Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
23,899 ratings
5,363 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

SI
Mar 15, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filter by:

5226 - 5250 of 5,284 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Jhair A

Apr 20, 2021

This the worst course that I have ever seen. The instructors do not teach anything. I have experience with Python programming and I dropped the course at the first week. Its a waste of time.

By BO F

Feb 1, 2021

Very awful experience!

Compared with python 3 programming specialization, this first course's assignment is too difficult for student to handle, and less practices to handle these knowledges.

By Dulain T G

May 30, 2020

The instructor is the embodiment of monotony - adding to that, his lecutres are lacklustre, uninformative, and the student has to live and breathe on stack overflow for every assignment.

By Vasil D

Dec 7, 2016

Lessons were ok but the assignments were really frustrating, not because of the questions itself but because the questions were organised badly or were really vague and confusing.

By Suvansh B

May 31, 2019

Not much practice work, one will easily forget the concepts. The mentor speaks and types too fast, most of the time you will lag behind. Its like someone is reading a book.

By Shahriar R D

May 6, 2020

The course contents are great but the instructors are not. I struggled a lot and had to watch a lot of tutorials from other places and finally I learned the contents.

By Henrique R

Sep 7, 2020

Explanations are superficial, and it relies too heavily on self-learning. For that I can simply check Python's documentation without paying the course's monthly fee.

By Miryam V

Jul 22, 2020

There is no helpful guide to the tasks, you don't know the results in advance so you don't know if you are doing well or not.

Tedious and you don't learn anything.

By Will W

Apr 24, 2021

This course has many errors and bugs in its materials. I don't know why the administrators refuse to fix it but it comes off as shoddy and poorly managed.

By Victoria S

May 3, 2020

the lectures are not helpful at all, assignments were organised poorly - there impossible to see mistakes, in other words- go break your head over it

By ILLIA S

Mar 25, 2021

Corrupted or outdated data in week 3 and week 4. Hidden tests that fail and you can't get the reason...

Besides of that - the material given is good

By Dheeraj a

Jul 4, 2020

The instructor teaches you very liitle and expects you to do thing of your own.It was the worst course i have done until now.The instructor is mad.

By Zain R

Aug 5, 2019

The pacing for the course is horrendous, this class quickly becomes impossible to do without looking up answers as the lectures do not help at all

By Azima A

Aug 31, 2020

The Course is too general, not going into details of how codes should be written. In order to pass the assignments you need to separately study.

By Chris M

Mar 31, 2017

Unclear assignments, lectures are brief and sometimes unclear. Spent more time trying to understand what was being asked than actually learning.

By Egbeola A

Apr 9, 2020

The lectures videos were poorly structured, the only good things were the assignment which on its own can teach better than the lecturers

By Daniel V

May 3, 2020

The course material is good, but the auto-grader does not work properly. Most time on week 3 assignment is debuggin this auto-correcter.

By Brian V S

Nov 19, 2016

Very knowledgeable professors, but very little explanation or actual 'teaching'. Graded assignments require a lot of self-education.

By rachel l

Jun 22, 2020

Not much information for beginners without a coding background. Assignments are impossible given the video tutorials we have.

By Adithya S

Jun 13, 2020

it is very hard for beginners to understand!! More example type teaching is required than simply dictating the theories.

By Ravi T

Mar 31, 2019

The instuctor is too slow and the way of teaching could be made more interactive and interesting , like CS50 of Harvard

By Diwakar S

Aug 10, 2020

teacher is good but talks way too fast. hard to follow especially data science concepts at that speed

By Vishnu S K

Jun 26, 2020

The Class is too fast and not explained in an understandable manner. Programming is also very fast.

By Lovish b

Aug 18, 2020

I HAVE NO IDEA WHY IT ALWAYS KEEPS REJECTING MY WEEK 2 ASSIGNMENT. WELL I AM NOT TRYING AGAIN NOW

By Shailvi S

Jun 19, 2020

Not an introductory course. They don't even teach like you're a beginner. Very very unsatisfied.