Chevron Left
Back to Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project by Google

4.8
stars
2,003 ratings
449 reviews

About the Course

This is the second course in the Google Project Management Certificate program. This course will show you how to set a project up for success in the first phase of the project life cycle: the project initiation phase. In exploring the key components of this phase, you’ll learn how to define and manage project goals, deliverables, scope, and success criteria. You’ll discover how to use tools and templates like stakeholder analysis grids and project charters to help you set project expectations and communicate roles and responsibilities. Current Google project managers will continue to instruct and provide you with hands-on approaches for accomplishing these tasks while showing you the best project management tools and resources for the job at hand. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand the significance of the project initiation phase of the project life cycle. - Describe the key components of the project initiation phase. - Determine a project’s benefits and costs. - Define and create measurable project goals and deliverables. - Define project scope and differentiate among tasks that are in-scope and out-of-scope. - Understand how to manage scope creep to avoid impacting project goals. - Define and measure a project’s success criteria. - Complete a stakeholder analysis and explain its significance. - Utilize RACI charts to define and communicate project team member responsibilities. - Understand the key components of project charters and develop a project charter for project initiation. - Evaluate various project management tools to meet project needs....

Top reviews

SS
May 10, 2021

Excellent content, wonderful use of multi-media interaces and check points to keep the pace moving and great introduction of different stories and people with real life perspectives and experiences.

KF
Jul 30, 2021

This was a pretty informative course. I did enjoy the activities they pushed me to learn new tech. good job. I only had a major technical issue with one activity, it was in week four.\n\nThank you!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 490 Reviews for Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project

By Anmar Z

Apr 4, 2021

The peer graded part needs to be redone. It is very difficult to have someone else not certified to do such a job based on their knowledge gathered mostly from this course so far. It should either be an AI or a quiz assignment.

By Elizabeth A

Apr 1, 2021

Juanne (Instructor) was great - very well spoken and easy to understand. There's a lot of material here! The peer review for some of the assignments is interesting - I did learn from doing it, but I'm not certain that everyone will grade the same way. It's only a few assignments, so even if it's a bit skewed, it won't sway things too much, and the learning makes it worthwhile.

By Maddy F

Apr 15, 2021

The course material good but the peer grading process is poor. Requiring you to download others documents to your computer to review is a giant security risk. All documents should be required to be cloud based. This is a google course, google docs are free, there is nothing limiting everyone from using that platform.

By Andrea M

Mar 19, 2021

Submissions are always rejected by other users to generate anticipation and an inability to continue the course.

By Thomas K

Apr 6, 2021

Excellent course that goes into the details of starting a successful project. This was a meaty unit that required persistence to finish. However, it was completely worth it!!

By Chandra S

Apr 8, 2021

Great content as usual , definitely has lot of valuable information and tools for a project manager to add to his armor !!

By Jasson C

Mar 16, 2021

Great course on one of the most important phases for successful project management

By Adrienne T

Mar 18, 2021

Easy to digest, appeals to all types of learners, thorough and fun.

By Isaac P

Apr 1, 2021

Very good course, the templates are very valuable

By Fred P

Apr 4, 2021

Great information and well developed course.

By Cole B

May 6, 2021

peer graded assignments are keeping me from completing the course and gaining access to my certificate

By Adam B

Mar 19, 2021

I really enjoyed this course and found it very informative. My only struggle with this was in the peer-reviewed assignments. Feedback from the peer reviewers was limited, and when reviewing others, if a person had linked a Google doc but hadn't made it accessible to anyone with a link, I was unable to access it and review it. The course did not provide an option (that I could see) to skip that person's assignment and move to the next one, so the only way to review another assignment (required to review two assignments in order to have your own graded) was to go into the discussion boards and find people who had posted links asking to have theirs reviewed.

By Deniece T

Apr 6, 2021

Genuinely no time was wasted on this course! If you're new to Project Management, you'll take away so much value. The program is well-designed and well-delivered, leaving you challenged and fueled, instead of feeling stressed and inadequate. You get interactive assessments to build strong fundamentals in developing a project charter, understanding OKRs, learning how to perform Stakeholder Analysis and RACI charts. All of these that you will come to know of, will contribute greatly to your knowledge base as an aspiring project manager. If you dedicate a couple of hours a day, you can power through this easily in 2 weeks!

By Vu H

Apr 11, 2021

This course's content is extremely helpful in providing the overall responsibilities of a project manager during the initiation phase of the project. The initiation phase of a project is usually taken lightly by many project managers. Some of the key concepts for a PM to know and understand are well-explained in this course. I was really interested to learn about the stakeholder analysis and RACI chart which to me, are very useful and I can't wait to start implementing them into my project management.

By Gunnar A

Apr 29, 2021

This was really exceptional at explaining things immediately useful for me in my non-management job. Knowing what to ask of my PMs is so helpful, take this course if you're on the fence. In fact just take the whole certificate if you can afford it, if you can't you can apply for assistance and they are very generous with giving it out for whatever your reasons are. Best of luck :)

By Mary H

Apr 4, 2021

This is a fantastic course your offering Google. I worked as a Project Manager for several years but I've been on disability for 10 years and it's a great course. Thank you for offering something so affordable that I could take to give me a refresher and help me get my bearings again to get back into the job market!!

By Andreas L

Mar 21, 2021

After the foundation of project management, this was a great second course to learn all the details about project initiation and planning. There are so many factors that can ruin a good project before it ever started. So it's essential to get off a good start! This course teaches you all about that and some extra.

By Reza B

Apr 8, 2021

Project Initiation is a crucial and kind of forgotten phase of the project life cycle. It is necessary to have a deep understanding on this subject before dive in the project planning and executing. It will help to avoid many type of failures; trust me!

By Umar A

May 6, 2021

Amazing course. Comprehensive coverage of details and introduction to Stakeholder Analysis, RACI charts, Project Charter and tools. A brief demonstration of some of mentioned tools will add more value in this course.

By Stephanie

May 11, 2021

Excellent content, wonderful use of multi-media interaces and check points to keep the pace moving and great introduction of different stories and people with real life perspectives and experiences.

By Dave

Mar 23, 2021

A great introduction to understanding the basis of completing a project. Teaches the fundamental building block needed for any successful projects and techniques every project manager needs.

By HAKKI A

Apr 14, 2021

I gained a lot from this course because instructions are clearly explained by giving specific examples for each and every assignment. I would like to thank the instructor for this course.

By Adrian P

Mar 26, 2021

JuAnne has been amazing in the videos! Very happy with the course and the level of detail provided! Glad a lot more techincal aspects have been covered!

By Syed M H J

Apr 3, 2021

Very important phase of any project. Presented beautifully. PLEASE DO THE ASSIGNMENTS! I wish there were more case studies, but still a GREAT course!

By Андрей Н

Apr 3, 2021

What to say - the must know in Google what is the meaning of successful project. The course is great with lot of practical knowledge.