Chevron Left
Back to Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project by Google

4.8
stars
309 ratings
72 reviews

About the Course

This is the second course in the Google Project Management Certificate program. This course will show you how to set a project up for success in the first phase of the project life cycle: the project initiation phase. In exploring the key components of this phase, you’ll learn how to define and manage project goals, deliverables, scope, and success criteria. You’ll discover how to use tools and templates like stakeholder analysis grids and project charters to help you set project expectations and communicate roles and responsibilities. Current Google project managers will continue to instruct and provide you with hands-on approaches for accomplishing these tasks while showing you the best project management tools and resources for the job at hand. Learners who complete this program should be equipped to apply for introductory-level jobs as project managers. No previous experience is necessary. By the end of this course, you will be able to: - Understand the significance of the project initiation phase of the project life cycle. - Describe the key components of the project initiation phase. - Determine a project’s benefits and costs. - Define and create measurable project goals and deliverables. - Define project scope and differentiate among tasks that are in-scope and out-of-scope. - Understand how to manage scope creep to avoid impacting project goals. - Define and measure a project’s success criteria. - Complete a stakeholder analysis and explain its significance. - Utilize RACI charts to define and communicate project team member responsibilities. - Understand the key components of project charters and develop a project charter for project initiation. - Evaluate various project management tools to meet project needs....

Top reviews

DD
Mar 22, 2021

A great introduction to understanding the basis of completing a project. Teaches the fundamental building block needed for any successful projects and techniques every project manager needs.

TK
Apr 5, 2021

Excellent course that goes into the details of starting a successful project. This was a meaty unit that required persistence to finish. However, it was completely worth it!!

Filter by:

1 - 25 of 73 Reviews for Project Initiation: Starting a Successful Project

By Jasson C

Mar 16, 2021

Great course on one of the most important phases for successful project management

By Adrienne T

Mar 18, 2021

Easy to digest, appeals to all types of learners, thorough and fun.

By Andreas L

Mar 21, 2021

After the foundation of project management, this was a great second course to learn all the details about project initiation and planning. There are so many factors that can ruin a good project before it ever started. So it's essential to get off a good start! This course teaches you all about that and some extra.

By Hichem B

Mar 21, 2021

Great job, I was really amazed by the way the instructor was performing. keep up

By LUIZ F M

Mar 21, 2021

Very good! It provides tools and concepts to start a project in the right way!

By Anmar Z

Apr 4, 2021

The peer graded part needs to be redone. It is very difficult to have someone else not certified to do such a job based on their knowledge gathered mostly from this course so far. It should either be an AI or a quiz assignment.

By Andrea M

Mar 19, 2021

Submissions are always rejected by other users to generate anticipation and an inability to continue the course.

By Lyubov K

Mar 17, 2021

Dear team,

The course I am enrolled in offers a lot more than what I expected and I am more than satisfied with my study. Thank you for offering me the opportunity to do this course!

An area which can be improved is the Quizzes questions and answers vs what is said in the videos.

RE: Google Project Management Professional Certificate Quiz issue

Please find below the discrepancy between what was said in the videos and the answers in the final Quiz, Week 2, Course 2 – Project Initiation:

Course 2 Project Initiation Week 3 - Defining Projects Role video

A project sponsor is the person who is accountable for the project and who ensures the project delivers the agreed upon value to the business. They play a vital leadership role throughout the process. Sometimes they fund the project.

Course 2 Project Initiation Week 3 - final Quiz - In the Quiz, If the student selects the answer above, it will show as incorrect answer. I took screenshots but unfortunately cannot attach them to my feedback here.

Course 2 Project Initiation Week 3 -Elements of RACI Chart video

There are several other factors that can cause role confusion. For example, there might be

· unbalanced workloads, which means some people might be doing more work or less work than others on the team.

Course 2 Project Initiation Week 3 - final Quiz - In the Quiz, If the student selects the answer above, it will show as incorrect answer. I took screenshots but unfortunately cannot attach them to my feedback.

