful! I wish I had done it before! It's also very enriching to have feedback from other people who are into music, some really good advices there!

By Tatiana L C

Apr 22, 2017

It would have been so much better if the content of week 4 were given to us at the very beginning. Other than that i am happy with the course :)

By miguel r

Feb 17, 2021

It was pretty comprehensive and I definitely feel like I have improved my skills quite a bit! I cant wait to continue this speciality!

By Shashank B

Sep 8, 2020

Even though not very technical ,I was given the foundation for production and recording which was really necessary. Thank You!!

By León M

Apr 15, 2021

Really great to start in the production world. Gave a nice perspective on which parts of my process need attention and study.

By Hannah K

Dec 7, 2020

Thanks for this course. It really made me think and grow as a musician, but also as a potential music producer one day.

By Raphael A

Jul 4, 2017

It is a cool course to get basic knowledge about the art of music production, tho it doesn't get into great details.

By Hassan M

Apr 2, 2019

it was a great course i 've learned how music structured and songs and give me lt general understanding of songs .

By Milo A H M

Aug 1, 2023

Nice beginner course - good starting point for music production to help define your sound and identity in music.

By S.B.

Nov 19, 2018

Very informative. Good tutorials and instruction. It was helpful to refine skills and learn new ones.

By Preston S

May 18, 2020

Good but very elementary. Good source of foundation though. Worth it but can speed through it.

By Ánderson C

Apr 6, 2020

This course will improve you as a producer and give you tools and knowledge about it.

By Sebastian A O H

Nov 1, 2019

Overall a good course! I expected a little more in-depth theory or techniques though.

By Nicky P

Jun 28, 2016

This course gives great insight on how to approach song writing and music production!

By Daniel S

Oct 8, 2018

learned some important fundamentals. This course is definitely for beginners

By Nikhil K

Oct 3, 2016

Very informative. Helped in understanding various minor aspects

By Probal K D

Nov 9, 2020

It was just an amazing part of music production..

By Mark B

May 13, 2021

I didn't know this art of music production

By RISHAB K

Aug 20, 2020

Its a good course for a beginner