Chevron Left
Back to Programming Fundamentals

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Programming Fundamentals by Duke University

4.7
1,413 ratings
334 reviews

About the Course

Programming is an increasingly important skill, whether you aspire to a career in software development, or in other fields. This course is the first in the specialization Introduction to Programming in C, but its lessons extend to any language you might want to learn. This is because programming is fundamentally about figuring out how to solve a class of problems and writing the algorithm, a clear set of steps to solve any problem in its class. This course will introduce you to a powerful problem-solving process—the Seven Steps—which you can use to solve any programming problem. In this course, you will learn how to develop an algorithm, then progress to reading code and understanding how programming concepts relate to algorithms....

Top reviews

AB

Aug 04, 2019

This course helps to develop logical thinking & helps to understand how program would work before writing actual program. The basics of Programming are explained in detail with description & Videos

RK

Jul 21, 2019

If you are new to C programming and know nothing about it then its amazing course to get started with C programming. It completely felt like being spoon-fed for the material taught in this course.

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 330 Reviews for Programming Fundamentals

By Omar M B

Nov 03, 2018

So many readings. I need more videos

By Luie J

May 03, 2018

It's like reading a book. There is a lot of written material, and in the videos the instructors just repeat the the things we just read. I didn't feel that the videos contributed much to the learning process. I guess that I expected something else.

By Mariam S

Apr 09, 2019

I would like to know more general things like how programming works, how frameworks, libraries work and so on.

By Matthew L

Jun 26, 2019

The description says this course is for beginners to programming, but you are expected to know more than the instructors to pass some of the quizzes, and there is no help for your incorrect answers. Do not pay for this course unless you know you can pass the quizzes, especially the quizzes for week 3. They are extremely difficult and not designed for learning.

By Seth

Apr 21, 2019

I love the focus of this first course in the specialization is about problem solving and developing a mindset for programming. The course is well thought out and concepts are clearly explained!

By Arthur M

Apr 08, 2019

Really great course. Took this as a refresher. I feel that the content of this course was significantly higher quality than the programming tuition I received in first semester of university.

By Esther M A

Jun 27, 2019

Great way to get the fundamentals of programming when you don't have formal training in a BA or similar, but are working in Data Science or related fields. The explanations are clear and deep enough to give you an idea of where you need to go in your own time.

By Aliki D

Jun 30, 2019

Simple stuff made complicated and no logic in a lot of questions.

Requiring to guess the logic (guess the algorithm) with which the results are created help neither to learn programming nor to be better at it. In a work environment, the client never requests from the developer to guess the logic with which the numbers are created.

As a beginner, I had a very hard time to understand the material and to deliver results. A lot of personal research in online material and videos was required in order to understand the Beginner material provided by this course.

I wouldn't recommend it for true beginners.

By Ravi K

Jul 21, 2019

If you are new to C programming and know nothing about it then its amazing course to get started with C programming. It completely felt like being spoon-fed for the material taught in this course.

By Yi-Shiun, C

Jan 23, 2019

the design of assignment is not as clear or as good as what in Udacity.

By Douglas N

May 07, 2018

This class is not for beginners. You need some concept of programming before starting this. Otherwise you will be seriously swamped by the jumps that are taken from week 1 to week 4. For some reason the course does not provide explanations for the quiz/practice quiz questions. This was puzzling since obviously they knew the right answers. It left a huge gap for learning and made further lectures more difficult since past issues were not completely explained. I have a background in computer science and am fluent in VBA. There are complexities that a day one programmer will struggle to overcome.

By Felisa S

Jan 17, 2018

Very difficult! Definitely not for beginners.

By Roman S

Apr 05, 2018

Bad structure. Can't recommend. Price is to high for this poor quality of content.

By Val G

Apr 21, 2018

The quizzes for this course are grossly unfair. They take on the character of math tests. I've hit the wall and I'm dropping out after week one. At this point Im guessing answers and I am intelligent and trying hard. I assume the quizzes are intended to filter people out. Well, congrtulations, you filtered me out.

By Jimmy K A

Nov 11, 2018

Really Excellent course. Fully understandable and very useful.

By fengkeyleaf

Jun 27, 2019

Great Courses! I've learned a more general way to write an algorithm, rather than starting coding right away! This is very helpful in the future study~

By Harith U

Jun 25, 2019

The course was extremely easy to follow (It helped that I had some programming background, using loops and conditional statements, but the course taught me a lot of new stuff). I learnt how variables are stored in memory for different datatypes, how to use struct and typedef, etc. I would recommend this course for anyone looking to start learning the fundamentals of programming.

By Shashank S

Sep 03, 2019

The course was amazing and I learned a lot through it.

By anjunshao

Sep 17, 2019

Very good course for beginners to learn.

By Amrita A

Sep 27, 2019

As a beginner this course was very helpful to understand the basic concepts of C programming language .

By Sandipan K

Mar 25, 2019

Really helpful for beginners

By Sahil T

Dec 12, 2018

Very useful if you are new to programming in general and want to learn C in particular.

By Raunak R

Mar 26, 2019

Awesome Course

By Carla C O P

Jan 28, 2019

It made me happy! :)

By SUJOY N

Apr 02, 2019

Teaching Team is really good. I have got a great experience to complete to complete this course.

Thanks to Coursera.