Chevron Left
Back to Introduction to Data Science in Python

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Introduction to Data Science in Python by University of Michigan

4.5
stars
24,333 ratings
5,451 reviews

About the Course

This course will introduce the learner to the basics of the python programming environment, including fundamental python programming techniques such as lambdas, reading and manipulating csv files, and the numpy library. The course will introduce data manipulation and cleaning techniques using the popular python pandas data science library and introduce the abstraction of the Series and DataFrame as the central data structures for data analysis, along with tutorials on how to use functions such as groupby, merge, and pivot tables effectively. By the end of this course, students will be able to take tabular data, clean it, manipulate it, and run basic inferential statistical analyses. This course should be taken before any of the other Applied Data Science with Python courses: Applied Plotting, Charting & Data Representation in Python, Applied Machine Learning in Python, Applied Text Mining in Python, Applied Social Network Analysis in Python....

Top reviews

PK
May 9, 2020

The course had helped in understanding the concepts of NumPy and pandas. The assignments were so helpful to apply these concepts which provide an in-depth understanding of the Numpy as well as pandans

SI
Mar 15, 2018

overall the good introductory course of python for data science but i feel it should have covered the basics in more details .specially for the ones who do not have any prior programming background .

Filter by:

5276 - 5300 of 5,389 Reviews for Introduction to Data Science in Python

By Alisa A

Jul 22, 2019

Read the reviews carefully before signing up for this course.

I would not recommend this course to anyone. It is branded as an Intro course, but it is anything but an intro course.

The instructor whips right through the material without much explanation as to the how and why of what he is doing. Then when it came to the assignments, the assignments were way harder to the material covered, and I spent hours pulling my hair doing research on StackOverflow and GitHub just to figure out how to get the data sets to work correctly so the auto-grader could pass my problem. I ended up dropping at the fourth week because I knew I couldn't finish the project without referencing other people's work on GitHub and there was very little instruction on how to set up and do the final project effectively.

There have been very few courses in my life that I felt utterly defeated by, and this is unfortunately has been one of them. I am going to pursue other data science courses on Coursera and other resources that are better suited to the beginner.

By Andy F

May 28, 2018

Dire, absolutely dire. If you like the following; A. Spending longer endlessly searching the forums for answers than anything else and still not necessarily finding them B. Wasting time getting the right answers only for an autograder to decide an answer that hasn't been touched for an hour and was right, is suddenly wrong (not a great advert for a language you want to use to automate this, is it?) C. Reading countless posts voicing a lot of similar frustrations to this D. Lectures so brief you may as well not bother E. Interpreting "assumes some knowledge of other languages" as "you best be great with these other languages because these lectures won't really help you" F. Wasting yet more time on the forums where answers to one post go totally off track so you're left hunting for a needle in a haystack of replies for something that may or may not be of relevance.

If these things are truly your bag then this is the course for you. If not, then do yourself a favour, go elsewhere and find a different course.

By Todd R

Mar 5, 2021

I loved intro to python with the other teacher, but not this. Staff is helpful, but the homework is completely different from the course. Assignment four has us using extract with expert level to do the job. My correlation was off . I had .17 , but the answer was .15. Found I missing data or one city San francisco instead of having two. For instance, autograder tells me in question 1 of assignment3 that my columns are named incorrect. I see nothing wrong with them after comparing to the assignment . what does formatting have to do with passing anyhow. I could just cut and paste, rename and submit, but I have to wait a day for the results and my submission is already late. I Getting question 1 of assignment3 is required to get the other questions, so I got sort of sick of it. I learned something certainly, but sick of the frustration. I looked forward to my python and Jquery classes. I don't look forward to data science with python.

By Rohit S

May 26, 2020

As a beginner,This Course theory is very good and can be understood with a little of Python Basic Programming skills cuz of the 1st week notebook and theory provided.and coming to the other weeks,the theory was good but short and faster explanations ends you up in a dilemma.I personally feel that this course is highly recommended for the purpose of 'THEORY ONLY' != 'Assignments'. If you want to work on assignments you'll end up loosing your mind,and for the assignments I recommend people to just checkout Stack Overflow or the discussion forums or Github to answer them.Definitely You won't be able to grasp everything in here,so I prefer and refer you people to checkout courses on 'PANDAS' to work explicitly.

By Christopher I

Dec 5, 2016

I was quite disappointed by the almost total inaccessibility of the staff in the discussion forums, the unconquerability of the autograder for most of the assignments (losing points for no discernible reason, with all resources exhausted), the lack of a stats module for the specialization, and the lack of education, really. There is value in asking students to learn on their own, but this course goes much too far with that, giving problem sets that are virtually unsolvable without prior experience in data wrangling in R or some other data language. This leaves serious, hardworking students with little choice but to troll the forums for solutions. Hardly the best way to learn the intricacies of this subject.

