Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
24,724 ratings
5,544 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

SI
Mar 15, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filter by:

5226 - 5250 of 5,488 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By D R

Dec 9, 2016

The lectures and explanations need more clarity and better instruction quality. The assignment questions were often nebulous. This resulted in lots of time wasted with the grader. The discussion forums were the best part of this class. I'd encourage the course instructors to take a look at the University of Washington's Machine Learning class. Stylistically, pedagogically and content-wise - that's a much, much better Data Science class.

By woody

May 6, 2020

The pace is far too fast. I can't see anyone managing with this unless they are already somewhat familiar with the content. Assignments and quizzes are extremely difficult. When learning it is nice to have at least some easier questions that allow you to practice implementing what has just been covered. In this course it felt like all questions required you to link together all aspects of what had been covered so far in complex ways.

By Michael S

Apr 27, 2020

The auto-grader in this class SUCKS. It runs an outdated version of Pandas from 2016. Some of the lecture content also includes deprecated functions. The course content and auto-grader both need to be updated to comply with Pandas v1.0.x. It is EXTREMELY frustrating to spend hours getting code to run properly on my machine, only to upload it to the course site and have the auto-grader tell me it's incorrect or unexecutable.

By Khalid U

Jul 20, 2018

It does not matter if you have intermediate python level of experience. You should not go through the material so fast and not explain properly what the specific code does. I understand that we should seek outside resources if we don't understand something but thats not an excuse for providing fast answers to what a code does and not provide explanations to specific code. All I saw in this introduction was fast typing lol.

By Neelkanth S M

May 26, 2020

The course content, which includes tutorials and assignments, is exception for beginners to hone their skills in python data science stack (numpy, pandas and matplotlib).

However, the automated grading process, I find, is ambiguous. Here's why:

First, we are not provided with a snapshot of expected output.

Second, the feedback doesn't support debugging; as a result, test taker will make clueless trial & error attempts

By Kertész J

Sep 10, 2017

I have previous programming experience, sill I find the course is very challenging for the following reasons:

- course videos are very short (40mins per week), partly related to the required assignments, not covering all topics

- you need to spend most of your time (for me 10-15 hours per week) googling and reading Stackoverflow, and you might pick up a solution which is not appropiate for your current issue

By Ted H

Jan 8, 2017

The assignments were tough and they really tested your knowledge of python. That being said, the lectures were absolutely useless. I spent 90% of my time trying to figure out python through stack overflow. The jupyter platform is also very frustrating. For whatever reason, error messages kept coming up as I was trying to complete the assignments. At one point, I lost all my work because of this error.

By Muhammad H

Jun 3, 2018

Lectures aren't helpful. Assignments are challenging which is great but there is a difference between challenging students to make them learn more or to challenge them to such extent without providing enough resources that they go weary of the material. It is important to understand that students take courses generally to learn new material, not to revise what they have already learned or forgotten.

By Stephen F

Jul 24, 2017

The content is really good, but their explanation of the topics is insanely terse; by both the professor and his graduate student. I had such high hopes for this class. I am personally able to follow the content because I have experience using pandas and only using this class as a easy way to fill gaps in my knowledge, but to the uninitiated their coverage would confuse a otherwise simple tool.

By K G P

Apr 12, 2020

The course is quite tough and is not really beginner friendly to someone who is seeking to start learning about python or data science. It's just that it is on another level. Hard to grasp onto the concepts. The assignments also are very difficult for a beginner. All in all I don't mean to be negative but this really isn't an introduction to data science course, it is on a very advanced level.

By Robert P

Jul 5, 2021

V​ideos are so long with no worked examples. Just the professor's voiceover and the typing out of his entire lecture. I thoroughly enjoyed Python for Everybody, but this course was so boring and tedious, with assigments that seemed too advanced for what was presented in the videos. I have a Master's in a Statistical Filed (finance) and I struggled to stay focused. I'm bailing on this one.

By Olatunde T

Aug 28, 2020

This course was highly challenging and took quite a lot of time and efforts to complete! The concepts were hurriedly and not properly taught and I think this need be addressed. The assignments were also too complex for an introductory course and require a lot of personal reading and searching to complete. Would recommend at least a basics in Python programming to register for this course!

