Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
22,763 ratings
5,102 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

AU
Dec 9, 2017

Wow, this was amazing. Learned a lot (mostly thanks to stack overflow) but the course also opened my eyes to all the possibilities available out there and I feel like i'm only scratching the surface!

Filter by:

4551 - 4575 of 5,029 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By ALONSO A R P D A

Jun 1, 2020

The videos are good but aren´t sufficient to teach ways to do the assigments, this way assigments bring in hard things to do

By Manya g

May 14, 2020

the instructor has not explained the codes properly at many places. it seemed like as though he was just reading the codes!

By Jin S S

Nov 25, 2018

if you are a beginner, this course consumes a large amount of time.

Though it is helpful, you need more efforts than thought

By Dimal D

May 15, 2020

Overall pace of the course was more compared to other courses and doing assignments with limited resources was a challenge

By Mohamed E A B

Oct 26, 2019

I have found some issues with the grader where it inputs correct results in the assignment, but the grading keeps failing.

By Markus B

Dec 2, 2017

The course materials is very good but very fast. The assignments (especially the last one) could be a bit better explained

By Atakan B

Jun 4, 2020

instructor could teach better and wider every learning ability must be made by your self and this is making course harder

By Sheikh M A

Apr 19, 2020

I think the method of the instructor was quite bookish and not explanatory. it felt like he was reading it out of a book.

By Alvaro R P H

Jul 7, 2018

Really hard to follow, it took me almost 2 months to complete the course and i had experience with python and sql server.

By ATYAM D

May 10, 2020

Assignments are very nice which helps in gaining good knowledge but explanation videos are not reached my expectations..

By Rishik G

May 4, 2020

assignments are tough, the instructor could show a lot more in pandas and go through a specific workflow which will help

By jeevan r

Apr 13, 2020

i have learn basics of this course its too comfort to learn and understand the lectures and i am happy with the course

By Kamran K

Sep 9, 2020

It was very beneficial for those who are familiar with python basics and want to learn advance python of data science

By R. P R

Jan 26, 2017

Last assignment was *painful*: Poorly described instructions, outcomes/outpu; the grader was opaque and largely mute.

By Dr. A J

May 4, 2020

Content was good, instructor was very knowledgeable, but his methodology of teaching was not good. He was very fast.

By Arju A

Apr 2, 2020

Things required in assignments could be mentioned.

If language could be made a little bit easier, then it would help!

By Papa K B O

Jul 7, 2020

Even though this is an intermediate course, the tutorials were really really quick it was hard to sometimes follow.

By Priyabrata R

Jan 13, 2020

It will be quiet difficult to learning panda with this little sort of introductions. and specially as a new comer

By Mayank J

Jul 17, 2020

Giving three stars only because of the excellent quality of the assignments. Though video lectures are mediocre.

By Divi A K

Dec 16, 2019

Need a clear documentation or basic methods used in numpy and pandas at single place to have a future reference

By Ty C M

Oct 22, 2019

Even after taking the beginning course before this, I felt like this course assumed you knew python beforehand.

By Adi.Vamsi S

Dec 12, 2018

It's good but I'm unhappy with the programming tutorials ie. Jupiter note book section no explanation is given

By Katia B

Nov 24, 2018

The auto-grader is a bit of a pain. But forums were very helpful and generally the assignments are interesting

By Yash M

Jun 13, 2017

The course is fine but not upto the mark. Assignments are much difficult as compared to teaching in the videos

By Hussain M

Jul 6, 2020

Could be more inclined toward basics! and assignments were very good regardless of the topics not covered!!!!