Chevron Left
Back to Python Data Visualization

Learner Reviews & Feedback for Python Data Visualization by Rice University

4.8
184 ratings
20 reviews

About the Course

This if the final course in the specialization which builds upon the knowledge learned in Python Programming Essentials, Python Data Representations, and Python Data Analysis. We will learn how to install external packages for use within Python, acquire data from sources on the Web, and then we will clean, process, analyze, and visualize that data. This course will combine the skills learned throughout the specialization to enable you to write interesting, practical, and useful programs. By the end of the course, you will be comfortable installing Python packages, analyzing existing data, and generating visualizations of that data. This course will complete your education as a scripter, enabling you to locate, install, and use Python packages written by others. You will be able to effectively utilize tools and packages that are widely available to amplify your effectiveness and write useful programs....

Top reviews

SS

Mar 11, 2019

I went though all of the Specialization program and I totally recommend it. Awesome courses, the 4 of them, challenging projects and great material and classes from both Scott and Joe.

FG

Dec 09, 2018

Great introduction to Python visualizations. The assignments are challenging but relevant and echo real world problems you might encounter.

Filter by:

1 - 19 of 19 Reviews for Python Data Visualization

By Kilambi B

Jun 06, 2019

The course has been well structured and the assignments are quite challenging which means you would definitely be spending your time on stackoverflow/google but this is how one can learn to code. It's difficult to trach each and every detail. However, couple suggestions i can make -1.) It took a very long time to understand the problem statements in the projects. It would be great if more information is provided on what is the exact input and expected output (instead of being verbose if an example function call is given it would be more helpful).

2.) The code i had written for the assignments even though they work i wasnt sure if they are optimized enough. If any inputs are provided on this it would be good to compare our code with the optimized one and can improve our skills further.

Overall a very informative course. I would recommend this to anyone who wishes to master the basics of python data structures and their manipulation.

By Fil G

Dec 09, 2018

Great introduction to Python visualizations. The assignments are challenging but relevant and echo real world problems you might encounter.

By Joanne H P C

Jan 30, 2019

Very good introduction into using Python for data visualization - it helps me to better understand how data can be presented to aid myself and management to make better decisions when data is presented clearly and accurately.

By 林晉宇

Jan 10, 2019

Very good course, instructor presented it well.

By Sebastian R S

Mar 11, 2019

I went though all of the Specialization program and I totally recommend it. Awesome courses, the 4 of them, challenging projects and great material and classes from both Scott and Joe.

By Shan G

Jul 20, 2018

The instructors are great, however, the library pygal is outdated, it does not support the newest versions of python.

By Ron H

Feb 22, 2018

Awesome course! From 0 to hero :D

By Ganapathi N K

Jun 01, 2018

Nice

By Chujie C

Jul 05, 2018

Finished on 05/20/2018

By Hao-Wen S

Jan 06, 2018

A challenging and rewarding specialization - thank you Joe and Scott!

By ADYA S

Mar 03, 2018

Very good course. Thorough and detailed explanation of all concepts. Course takes you smoothly from beginner level to the very end. Amazing how much can be learned in this course. The learning curve is gradual so make sure you follow instructions and complete all the practice assignments in order. Definitely worth the time.

By Frank S

Dec 13, 2017

Great Course. The assignments are deliberately designed. They are very interesting and practical.

By Kiran K

Jul 27, 2018

It has been a while since I programmed. however, throughly enjoyed the depth of the course

By balaji

Apr 09, 2019

good

By Mads J K H

Apr 24, 2018

At times a bit tough if you want to fully understand all parts of the "basics", but highly worth it

By Eduardo P

Jun 07, 2018

Courses projects were more difficult than expected. The course does not give enough examples about topics. Examples, if given, are way more easy than the assignments and do not prepare you well for the weekly projects.

By Kristoffer H

Mar 30, 2018

Focus more on Python dictionary skills rather than learning to use matplotlib, Bokeh or Seaborn libraries.

By Chris

Feb 18, 2018

Not a lot of help from mentors/instructors -- you are pretty much on your own when it comes to figuring out what the expectations of the projects are. The videos cover (very) basic material and you end up spending the majority of your time in the specialization on STACK_OVERFLOW. There are no examples of what's expected for output of projects and you are at the mercy of the computer grader to try to figure out why your code doesn't work -- a lot of time despite what appears to be the correct output at your terminal. And the discussion forums are trolled by the students -- and probably the mentors -- but it may take 7 - 10 days to get a response to a question -- of any response at all. And to be honest, the few responses I received were in the realm of "This is so easy, why don't you understand it?!" And there is no final -- or instructor generated code -- to compare to yours at the end of each project to get some feedback on how you're coming as a coder. Overall, a frustrating experience that honestly could be made better if some examples of input and final code were provided for the projects. This is NOT for the beginning coder w/o some Python experience.

By Abdurrachman

Apr 20, 2018

Not interesting