By Anil P

Nov 7, 2019

I really strugled with the course; especially assignment.

There is a lot of talking and little time is spend on how the code is working. I feel anyone who is already a programmer in another language might be finding it easy follow the chapters.

I was very difficult to complete the assignments - Most of the time it felt totally outside of what has been discussed till then. (Out of syllabus)

By 李玉鹏

Apr 29, 2018

This course is too easy for me. But if you are a beginner you will find it difficult.

I download all the materials and try my best to complete all the assignment without watching the final part and submit them at almost the same time cause I find it joyful.

To be honest, read the book entitled Python For Data Analysis 2nd may be a better choice instead of watching these tuition videos.

By cheting c

Mar 2, 2018

Very unresponsible professor. No passion at all!!!!! Did not explain the fundamental concept well. As a result, I do not think I have a deep understangin at all. I spend most my time google in order to finish my assignments.

I give him the second star only because I the way he designed those challenging assignments. He should include some skill needed to finish the assignments.

By Apurva k p

May 7, 2020

According to me this course will be not good for beginners , i m not telling for who is absolute beginners in programming world but it is also difficult for who just completed the python from scratch and enter into in this course.The instructor was too fast (i know that we can reduced the video speed, so don't suggest that).here i m not able to point out whole thing.

By Rolando C

Aug 28, 2020

The depth and amount of knowledge delivered in class versus the level of complexity of the assignments, leaves the student with a very high degree of research, which is always good, however, it must have a balance.

I do not agree with leaving most of the learning on the research side, you should keep in mind that students may have little knowledge about the subject.

By Marcin W

Oct 29, 2016

Very good lectures and examples. Horrible autograder - very stiff and all results must be in a very strict order and format. Extremenly vague questions prone to misinterpretation.

Most of the time is not spent on analysing data or coding but trying to understand the autograder and questions. The stress should be somewhere else. As a whole poorly prepared course.

By Alexander P

Apr 16, 2020

1. Jupiter notebook constantly loses touch and you have to reload the page, and you have not saved the last changes ...

2. Outdated versions of Panda are used and who knows what else, so if you are not completing the task in their notebook, this can be a problem, as for me.

3. The background with people at video lectures distracts from the lecturer's words

By Fabio K

Apr 5, 2018

I learned a lot taking this course but it requires a lot of work from the student. The video lectures have little contents and are somewhat superficial and the assignments are somewhat confusing. One must read a lot about the assignments in the forum otherwise it's impossible to complete them. It took me tens of hours of hard work before I learned that.

By Anna N

Aug 16, 2020

I think the assignments really help you learn a lot! But there isn't much help or aide at all from the classes. You basically have to learn everything on your own with no help, and the forum is rarely ever useful. So I would not recommend taking this class unless you are already used to using Pandas and are very advanced or intermediate with python.

By Andrea K

Mar 22, 2021

Most of the topics are not really explained but just read out. Actual learning has to be done by reading and searching the web. The assignments are unclear and the whole course takes much longer than the given time. The best thing about this course is the teaching staff that gives fast and individual help when you run into problems (which is often)

By Oscar F R P

Jul 26, 2020

The autograder works with a pandas version thats very old so you must learn how to code in pandas 0.8 while most PCs now hace Pandas 1.5. It also is too picky and shows little information about the errors, you'll need to dig up infromation from 3-4 years worth of forum entries.

THE COURSE IS INTERESTING BUT ITS BLOODY ANNOYING AND FRUSTRATING!

By Fouad S

Dec 10, 2017

For an Introduction class, this is way too advanced. the course material are minimal. while this might be for a targeted audience, its fine to keep the videos at this length, but at least add some further readings/videos from other sources. Providing a bit more structured learning is way better than leaving students lost at assignments.

By Myles A S

Aug 9, 2020

I found this course heavy going. There were no notes and I could not afford the recommended textbooks. I found myself having to search for information in the videos in order to complete quizzes and assignments. I passed the course, but have opted to do the IBM Professional Certificate instead of continuing with the specialisation.