By Kennedy P

May 9, 2020

I have loved using Coursera to learn Python and have really enjoyed the Python University of Michigan courses I've taken so far. Unfortunately, this is not one of those courses. There is no accompanying textbook or reading, only videos and then practice code. The instructors in the videos don't provide any explanation of the syntax, and simply tell you what the code says which you can already clearly see. Basically they read the course syllabus and the lines of code to you and provide no explanation, i.e. "today we're talking about lambdas, here is code where we're using that." You may as well google articles about each topic in this course and you will probably gain more understanding of these concepts.

By Fabrizio B

Aug 25, 2020

I have a decent knowledge of python, this course tries, initially to introduce Pandas. In my opinion, the way they try to do is bad. The material is not available, so, no way to reproduce on the student side the examples. During the course, there are also some small checkpoints to see if the example were clear enough. Honestly, without data sets, without proposing (many) exercises, it seems all useless. They expect that the students get everything immediately (they claim that you don't need to know the lambda function, but expect you to get in in 2 minutes of a lesson). I discontinued this. I will check for other materials, books, and more to deepen my data science knowledge in python.

By Chris R

Apr 9, 2021

This course was extremely bad. Reading a video where someone simply types at you and monotonously reads exactly what they type is excruciating. The text moves too fast to absorb anything remotely complex, the presenter has no personality whatsoever, and the course mostly amounts to a guided tour through StackOverflow. The autograder fails to compile code that works but isn't efficient, and many quiz questions are worded too ambiguously. Then when you get questions wrong due to bad wording, you can't immediately retake the quiz! I've taken several Python MOOCs, and this was not only the worst by a mile... it was the only bad one. I refuse to waste any more of my time on this.

By Farid H

Jul 30, 2021

Huge disappointment - the content is quite complex, however it is explained only with few videos at very high speed. The videos are not quite interactive. It could be more video hours on explanations and more in-video questions, just to check, whether the person got the concept step-by-step or not. But instead, this course is just few hours of video and the biggest part is based on the person to read the referenced books. Assignments are completely different topic. Very poor explanations of questions (discussion forums are actually full of questions that show, that question was poorly written).

After Chuck's Programming for Everybody, this course is just killing the mood.

By Guilherme P d S

Mar 27, 2021

Existe uma falta de teoria, o conteúdo é quase integralmente apresentado por meio de exemplos em tempo real com o professor que da a falsa impressão de ser fácil.

As tarefas da semana 3 e 4 são bem difíceis, dependem muito de você correr atrás do conteúdo e documentação dos comando porque o professor não apresenta alguns (e são esses alguns que vão travar seu progresso por horas e horas). Além de difíceis consomem bastante tempo, o curso diz que o tempo aproximado de conclusão dessas tarefas são de 3 horas, eu demorei pelo menos 12 horas em cada. Para piorar o auto corretor utiliza testes secretos então você provavelmente não saberá qual a origem dos seus erros.

By Marc C

Aug 4, 2019

This course is a really bad introduction to Data Science. You do not learn how to code for Data Science, they just give you a list of functions without really teaching you how to use them. Then in the tests you get tested on a lot of things that were not explained and you end up searching how to do most stuff on Stack Overflow.

I came here to learn stuff in an organised way, not to learn function after function. The things tested in the exams should be about what you teach, and not whatever you want. This course asumes you have a background in Python and also a background in using it for Data Science, which basically means it is not an introductory course.

By Andres D A C

May 25, 2020

I wouldn't recommend this course to people who only read the material and answer the exercises, I wouldn't recommend this course at all!!, Run and don't look back, if you want to learn pandas libray (that is the focus of this course) better go to other courses because the material lacks the deepness necessary to pass the course. If you like to learn purely by yourself and read past threads from forums to resolve your doubts then this course can expand your knowledge of the pandas library and managment of data in the python language but at cost of your time, pain and sweat of trying to understand in the first place why you took this course.

By Michael M

May 25, 2020

Very disappointed and honestly shocked that this course has the rating it does.

I enrolled in this course expecting to be taught. Instead, I have to pause lectures every few seconds to find a free YouTube tutorial or Stack Overflow article that actually explains the content that the instructor mentioned (because he never goes to a level of detail necessary for what can be reasonably considered "teaching").

All this leaves me wondering: Why am I paying for this?

I cancelled my subscription to the Specialization after taking a look at Assignment 3 and have no intention to finish the course.

By Devansh K

Jul 14, 2020

This was my second course with Prof. Brooks as the instructor. I gotta say, both were awful. He expects us to find info on what we are trying to learn, on our own. The assignments are completely different from what we are taught in the videos, which is well, minimal.