Kind Regards,

Lyubov Koycheva

By Adam B

Mar 19, 2021

I really enjoyed this course and found it very informative. My only struggle with this was in the peer-reviewed assignments. Feedback from the peer reviewers was limited, and when reviewing others, if a person had linked a Google doc but hadn't made it accessible to anyone with a link, I was unable to access it and review it. The course did not provide an option (that I could see) to skip that person's assignment and move to the next one, so the only way to review another assignment (required to review two assignments in order to have your own graded) was to go into the discussion boards and find people who had posted links asking to have theirs reviewed.

By Deniece T

Apr 6, 2021

Genuinely no time was wasted on this course! If you're new to Project Management, you'll take away so much value. The program is well-designed and well-delivered, leaving you challenged and fueled, instead of feeling stressed and inadequate. You get interactive assessments to build strong fundamentals in developing a project charter, understanding OKRs, learning how to perform Stakeholder Analysis and RACI charts. All of these that you will come to know of, will contribute greatly to your knowledge base as an aspiring project manager. If you dedicate a couple of hours a day, you can power through this easily in 2 weeks!

By Vu H

Apr 11, 2021

This course's content is extremely helpful in providing the overall responsibilities of a project manager during the initiation phase of the project. The initiation phase of a project is usually taken lightly by many project managers. Some of the key concepts for a PM to know and understand are well-explained in this course. I was really interested to learn about the stakeholder analysis and RACI chart which to me, are very useful and I can't wait to start implementing them into my project management.

By Mary H

Apr 4, 2021

This is a fantastic course your offering Google. I worked as a Project Manager for several years but I've been on disability for 10 years and it's a great course. Thank you for offering something so affordable that I could take to give me a refresher and help me get my bearings again to get back into the job market!!

By Christine M

Mar 30, 2021

I have learnt so much about project management. The learning format is perfect with the real life example and the combination of videos and reading. The presenter is extremely upbeat and makes it easy to follow. The information is very detailed and gives me such a more in-depth view of project management.

By Reza B

Apr 8, 2021

Project Initiation is a crucial and kind of forgotten phase of the project life cycle. It is necessary to have a deep understanding on this subject before dive in the project planning and executing. It will help to avoid many type of failures; trust me!

By Dave

Mar 23, 2021

A great introduction to understanding the basis of completing a project. Teaches the fundamental building block needed for any successful projects and techniques every project manager needs.

By Ivan L R

Apr 6, 2021

It really highlights the importance of knowing the key components of the initiation phase: goals, scope, deliverables, success criteria, stakeholders and resources. Great course!

By Thomas K

Apr 6, 2021

Excellent course that goes into the details of starting a successful project. This was a meaty unit that required persistence to finish. However, it was completely worth it!!

By Adrian P

Mar 26, 2021

JuAnne has been amazing in the videos! Very happy with the course and the level of detail provided! Glad a lot more techincal aspects have been covered!

By Syed M H J

Apr 3, 2021

Very important phase of any project. Presented beautifully. PLEASE DO THE ASSIGNMENTS! I wish there were more case studies, but still a GREAT course!

By Katherina

Mar 24, 2021

Extremely well-done and executed. Coursework is concise, encouraging, and makes me want to learn more. Thank you so much, Google and Coursera.

By Андрей Н

Apr 3, 2021

What to say - the must know in Google what is the meaning of successful project. The course is great with lot of practical knowledge.

By Chandra S

Apr 8, 2021

Great content as usual , definitely has lot of valuable information and tools for a project manager to add to his armor !!

By Manzur E K R

Apr 9, 2021

Very well designed course. Some assignment prompts can be improved, sometimes there was not sufficient information.

By Martyn J

Apr 12, 2021

Great into to project initiation phase of the project. Detailed information on all steps involved provided.

By Laura E

Mar 23, 2021

Great course! Teaches a lot of tools to make sure the project is setup up for success from the beginning.