Pathetic. We have to find new functions on our own to complete the assignments. If I wanted to research all about Pandas library on my own, I wouldn't have taken up this course in the first place! Even in the lecture videos, the professor doesn't even bother to explain the functions properly.

By Jason G

Aug 30, 2017

I really wanted to like this class and was looking forward to learning data science in Python but this isn't the way to do it. The instructor glosses over material without explaining it and the assignments require a large amount of research and outside learning to complete. If I have to learn how to do the assignments from Google and Stack Overflow, why am paying for this course? I've taken other classes on Coursera and am pretty good with Python and self-learning but this is pretty terrible. Overall I expected better out of University of Michigan.

By Don S

Jun 20, 2018

I found there were a lot of problems with the systems supporting the learning and assessments, namely the implementation of the Jupyter Notebook, which kept on misbehaving (it wouldn't save your work, and then it would stop giving outputs for your code). I ended up wasting a lot of time trying but failing to resolve these technical hitches, and time is the most precious resource for any student / programmer, and so I unenrolled from the course. I am now going to find an alternative sequence of courses to learn about data science along with Python.

By JOY S

Nov 5, 2016

This course is good but instructor is very bad..... Not providing good course lectures and materials... The lecture is very fast and not covering all the things being asked in the assignment... I am leaving this course due to this.. I have successfully done other python courses, because there, the instructor was very good and his teaching style was awesome...

I have wasted lot of my times enrolling in this particular course... Though the course conception is good, instructor and course materials are not up to the mark....

By Christiano d S

Jul 7, 2020

the instruction is very poor: when one decides to learn online, it´s expected that it will have the content related to the subject, and this course does not. The content is just showed, very fast, no details, and there are several tasks to accomplish, the level of them is much higher than what you have gotten in the videos and lectures, so, one will have to do a lot of extra research and learning outside this platform. if the person wants the certificate, ok, but the knowledge will come actually from other sources.

By David A E G

Sep 11, 2020

Too much research left for the participant. As one of them, I found no difference between going to Stack Overflow or the official documentation websites to figure out myself how some packages worked, as this was basically the same instruction provided by the instructors. I have decided not to continue further training given by University of Michigan, as there were other specialization that made a far better work increasing the course difficulty. Highly recommended to tag this course as of "Advanced" (difficulty).

By Sean M

Aug 22, 2020

While i can appreciate the value in getting resourceful at finding information online, this course was essentially 99% google and stack overflow with 1% referencing materials learned in the course. I spent many hours googling exhaustively for answers and reading through the forum where there were numerous bugs noted by the staff contributors. The information required for the assignments could and should have been presented better to achieve the same effect without the hours of independent research.

By Jorge V

Aug 3, 2020

mal explicado, el profesor no explica los temas, solo los enuncia y tienes que buscar todo el material fuera de la plataforma, lo cual ocasiona que sea un curso muy complicado y que te tome muchísimo mas tiempo del que debería. Yo no siento que sea un curso, lo veo mas como una oportunidad para certificar si ya conoces todos los temas. Como consejo para los que quieren hacerlo, solamente lean las libretas y busquen los temas por internet, el profesor no les servirá de nada. dejo 1 estrella ( MUY MALO)

By Abhiram B

Jul 8, 2020

One of the worst course ever designed. The course name states its an INTRODUCTION to one of the most important field but the assignments were so tough(fine...) and "teaching still worse". No proper materials, background, techniques provided, I felt Dr. Chuck would have done this far better. We are expected to know the A-Z of Bible/Geeta for an INTRO course and At last we are made to read documentation and Stack overflow and tell me what's the purpose of this course then???

By Kaia T

Aug 2, 2019

I've taken a few courses on Coursera and Ive found this one to the be the most frustrating. The assignments absolutely do not match up to the material taught during the week, the questions asked during the lectures presumes we have a lot of base knowledge or wants us to look up the answers but does not give us nearly enough of the language to do so. I absolutely feel defeated after trying to do the assignments and find the forums and "community" to be less than helpful.

By Irina T

Jul 29, 2021

I find it outrageous that in Week 4 instead of practicing python and statistics I have to spend a lot of time learning very US and sport-specific information which is absolutely useless and I am never going to need it. The same is valid I believe for the rest of the world. The coursera platform was not intended exclusively for US and Canada students? Or for people who do not have full-time jobs and a family in addition to the need to learn python?

By Justin Q

Jan 23, 2017

While this was one of the better courses I've done on Coursera, the start date of the course was changed without any indication of when it would begin. We've also been waiting months for the next course in the specialisation to begin, again without any communication. This was a good course, but I would recommend people wait until all the rest of the courses are available before starting this course and beginning the specialisation.